We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations. 5 Star Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations. 5 Star Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Overall we had a lovely stay at the Riad. I went with my girlfriend and stayed 3 nights.

The service was perfect, the staff always nice and extremely helpful recommending the best places to visit, shop and eat.

We were received with Moroccan Mint Tea and typical Moroccan pastries which is always a plus after a trip. The breakfast was the best I ever had in a Hotel, and I've stayed in 5* star hotels before. Fresh pancakes, freshly baked bread, several delicious artisan jams, honey, butter, cheese, fresh squeezed orange juice and delicious Moroccan Mint Tea. I would honestly comeback just for it.

The rooms were clean and welcoming. With typical Moroccan decor, a comfy bed and lovely artisan shampoos, creams and oil with nice scents like citrus.

The hotel is well located so it will take you 10 to 20 mins max to anywhere inside the Medina. It also provides transportation from and to the airport.

About the city it was a different experience with lots ups and downs. Which is to be expected since it's a very different culture. I recommend eating at Jemaa el Fna square and drinking lots of sweet Orange juice or Tea which cost only 0,05€ a Glass. For dinner try a nice restaurant with an upper view of the square. Visits to the Majorelle Gardens, Park Arsat Moulay Abdel Salam, Ben Ali Yusuf Madrasa and El Bahia Palace are a must. On the other hand beware of fake guides around the city that try to take you to stores of their families and force you to buy stuff instead of guiding you were you want to go. Barter hard when buying from the souks. Do the same with taxis but always agree to a price before entering to avoid surprises. A suggestion for all deals you make, make them write the prices in paper before the deals so they can't tell you that you didn't understand them correctly and that the price is Higher.

The next time I travel to Morocco I will easily choose Riad Al Badia for my stay again.

Room Tip: All nice and comfy, I suggest you ask to see a couple since the decor is different from room to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Good evening,

We feel so touched that so long time later you remind Riad Al Badia so well and the experience we had all together receiving you here in last December. Thank you so much.

We did not forget you either, we keep a nice souvenir of your stay "on the roof" !

We hope you are both well and we hopefully will see you again soon. Whenever you will always be more than welcome.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a lovely stay here. The staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. We stayed for a week, the rooms were comfortable and the air-conditioning was very welcome. Our every wish was catered for, meals and drinks provided,- breakfast on the roof- terrace with freshly squeezed orange juice and home-made yoghurt.
We were given advice about which sites to visit, how to get there and how much to expect to pay, (very useful in Marrakesh). The riad is pretty centrally located, about 15 minutes walk from the Djemaa el Fna square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Jennie,

Thank you for such a lovely message, we are pleased to know that you are all well and back home.

Thank you for your stay, this was again an other nice meeting, The interest of Sophie for our culture and your kindness will remain in our memories and our heart.

We were delighted to receive you and hopefully we will see you again soon in Marrakech, you are always home at Riad Al Badia.

Any time, it will be an other great pleasure for us to receive you.

Thank you again,

We wish you all the best for you and your all little family and we send you a bit of our so good Moroccan Sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

As a female traveller I'd highly recommend this Riad. It is extremely well presented, the hosts are fantastic (make it your home....and we did), the room was lovely, plunge pool well needed after some hot days and breakfast on the terrace highly recommended. But the most important thing about this Riad is it's location...near the Palace Badii, a short walk to the main square, souks, tourism highlights, but most importantly it's just off a main thoroughfare so you don't get lost, have to walk through small side streets at night and you feel really safe. Would highly recommend a stay here to experience wonderful morrocon hospitality.

Room Tip: just ask - we got what we were looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in February and it was truly an amazing place to stay.

Hotel Staff: The staff at the Riad work incredibly hard and the level of customer service is equal to that of a five star hotel. When we arrived we were served tea and home made pastries and given a map with all the best places to see etc. We were even escorted to the night market. Nothing is too much trouble! They also organised a taxi back to the airport - cheaper and easier than trying to hail one yourself.

Rooms: The rooms are immaculate. They are cleaned every day and are spotless. The rooms have a traditional Moroccan feel with lovely design features. Fresh flowers and complimentary water are provided daily. Beds are huge and comfortable- guaranteed a good night sleep.

Food: We had dinner in the Riad and it was probably the best meal we had- traditional Moroccan cooking. If you are staying here than I highly recommend that you eat at least one meal here. Breakfasts too were delicious- a selection of bread, pastries, yoghurt and amazing fresh orange juice.

Location- central location, all the main sites just a few minutes walk away and peaceful in the evenings.

The Riad also has a lovely sun terrace on the roof- our room was just off this terrace and we were served breakfast here and chilled out here in the afternoon.

I think that's about it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Great staff, very pleasant rooms, very nice home cooked evening meals with local dishes.
The staff all made us very welcome, they managed to create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere but at the same time were efficient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Qc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Very pleasant Riad with good staff and nice rooms. Please inquire about clear directions from the hotel and DO NOT FOLLOW google map directions. Note that Berrima St is a one way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

The service was impeccable and the attention to detail in the service was great. We were treated to tea and local pastries on arrival and really taken care of. The rooms were clean, well-furnished and had the all-important air conditioning. The pool in the centre of hte riad is amazing and really a treat. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet and the personal touch a small guest house brings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.