We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moulay Said

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Moulay Said
Save Saved
You added Riad Moulay Said to your Saves list
60 Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #855 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Verona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Location is good, very close to the Marrakech Jemaa el Fna square. Romms are nice, there is a swimming pool and peace. There is this man taking care of guests, very gentle and always helpful. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    11
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed in Riad Moulay with 23 other trekkers on our way to and from the sahara. Having just looked at their website I think the picks were taken some time ago. It's a lovely building in a prime position and it easy to see it must have been sunning once upon a time but that time has long gone! The pool was empty and filthy dirty, beds were hard as rock, the cistern in my bathroom was held together by tape and dribble water all night. Only one very bright light bulb in the room, TV only had one channel and that was not tuned properly. Breakfast time on first day the butter was rancid.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on a fantastic touring holiday packed with activities and plenty of things to do This hotel is located in medina, the heart of Marrakech. 1st impression - good decor but dirty reception, poorly maintained with very unfriendly staff. Stayed at the RMS for 3 nites. The 1st night was a disaster; although the bed was nicely made up with an extra blanket to hand, the room was very large and cold, very minimal furnishing, there was no heating nor hot water. Breakfast was left over croissants from the day before served with orange squash labeled as juice. There were loose wires hanging all over the rooms. Got an upgrade to the 1st fllor on th last 2 nites but they were just as bad; small rooms, cold, no hot water and smelly bathroom mat…ghastly!

Room Tip: Dont.....Not even a 1 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Well, booked into this Riad as part of tour. It is in an excellent location close to the square. I found it quiet and was not bothered by other guests. The furnishings were charming, the bed comfy and I had a remote for the air conditioner so was toasty warm. I was in an upstairs room. The ambience was lovely with a lush internal garden and pool which would be lovely in summer. The breakfast was no different to anywhere else in similar star accommodation in Morocco - ie. not for the fussy - lots of carbs and virtually no protein. How the Moroccans , or French for that matter, stay so thin after all that bread and croissant I do not know. However, the BIG drawback of this Riad was the bathroom. No hot water at all and a toilet that seemed to be leaking from the base not the cistern - very unhygienic. Needless to say, after several complaints from tour members the tour relocated us on our retur to Marrakech. A pity, because this could be a brilliant Riad with a bit more attention to detail. There are other, better raids in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

You could not imagine, passing by the narrow street of the Medina, full of small, attractive shops, that behind the portal of the Moulay Said, you would find a very big place, with several floors, numerous rooms, swimming pool, spa, restaurant...and with a very nice and colourful layout, typical archs and doors and personnel available to answer to your requests. The wonderful Jemima el-Fna square is at just 5 minutes' walk and you can enjoy the lively town without any noice to disturb your sleep. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom OK, the breakfast quite rich. I would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this Riad for 4 nights during our tour of Morocco in dec 2011. The rooms were big, lack of furnishing, extremely cold and really need in modernising and updating. The Riad is big with many rooms. very good capacity but it hasnt been touched for years and it does need urgent TLC. After we stayed in various Kasbahs a long the way including a berber camp in the desert we learnt to appreciate how far behind Moulay Said is and how much the owner has to catch up in order to enable his guests to enjoy basic conditions like warmth and hot shower and food that hasnt been recycled and reused. The breakfast we had in the camp in the desert with minimum facilities was far better than at Moulay Said when he has everything literally on his door step. If you are NOT a backpacker or you are expecting to have a shower with water preferably warm and you are expecting to have some level of hygiene then I would strongly suggest to look for smaller riads when the owners are less commercially minded and still have some respect to their guests and rooms. Moulay Said is not cheap - you can get so much better for the same money if not cheaper. We had 3 people in our group that refused to stay the 4 nights in this place and they found so much better for half price so dont be fool - you can get more for your money!!!

Room Tip: Chose small riads with 6-10 rooms that is when you will be treated like a human being with some resp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The best thing about this riad is the location - in the Media, right near the main square. However, the riad itself could be better. It wasn't completely clean, and seemed a little run down (e.g. bare bulbs on the ceilings, power sockets loose from the walls.) Some of the rooms (I stayed in three all together) didn't have hot water either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Moulay Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moulay Said

Address: 60 Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #855 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Riad Moulay Said Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moulay Said, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.