We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs and rude staff!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Laarouss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Laarouss to your Saves list
Ryad Laarouss
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #770 of 1,081 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bed bugs and rude staff!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The good:
Cheap
Breakfast included
20 minute walk to Jamaa El Fna
Lovely rooftop terrace

The bad:
The staff were rude and unhelpful. You are made to pay on arrival in cash which means if a problem occurs they are less than interested - they already have your money.

When I handed our money over he counted it three times and stated that we'd underpaid and we needed to give him some more money. When I asked him to hand it back, he then re counted it and miraculously it was the correct amount.

I was covered head to toe in bites from bed bugs as were my two friends I was with. They still haven't gone now I am home.

The wifi did not work for out entire stay.

The pool was freezing and as a result un useable (it looks much nicer in the photos).

If I went again I would pay more and stay somewhere much nicer. I would never ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room, other travellers mentioned it was noisier downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    57
    32
    18
    26
See reviews for
33
66
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As always, unfriendliness can kill the whole hotel atmosphere. The team at the reception was so unfriendly and unhelpful that the excellent views and pool at the rooftop, good rooms and nice looking to the Riad was ruined. Not staying here again. Very generally in Morocco, people tend to be 'helpful' until they have your money, and then don't care about anything else until you leave the place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff at Riad Laarouss were nothing but kind and accommodating - giving us rally god advice and directions for the local area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Felt very secure even though we were three girls travelling alone. Excellent location although a little tricky to find just like everything in Marrakech so print a map! Nice foyer pool and roof plunge pool although beware as this is advertised as a "Jacuzzi" and definitely isn't one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

In May 2014 we stayed in Ryad Laarouss for 2 nights. We liked the place. Everything was very well organised. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It was a very nice introduction to Morocco, you can experience the way of life, try local food and feel safe and happy. This is not a posh hotel but a very nice and cozy place located very centrally.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very well located within easy walking distance of the Souks and main Jemaa el Fna square. In the heart of a very busy lively area but one feels absolutely safe. The meet and greet service at the airport is efficient and reasonably priced. The staff are wonderfully friendly. Little niggles are quickly attended to. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is in a typical Moroccan Ryad style. Every room is different. Windows open into an interior space which some people (my wife included) might find a little claustrophobic. WiFi is freely accessible throughout the rooms and public areas. Rooms in the annex across the road don't have room safes. Breakfast is basic but ample and free. The indoor swimming pool is more ornamental than usable, in the heart of the breakfast area. The decor throughout the hotel is in a very pleasant authentic Moroccan style.

Room Tip: It is better to stay in the main hotel rather than the annex across the road. Avoid the 4 rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had no trouble taking a cab to the ryad...yes it did drop us off a few meters away from the ryad, but it wasn't a big deal, it was a few steps....the credit card machine wasn't working, and contrary to other reviews the staff let me pay a portion in cash and we agreed to try the credit card machine again the next day. The Sahara And Oasis rooms are the only ones that have private balconies that face the streets....they are both on the top level...the sahara is bigger than the oasis room..way bigger. The toilet is in a separate room from the walk in bathtub room....that was unexpected, but really awesome. Perhaps the decor is not "flashy" but i feel like its more of an authentic typical ryad...also..i don't understand why so many ppl have complained/negatively reviewed the call to prayer.....do you not visit other places to experience how life is lived outside of your own? i dunno imo i enjoyed hearing it...thats why i came....to appreciate another way of life...it was about a 10 minute walk 15 min maybe to Jemaa el fna..the first night we tried to find it on our own....we obvio never found it but it was fun to get lost and wander and explore....once someone explained it and showed it to us on a map we found it easily.....it was about a 5-7 min drive from the train station to the ryad....its near a sort of parking area/cab stand...rather well trafficked area so it was never hard to find a cab...there was a small outdoor restaurant about a 1 min walk away...and several little "Convenience" shops selling pop, smokes, peanuts, chips etc....the staff were quite nice when we needed extra toilet paper, towels etc...the cleaning staff was polite too..

Room Tip: Sahara and oasis have private balconies facing the street / only accessible by stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedburn St. Mary, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This Riad is situated in a middle of a busy medina so if it's your 1st time in Marrakesh be prepared for the utter madness that's happening all around. I'd recommend getting a taxi organised by the riad, it'll make everything easier and a lot less stressful.

As it's a riad a lot of the standard rooms do not have windows - but that's the idea. That makes the rooms and the courtyard inside cool and pleasant when the sun is blazing outside (and it IS hot, in April it was 40 degrees).

The walls are not particularly thick so if someone decides to be loud in the courtyard in the morning chances are that it's going to wake you up.

Beds are OK. Rooms are clean and towels changed regularly. Housekeeping staff mainly French speaking, reception staff with some command of English. Reception and the door isn't open all the time so that can be tricky at times but didn't cause us any major issues. Most of the staff were pleasant.

The terrace has got nice views across the medina.

The location is quite good but it's quite tricky to get to the main square, we got lost quite a few times but once you learn to recognize the route it's about 10min. All the locals will point you in the right direction as well.

Breakfast included in the price and rather poor.

It is a good place for a few days, it's got a few snags but then I truly believe that you get what you pay for. Considering the price I was happy with the riad. I think I would consider staying there again. If you expect 4 or 5 star hotel you will be disappointed but if you want a cheap, clean base for exploring Marrakesh this will be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Laarouss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Laarouss

Address: 46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #770 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Laarouss 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Laarouss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Laarouss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Laarouss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.