We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, beautifully relaxing and great value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Bennani

Save Saved
You added Dar Bennani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Bennani
56 Derb Abid Allah | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #661 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality, beautifully relaxing and great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

This Riad was fantastic value for money.
With a very friendly couple running this place, breakfast at any time in the morning we wanted it, well maintained rooms, a contrast to the chaos outside.
A lovely central area too.
Can't fault it for the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was my 5th visit to Morocco & Marrakesh and iv have stayed in all sorts of places. I enjoy trying out new hotels/ hostels and getting to know different parts of the city. There were 3 of us in our group and we booked a room to sleep 3. We arrived at night and it was not easy to find (down some small dark, narrow streets) We had just climbed the mountain Toubkal, so we were looking forward to a nice quiet room in a quiet location in the busy city. The room was on the bottom floor right across from the reception/ kitchen/ dining/ breakfast area. We could hear everything from outside as the doors didn't close securely (They were more like shutters) At one point I had to go out and ask if they had any other rooms as this one was just not private. We could hear them and they could hear us (even with all the 'shutters' and curtains closed) at 11pm the reception/ dining music stopped and everything closed down. We did sleep well and the beds were clean. The toilet in the room had no door or curtain and as we were a mixed group of 3 this was not ideal & unfortunately when nature calls, people in the room and the guests outside having breakfast can hear what should be your PRIVATE business. I would hate to think how a couple on a romantic break would find this place.... We did not feel private at all in the room. Apart from that, the breakfast was OK.. Location after you get your bearings is good and the service was good. The room let is down big time. I personally will not stay here again and won't recommend it to others. There are better places out there. Enjoy Marrakesh!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Visited Marrakech recently and stayed for 3 nights with my girlfriend here, the Riad was spotless and the fact that it is family owned meant that there was genuine warmth from the owners. Woke up early twice and Ooda, the host, was more than happy to prepare breakfast for us. Very nice place, and if I was to visit Marrakech again I would definately stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Great deal! The owners were so helpful and made sure we oriented to the medina as soon as possible. They made great recommendations for restaurants too. Everything about the experience was good, from booking to settling our bill at the end of our stay. On the mornings we had early trips planned they made sure we had breakfast available and the days we had more time the breakfast was served on the lovely rooftop terrace. Probably the best breakfast we had anywhere in Morocco and even came with a hot dish. The coffee was excellent!
Without a doubt for the price YOU CANNOT BEAT the Dar Bennani! The rooms were cute, clean and plenty big enough. Everything is convenient. I will stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This riad, within the medina and two minutes walk from the Souks, is a great place to stay on a visit to Marrakech. The riad itself is kept spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The room was very tastefully decorated with local goods, and the roof terrace provides an amazing view over Marrakech - and is where we enjoyed our breakfasts and a tasty Moroccan dinner.

If you've not been to Marrakech, it is a bit mad and you will probably want to escape the haggling and bustle. This riad is in the right spot to quickly duck out of the souks and take a break.

I was very impressed and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Bennani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Bennani

Address: 56 Derb Abid Allah | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #661 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Bennani located in the heart of Marrakech, just 500 meters from the Jemaa el-Fna famous square. Riad traditional style has a patio with a fountain and a terrace with sun loungers overlooking the medina.The food served at Dar Bennani kitchen is another asset of this house. Prepared the same day with fresh produce from the market, the specialties are a perfect illustration of the wide variety of the Moroccan gastronomy.In this environment steeped in history, we invite you to discover this house with all the comforts for a pleasant stay in the "Red City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Bennani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Bennani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.