We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Laarouss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ryad Laarouss to your Saves list
Ryad Laarouss
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #759 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are a group of 5, 18 year old girls. We spent two weeks in Marrakech, 1 volunteering before spending three nights in a hostel that cost £4 a night before coming to Laarouss for our final three nights.

Could not disagree more with the previous review, we loved our stay, we got a two and a three room, and although the two were in the other building just over the road (an inconvenience to be fair) there was no issue as they spent all day in the main raid with us. The rooms were beautiful and traditionally decorated, the over the road room was cute and intimate.

Having stayed in three different types of accommodation in Marrakech before this, (all sharing bathrooms) when we arrived to rooms with our own bathrooms and aircon was a luxury - and so it may be fair to say our view was biased, having seen the other side to some of the accommodation in Marrakech. The sleep we had here was the best since arriving in the city, the beds were a dream.

The service was impeccable, always welcomed warmly and got to know the staff and have a laugh with them. The hotel was clean and we always felt safe, a relaxing haven from the mad city. There were security cameras everywhere which were constantly watched, which again added a sense of safety. The staff were helpful, we booked our transfer to the airport through them which was significantly cheaper than booking a cab, they also helped us with activities and attractions that we wanted to visit.

The pool and the cold tub on the roof made the hotel, as until you have visited the city it is hard to comprehend the heat of walking around in the dry hot air, and nothing is more welcoming than jumping into the pool.

Breakfast was lovely, with tea coffee and hot chocolate all available, along with a glass of freshly squashed orange juice. Don't buy water from the hotel as it is double the price, there is a shop just out the front where it can't be bought for 8dh compared to the 15dh in the hotel. Food prices were also extortionate, I got omelette and chips with a drink which came to £9!! Not worth eating in!!

We loved our stay, and topped off the holiday by providing us with a relaxing last few days after a hard and crazy two weeks, have already recommended this plan to friends and family! :) however would definitely ask for your room in the main building!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    32
    17
    23
See reviews for
30
62
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I were booked for two nights at the ryad. When we arrived we were told that we were not in the main ryad but across the road. The annex is situated a small walk across the road, down an alley and behind a hidden wall. Once we arrived to our room, three floors up, we were greeted with a tiny dark and dusty room with no windows. Later that night as we tried to get comfortable in the terribly uncomfortable bed we realised the linen was dirty and although the room had no windows we were being bitten by bugs. My girlfriend then decided to have a shower and there was no hot water, nor any pressure.

After a restless night and a basic breakfast, we decided to talk to the manager to see if we could request an alternative room. We waited a small time and were then told that he wont turn up until midday, therefore we returned to our room, as we got there we realised the door wouldnt unlock?
After a number of times and a few minutes with no luck we called the guard at the front door to see if he could help us and he too had no luck. He tried for about 20 minutes, receiving and making endless calls which we assumed was to the Manager as we waited on the lower floor. An hour passed and we had no luck, another hour passed and we hadnt been told anything about what was happening or when we could expect someone to help us get into our room where all of our belongings including money was located. Then another hour passed and eventually the guard broke the glass and shimmied the door open to let us in.
We packed our bags as there was no way that we could stay in a room with a shattered door and was now not locking and was full of glass. As we were leaving, the receptionist? arrived to see how we were, we asked him what the solution would be and he said that there was no other rooms available so we would need to stay in the room, with no functioning door or lock. We said that we werent happy and would like a refund for the next night but he said that he cannot offer that, so again we asked for a solution but he was unable to offer us one. We said that we would wait for the Manager and we asked if he could call him but he told us that he wasnt answering the phone and that we could be waiting a number of hours.

He also told us that the Manager would not care for our situation as we had already paid, he had been paid and wouldnt care that we were unhappy. He then said 'for the money we had spent for the room (which wasnt a small amount anyway) we shouldnt complain'.
As we begged him for a solution and if we could use the phone to contact the Manager, he just laughed and said that the Manager was not able to speak English nor that the phones in the riad could call outside lines. By this time, we had enough and left, without a refund nor an apology or any word from the Manager.

The whole experience was so disappointing and spoilt part of our stay in Marrakech.
I strongly suggest to avoid the riad, there was no sense of customer service nor concern for our well-being. The entire night and day was a comedy of errors and what made it worse was being lied to and laughed at by the receptionist. Save yourself the distress and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you want to or have to stay here then make sure that you are placed in the main riad, the linen i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laarouss, Gérant at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
The more difficult is for finding out what was so wrong in Ryad Laârouss for posting two of so terrible reviews for the same stay !!!! After investigation I have this answer I sent to Jacintha and his boyfriend.
" Hello Jacinta !
It looks like your already made answer to your own question in two reviews you left with your friend in Trip advisor.
Very soon you will read my answers in the same page of trip advisor reviews about what you did with your friend.
But in other side I regret so much what happened in your stay.
After investigation I understood you miss water in your room between 17 h and 21 h.
It is not our fault. In Ramadan rooming all Marrakech are missing water at this time before the Ramadan breakfast time at 19h30. Out of this time water became normally available !
What I know you used for travelling a lot around the world with an Australian passport and this time you were in Ryad Laârouss with a boyfriend holding a Hispania passport. The receptionist mentions that you and your friend were already very nervous and disagreeable by the checking time. But that was not a reason to break down the lock of your bedroom.
We paid 150 dirhams for fixing the lock you destroyed, what will be charge to you.
I hope you will be honest enough to recognize and agree with this ending situation.
Cordially
Ryad Laârouss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by locals offering to carry out packs. We reluctantly handed the packs and off we went. A few minutes later we arrived and we paid 20 Dirhams for the service. They demanded 100 Dirhams which was a massive rip-off. We refused to pay any more and could see the scam for what it was. Thankfully, the hotel owner intervened and off they went. Not a very good introduction to Marrakech - be warned!

As for the hotel, it was adequate and met our expectations. We were on the top floor within the main Riad - room 202. We had all the basic amenities which worked! The roof top is very scenic and lovely to sit out on at night time. The Riad is conveniently located 10-15 mins from the Square.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Ryad was well located, close enough to the square but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful during the evening. Unfortunately this is all I can really say in regards to positive feedback for the place. Being our third Ryad we stayed in I guess we had high expectations, but this Ryad was more like a dark and dusty hotel. Our room was in the annex 'across the street' off the bat not very impressed. The annex has no foyer just a door and three levels of stairs packed with rooms. Already the Ryad has a dark and claustrophobic feeling. Our room was tiny, no windows, dark, the hardest bed, no hot water, very dusty and dirty linen. We like to spend the afternoons relaxing in our room after spending the day in the heat, as a place to relax and cool down, but with this place we just wanted to escape as much as possible. Very disappointed when we had paid less at other places for such warmer and inviting hospitality. I certainly wouldn't recommend the Ryad nor stay here when visiting marrakech in the future.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the annex, make sure the room has hot water, check linen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laarouss, Gérant at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
The more difficult is for finding out what was so wrong in Ryad Laârouss for posting two of so terrible reviews for the same stay !!!! After investigation I have this answer I sent to Jacintha and his boyfriend.
" Hello Jacinta !
It looks like your already made answer to your own question in two reviews you left with your friend in Trip advisor.
Very soon you will read my answers in the same page of trip advisor reviews about what you did with your friend.
But in other side I regret so much what happened in your stay.
After investigation I understood you miss water in your room between 17 h and 21 h.
It is not our fault. In Ramadan rooming all Marrakech are missing water at this time before the Ramadan breakfast time at 19h30. Out of this time water became normally available !
What I know you used for travelling a lot around the world with an Australian passport and this time you were in Ryad Laârouss with a boyfriend holding a Hispania passport. The receptionist mentions that you and your friend were already very nervous and disagreeable by the checking time. But that was not a reason to break down the lock of your bedroom.
We paid 150 dirhams for fixing the lock you destroyed, what will be charge to you.
I hope you will be honest enough to recognize and agree with this ending situation.
Cordially
Ryad Laârouss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The postitive: the Ryad Laarouss is in a brilliant location, right in the medina but easy to find your way back to from the Djaama el Fna and the souks as it is on a main street. It is beautiful inside, the swimming pool a welcome relief from the heat of the summer sun. Our room, the Harem mini-suite is not in the main building but in the other part across the street. which we didn't mind as it was really cute inside with a fab view of the medina from the roof top terrace. The room is also nicely decorated with more than enough space for our family of four. Other reviewers have mentioned a lack of cleanliness which we didn't find - it was very clean, down to the smell of bleach!

The negative: Our room had no windows, all glass in the window of the main bedroom has been replaced with mirrored glass. This does make the room feel a bit dark and claustrophobic. There is absolutely no storage for clothes, not a cupboard or a drawer. The bathroom also had a curtain rather than a door you could close (we found it hard to keep out a toddler fascinated with water!). The worst however was that for several hours we had absolutely NO WATER - we had lots of excuses and promises to call a plumber but the fact remained that we could not even flush the toilet or wash our hands after, let alone have a shower. In fairness, the hotel did offer to let us use a shower in another room and by the time we came back from our walk in the medina it was fixed, but it did spoil our enjoyment of the hotel somewhat.Our room was also very dusty.

The breakfast was also a bit basic - only 2 types of pastry, the croissants were stale and there was no fruit or yoghurt either.

I would not return to this hotel were I to visit Marrakesh again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and ask how the water pressure is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Ryad is well located at a walking distance from Jamaa Al fena in the medina's ryad laarous district. The main problem with the ryad is cleanness, our sheets weren't so clean and I was seriously attached by insects bites the first night, until we asked from proper cleaning for the room and changing all the drapes (the experience was a little better the second night). The staff is very helpful and friendly and accepted the criticism.

Room Tip: The rooms with a street view are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laarouss, Manager at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Sorry so much to our guest for all these problems. I care for managing better and try to make these events not repeating again at Ryad Laârouss. In Morocco insect is a big problem. All the bedrooms are treated against insect regularly. About the sheets we want to fix this other problem with the staff if this fault can be found out. But we ask to our guest next time for complaining to the Manager directly about so serious problem once at the Riad not after coming back home, in the way the manager could help usefully during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Ryad is overall really nice, clean and confortable if you have to spend some days in Marrakech. We paid for 3 night/3 people around 120€ with taxes and breakfast included. There is a little swimming pool inside and anotherone really small outside in the terrace where you can take the sun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Laarouss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Laarouss

Address: 46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #759 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Laarouss 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Laarouss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Laarouss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Laarouss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;