We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Jewel with fautless service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden Jewel with fautless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We only stayed for four nights but from the fist moment we arrived we were welcomed like old friends by Laurent and his staff. The Riad itself is a beautiful, calm moment located in the south of the Medina, close to the Royal Palace. Everyone at the Riad went ouf of there way to make sure we felt comfortable in the Riad and made us confidant about exploring the often confusing alyout of Marrakech! Laurent kindly showed us around town on our first day, and was always there to give advice regarding trips, local restaurants and anything requiring local knowledge. We would absolutely recommend the Riad to anyone looking for a calm place to relax with wonderful service in a fantastic setting and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Niok, Thank you so much for such a touching comment. We are so pleased you enjoyed yoru stay at Riad Al Badia. Thank you for your enthousiasm, your interest in our culture and our city, thank you for you. We keep a shining souvenir of your stay at the riad, you are home at the riad and we hope we will see you again soon. Take care the both of you and once again thank you so much. Samira, Amal, Hanane, Mehdi & Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
197
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in the Riad Al Badia for 5 lovely days. The Riad offered us the opportunity to live close to the Moroccan people but with a 5*- very personal service from Laurent and his friendly staff. The location is close to the many beautiful places Marrakech has to offer but still in a quiet area.

We really enjoyed our stay: the excellent information from Laurent on our first day about the city, the sunny breakfast on the terraces, the home-made yogurt and juices, the beautiful decoration of the Riad and the room, Samira's lovely dinner, the transfer between the airport and the Riad, …. It was perfect in any detail!

When we come back for another visit of Marrakech surely we will return to this Riad. In the meantime, we will recommend the Riad to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Sabine, dear Luc, Thank you so much for such a lovely message. We waited a long time to meet with you, and we have been extremely delighted to receive you at Riad Al Badia. Thank you for your kindness and happyness, for your interest in Marrakech and in our culture. We keep such a warm souvenir. You are home at Riad Al Badia, anytime you will always be welcome. All the best for you and your all family. Samira, Amal, Hanane, Mehdi & Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosheston, South Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

From the moment we arrived until the very last moment the service and kind hospitality of the Riad and its most fantastic team of staff was absolutely excellent. We have travelled to some very elite establishments and would rate this Riad as one of the best finds. Our room and facilities were first class. We chose to eat in the Riad one night which was beautiful and lovely meal on the terrace. Samira you are amazing as are all the staff we encountered whilst staying there. A big thank you to Laurent for making sure that our short stay was one that will stay as a cherished memory for a while until we visit next time - which we most certainly will.

Room Tip: We loved our twin room allocated on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Lesley, dear Shan. You left an empty space at departure. You entered in our hearts and will remain this is sure. The all team did not stop telling me how lovely persons you are during your short stay. This is an other so memorable story that will remain in our memories. It was easy for Samira to cook dinner for you, she put all her heart in cooking your dinner as much as you gave us all. We all would like to thank you so much for your kindness, your happyness, your interest in our culture. You are both a delight. We would be extremely proud, honored and happy to see you again soon. Riad Al Badia is your home, friends and relatives are welcomed ! We all kiss you Lesley and Shan and take care. Mint tea is ready whenever you need to vary a bit from Earl Grey ! Lots of love from the all team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

is our summary of our stay at this Riad!

My partner and I were in Marrakech for 3 nights from 13 Oct and from the pre-booking of the airport taxi to the taxi journey back to the airport, we were very impressed by the standard and high quality of service given by the Riad.

The manager, Laurent, welcomed us on arrival and alongside one of his staff, made us feel very welcome by explaining the history of Marrakech, the things we could do during our stay and showed us how to get to and from the Riad to the main square. It was my birthday on the first night of our stay and I had a beautiful surprise awaiting me on return from our evening out...

Breakfast and dinner is prepared in-house and we were able to have these on the terrace at a time that suited us. Nothing was too much trouble and if we had any questions, Laurent or his wonderful staff were always on hand to help. Laurent loves his job and this is displayed in his effortless charm (and wit)!

If you want a relaxing break with great service, I highly recommend this Riad as you feel as if you are the only ones there, such is the personal attention given. We will definitely return...

Room Tip: If you can, book a room on the 2nd floor as this has direct access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Debbie, dear Michael. Thank you so much for your lovely review, we felt really honored to have you among us for such a special date ! Thank you aswell for the lovely moments we spent, your happyness and interest. The all staff keep a warm souvenir of your stay at the Riad. We will be ready for your next year birthday. We do have just fantastic guests staying at the riad, it is then easy to love your job ! You are part of all these delightfull guests we are luky to receive at the riad. Thank you so for you, for all the warm you gave us. Take care of both of you and see you very soon. The all team at Riad Al Badia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt so looked after and as if we were the only people staying there.
Laurent (the manager) as well as his lovely staff took such care to ensure we had a great trip, coming back to the Riad at the end of a busy day of sights and sounds was like having a perfect haven of peace to go back to.
In such contrast to the hustle and bustle of the streets and busy market, you couldn't wish for a nicer, cleaner and calmer resting place.
I can't reccomend this Riad (but mostly the lovely staff) strongly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Prudence and Lee, Thank you so much for such a lovely comment. This was again a real pleasure for us to receive you at Riad Al Badia. It will remain your oasis of calm and your home in Marrakech at any time in the future. Keep your smiles and your sense of humor, it is that charming. The all staff keep a lovely souvenir of your stay, another small but nice page in the stories of the Riad. Thank you to both of you then and we all hope to see you again soon. Take care of both of you. The all team of Riad Al Badia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

A friend and I stayed here from 3rd to 6th September 2011. I saw the Riad on lastminute.com and read very positive views on Trip Advisor.The owner was amazing, we have a lovely welcome and he spent lots of time with us answering questions and advising us on places to eat etc. He was so nice and helpful.The Riad has 6 rooms and we were in the superior double, very clean and great size. It is the perfect place to stay, near the Royal Palace and a short walk to the Souks. Breakfast was lovely, simple but served on the terrace and made whenever we woke up - no set start and end time which was lovely.We forgot to bring toothpaste and the Riad owner kindly arranged some for us and didnt event charge us. After a long hot day outside, my friend and I would come back to the Riad and soak our legs in the little 'pool' in teh Riad. If i came back to Marrakech I would definitely stay here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Manager at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Pooja,
Thank you so much for such a lovely message. We are all here pleased to hear that we came back home safely with Cairie. This was a great pleasure meeting with you and we do keep a lovely souvenir of you. Your enthousiasm was just fabulous. I We are pleased that you enjoyed here at Marrakech and at the Riad Al Badia, you are here home, wo hopefully we will have the chance to receive you once again at some stage ! Take care the both of you and thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

During our 7-night vacation to the wonderful city of Marrakech, our stay in Riad Al Badia was an absolute eyeopener in terms of what real hospitality and customer service is about.
From the moment we checked-in, we experienced a sense of warmth and care that could only have been delivered by people who were genuinely interested in the comfort and wellbeing of the guest.

On arrival, we were treated to the traditional Moroccan welcome of Mint tea on the gorgeous terrace on the roof of the Riad. While enjoying our tea, one of the staff, Abdelhak, joined us on the terrace with a map of the city, and in addition to explaining how to get to the different areas we wished to see, also informatively and patiently answered all our questions of the various areas of Marrakech. After this, he then offered to accompany us to Djemma-el-fna, the citys main square, to ensure we knew exactly where we were going. An incredible service, and very welcome in a city such as Marrakech!

On our return to the Riad that night, we had the absolute pleasure of being introduced to the owner of the Riad. Laurent, being the warm, charming personality that he is, could simply only be described as being the face of hospitality - A true Gentleman, who will do everything he possibly can to make your feel really and truly at home during your stay at Riad Al Badia.

Over the following seven days, we were waited on hand-and-foot. Breakfast is offered at whatever time you feel like it, either in the terrace or the dining area downstairs. We opted for the warm, sunny terrace each morning, and to have been served freshly baked bread, pancakes, crepes, and muffins, as well as freshly squeezed orange juice, black tea and mint tea, and most importantly of all, that divine homemade yogurt, was just simply unbeatable. From the crepes to the yogurt, the quality of food was absolutely outstanding. Well done to the lady of the Kitchen!

Not surprisingly our bedroom was impeccably clean and wonderfully air-conditioned, featuring an extremely comfortable bed which provided us with a restful nights sleep each night, electronic safe, complimentary drinking water, and full en-suite including a really nice shower - very useful after spending hours in the hot and sticky souks!

During our stay the staff went out of their way several times to organise things to see and do for us, including booking the fabulous Nikki Beach in the Palmerie area of the city, to organising a 50cc scooter for three days so we could attempt navigating the narrow streets of the medina on two wheels - An exhilarating experience! They also recommended and booked a Hamman in a very relaxing spa for us, not far from the Riad itself. Again, a very pleasant experience and well worth trying.

In conclusion, the Riad itself is a modern and comfortable haven in the midst of the hustle and bustle of old-town Marrakech. With its clean, comfortable bedrooms, refreshing pool and sun-soaked terrace, it provides the ultimate in relaxation and tranquility. The staff however are what makes this Riad what it is. Their continuous attention to the most minute detail, coupled with their warmth, enthusiasm and interest, results in an experience which could only be described as first class.

To Laurent - Our heartfelt gratitude to you and your great team of staff for a wonderful stay at your Riad, and for everything you did to make it one of our most enjoyable and interesting holidays ever.

Gosia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Gosia, Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for such a touching message, it goes straight to our hearts, no words would be able to describe the pleasure we had in receiving you at Riad Al Badia. It was a delight to see you discovering our culture and delicious to see you going outside the beaten tracks. We are extremely honoured to have been able to meet you. We will remind our discussions as precious ones, another wondeful and rich chapter on the great book of Riad Al Badia ! Just take care of both of you and hopefully we will see you again at some stage. Our best wishes. The all team of Riad Al Badia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.