We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic adventure with sumptuous relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peacock Pavilions

Save Saved
You added Peacock Pavilions to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peacock Pavilions
Kilometer 13, Route de Ourzazate, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Exotic adventure with sumptuous relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at Peakcock Pavillions as part of a week-long yoga retreat in September and it was probably one of the most relaxing and invigorating vacations yet. The place is made up of 3 beautifully constructed and decorated villas, all clustered around a cool inviting pool and surrounded by olive groves. The public rooms were feasts for the eyes, an arresting display of eclectic artwork, tapestries, painting, folk art, and more. Our large bedroom had a beautifully painted mural on the wall, a seating area with fireplace, and a rooftop deck with amazing views of the golden landscape all around. The food, which was vegetarian because the organizer of our yoga retreat had requested that, was delicious, with savory vegetable tagines, eggplant crostini, lentil stews, chickpea fritters with yoghurt sauce and delicious fresh baked breads and homemade jams and overflowing mint teas. Chris and Maryam, the talented and warm couple who own the place and live here with their adorable children, made us feel so at home but also gave us lots of space to be on our own. They put together a week of outings that provided just the right amount of exploration we were craving: A tour of the ornate palaces and madrasses of central Marrakesh, a tour of the souks where great bargains on all kinds of interesting antique textiles and artifacts could be bargained for, a side trip to the seaside town of Essouaira, where we went for a memorable camel ride on the beach… All balanced out by plenty of time lounging by the lovely pool, watching Casablanca in a outdoor theater, cocktails while we had our hands decorated with henna, and wonderful dinners in the beautifully decorated outdoor dining tent. Note: It is a 15 to 20 minute drive outside of the Medina, so if you are looking for a place right in the middle of things, this is not it. But I found that the rhythm of going into the ultra-stimulating center of town for part of the day, followed by the relaxing retreat back to Peacock Pavillions provided the perfect balance. We came home inspired and refreshed. Can I just say I want to go back right now? You cannot go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
18
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Maryam and Chris pull out all the stops to create an experience that is personal, fun and rejuvenating. The food is absolute perfection and the decor and surroundings a feast for the eyes and the imagination. We stayed there for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. This was our first time to Morocco and our experience left of us desperately wanting to return.

Room Tip: Each of the guest house pavilions is unique and some come with a kitchen. For the weary traveler thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I had the great fortune of a weeks visit to Peacock Pavilion for a recent Eat.Pray Move. yoga retreat. Nestled perfectly between the olive trees in beautiful and magical Morocco the owners, Chris and Maryam, have created a stunningly ambient home that will leave you inspired. Every intricate detail of their guesthouse has a fascinating story that the hosts are happy to share if you ask. There is honestly not one thing I would change about my experience... the incredible rooms, delectable cuisine and generous service were beyond expectation. Chris even set up their outdoor theatre for us to watch Casablanca under the Moroccan stars! I was completely spoiled and can't wait to book my next stay!!!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and exquisite in it's own way. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

Everything about our stay at Peacock Pavilions was wondeful! Lounging by the pool, each room's eclectic decor, delicious meals, and the mint tea!!! I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Maryam and Chris of Peacock Pavilions are by far the best host's we have ever had. Chantal, the most splendid chef prepared meals that exceeded our vegetarian expectations. The entire staff made us feel welcome and delivered exceptional service. From every angle of this enchanted fortress the visual feast was captivating, from Chris and Maryam's global collections through out all spaces in the riad, to the inviting over-sized pool that is enveloped by Chris's architectural masterpieces. One will feel as though they were a prince, queen, or a king atop the rooftop verandas overlooking the desert and the beautiful olive groves. We were certainly in a dream state during our stay at Peacock Pavilions. Maryam's and Chris's creation is a desert enchantment in the middle of Morocco. We are certainly looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I was very excited to meet Maryam and her family and to see Peacock Pavilions. It really is an oasis of tranquility. We were totally spoilt with welcome drinks, cocktails, an amazing dinner in the Dining Tent and possibly the best breakfast ever! We stayed in the Atlas Pavilion which was really comfortable with wonderful views of the grounds and surrounding area from the rooftop terrace. It was a delight to walk all around the perimeter of the property with just the sound of birds for company. It is definitely a haven for relaxing, meditation, art and writing. The staff looked after us extremely well and we were sad to leave. We hope to return soon and would thoroughly recommend for leisure and for luxury events such as weddings, anniversaries, parties etc.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Peacock Pavilions is a haven of tranquility and a perfect launching pad for those in need of inspiration. Located outside of the medina, on an olive grove, Peacock Pavilions provides comfort and eye candy. I feel lucky to have had the opportunity to journey to Marrakech for my thirtieth birthday. I cannot think of a better or more inspirational way to have entered this new decade of my life. Honestly, I could go on and on over the beautiful architecture, glamorous interior decorating and fluffy bedding but you will have to go and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peacock Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Pavilions

Address: Kilometer 13, Route de Ourzazate, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock Pavilions is a boutique hotel in Marrakech located on 8.5 acres of land, including 5 acres of olive grove. Stylish and eco-friendly, Peacock Pavilions sleeps 10 people double occupancy in two Pavilions with a total of five bedrooms. Outdoor movie theater and pool on property as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peacock Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Pavilions Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peacock Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.