We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the medina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Laarouss

Save Saved
You added Ryad Laarouss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad Laarouss
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #749 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
PolackPom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“In the heart of the medina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I organised a taxi pick up by the ryad from the airport but for some bizarre reason the driver stayed outside the terminal building while the other 99.9% of drivers/couriers were inside so it took me quite a while and 2 phone calls to the ryad to find out if he'd actually turned up - a lot of people on this site mentioned their "booked" taxi wasn't there for them. He took me directly to the door of the ryad however so if the taxi says he can't get there just insist. There was a mix up with the price of the taxi but it's 100 dirhams so again if you get a cab from the airport this is a fair price.
The overall feel of the ryad is very pleasant. The roof area has sun loungers and seats dotted around to relax outside your room. I found the breakfast very meagre but the fresh orange juice and mint or thyme tea very refreshing and a good start to the day. One of the days I chose the oriental breakfast at an additional charge of 55Dh and this was pretty good.
I found the room (oasis) ok. It was comfortable enough but the balcony was a bit of a mess and the bathroom was overly fussy with it's mosaic tiles. To shower in it was ok but it wouldn't have been practical to actually use the bath. Even with the double window/door closed there were still quite a lot of noise from the streets below as you are genuinely in the heart of the medina with all it's chaotic life.
The staff were very helpful and friendly but it would have been nice if the owner had shown a bit more interest in his guests. Speaking with other people I met in Marrakech they said that their various ryad owners showed a lot more care for their guests and gave plenty of recommendations for places to eat or visit. The only time I met Gerard, the owner, was when there was the mix up with the taxi fare.
The ryad is well located for getting to the sites of Marrakech but do bear in mind its location also means you have scooters whizzing by outside at all hours and the general hubbub of chaotic city life around you at all times.
Overall a pleasant stay at what is a good budget ryad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laarouss, Owner at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
I realy and sincerely apologize if our taxi wait out side instead of inside. Thanks so much for this remark. We will care for avoiding this problem taxi. On the other hand Ryad Laârouss is one out of just few riads sending handy informations about everything but taxi and how avoid problem with prices and tips.
However it looks like this guest did not read our informations and prices about arrival airport transfert that are indicated 100 dirhams low taxi fare cost because when he just got in the riad he was complaining about the price meaning that the cost should be 30 dirhams round trip transfert ?!!
I was surprised about this complaint and it was diffcult for me to make our guest understanding that it is impossible to pay the taxi transfert arrival for only 2 euros and 70 cents !
Then about tips for diner we have two receptionnists that are very helpfull and it is not more helping to have the owner ready for doing this.
The noise is a huge problem inside the médina. But I am sure that if this guest would use to close carrefully the double windows it would cut a lot this noise.
Meanwhile Ryad Laârouss offer other bedrooms not noisy and few really calm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    31
    16
    22
See reviews for
29
58
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Put simply Ryad Laarous is a good place to stay.

Having travelled numerous times to Marrakech I wasn't bowled over by this particular Ryad, which I thought is trying to be something it is not, i.e. a five star luxury; a simpler approach, something more genuinely Moroccan, would be far more appealing. That said I would recommend it for someone looking for somewhere in the Medina.

Plus: Helpful staff, general facilities.

Minus: Could be cleaner. A little tired and faded. A little corporate. Poor breakfast. Location, which is a good fifteen minutes from the Jamma el Fna and can be hard to find.

With a little effort this could be a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were really glad to have selected Ryad Laarouss as our accommodation in Marrakech. It is a wonderful sanctuary from the outside noise and dust created by the mopeds, donkey carts and cars flying up and down the unpaved streets. All of the staff were brilliant - very friendly and helpful and even gave me a lift to the ATM when I needed cash on the last day + bought a phone card specifically to help us confirm a pre-arranged tour booking. The room was lovely and cleaned every day. Fantastic VFM.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which was pretty quiet and sunny though could be totally dark if you clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay in the Twilight room. We had a great time. The staff here speak great English and are really helpful.
The room was lovely and the Riad great. We were quite cold at first, but I think this goes to show how well built the riad is for the Summer months, I imagine it would be a lovely to escape from the heat. There was a heater in the room, so with this on full we were able to warm up nicely! We ate in the riad one night, I would say this was only average, but the staff were really friendly and it was nice and easy to go down and have food.
Breakfast was nice – fresh orange juice was gorgeous, and there was a nice selection of breads, pastries, pancakes etc .
The roof area of the riad was lovely, with loungers to relax on.
I deliberated on where to stay in Marrakech for ages and was not disappointed with this riad at all.
It is a 15 minute walk from the ‘centre’ (the main square), but it was nice to stay a bit further out. The shops and stalls near the hotel were really cheap and you felt like you were experiencing the real Marrakech more.
We also booked our taxi to and from the airport with the hotel which we would recommend, for ease for service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucuman
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I loved staying at this lovely, comfortable ryad. The hotel and rooms have typical Moroccan design which I loved!!!

Rooms: spotlessly clean, with beautiful traditionally décor, combined with modern accessories and amenities, such as a safe, plasma TV, a/c, Wi Fi & fridge. Comfy beds, towels changed and room cleaned every day. Excellent cleaning staff, so polite!!! Even with a small balcony! Couldn't ask for more really!

The roof terrace was a great spot to escape all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, with wonderful sun loungers. There is even a small swimming pool inside the Ryad where you can refresh!

Staff: great! Polite, warm, ready to help. Spoke understandable English.

Location: In the old Medina, not far away from the famous Djema el Fna square.

Breakfast: varied and fresh.

TIPS (taken from a previous review, but worthwhile taking in mind before getting to Marrakech):

1. Be careful with all the helpers who are everywhere. They want money for EVERYTHING!

2. Don’t let anybody guide you to hotel as they will take you all way around between small streets so it seems that they really took you there! Liars! Absolutely true, unfortunately.

To get to the ryad, the best option is to take a taxi. From the outside, you may be disillusioned, but once you get into it, you will discover a beautiful place, unknown for Western standards!

Note: Upon Check in, your passport is kept, until they can get a copy of it. So, a good idea would be to have a copy of your passport available!

All in all, by far, the best place I stayed at, when in Morocco!!! A BIG thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much in this lovely, comfortable riad. The room was spotlessly clean, with beautiful traditionally decor. All amenities too, safe, mini fridge, a/c, tv, wifi. Couldn't ask for more. The terrace was a great spot to escape all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff at the riad are very very helpful, and spoke English too. They even kept a bag for us with no extra charge for 3 days until we went to the desert. Also it's not far away from the famous Djema el fna square. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs has got a terrace not like the downstairs ones, but much more colder, although heatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We loved our stay in this beautiful and comfortable Riad. We've visited Morocco 6 times, and have stayed in a whole range accomodation, and would certainly rate this as the best, and wonderful value for money.

The room was spotlessly clean, with beautiful traditional decor, combined with modern accessories, such as a safe, plasma tv and fridge. We also had our own private area on the roof terrace with sun loungers. We loved escaping to the calm oasis for our hotel for a dip in the pool, after a day in the bustle of Marrakesh.

The staff in the hotel spoke great english, the breakfast was varied and fresh, and we also had a grear massage at the hotel hammam. It is also straight forward to navigate from the hotel to the main square.

This hotel was a real gem, and we will be returning!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryad Laarouss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Laarouss

Address: 46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #749 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Laarouss 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ryad Laarouss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Laarouss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Laarouss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.