We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very disappointing - will not recommend"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moulay Said

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Moulay Said
Save Saved
You added Riad Moulay Said to your Saves list
60 Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #855 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Very disappointing - will not recommend"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on a fantastic touring holiday packed with activities and plenty of things to do This hotel is located in medina, the heart of Marrakech. 1st impression - good decor but dirty reception, poorly maintained with very unfriendly staff. Stayed at the RMS for 3 nites. The 1st night was a disaster; although the bed was nicely made up with an extra blanket to hand, the room was very large and cold, very minimal furnishing, there was no heating nor hot water. Breakfast was left over croissants from the day before served with orange squash labeled as juice. There were loose wires hanging all over the rooms. Got an upgrade to the 1st fllor on th last 2 nites but they were just as bad; small rooms, cold, no hot water and smelly bathroom mat…ghastly!

Room Tip: Dont.....Not even a 1 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    11
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Well, booked into this Riad as part of tour. It is in an excellent location close to the square. I found it quiet and was not bothered by other guests. The furnishings were charming, the bed comfy and I had a remote for the air conditioner so was toasty warm. I was in an upstairs room. The ambience was lovely with a lush internal garden and pool which would be lovely in summer. The breakfast was no different to anywhere else in similar star accommodation in Morocco - ie. not for the fussy - lots of carbs and virtually no protein. How the Moroccans , or French for that matter, stay so thin after all that bread and croissant I do not know. However, the BIG drawback of this Riad was the bathroom. No hot water at all and a toilet that seemed to be leaking from the base not the cistern - very unhygienic. Needless to say, after several complaints from tour members the tour relocated us on our retur to Marrakech. A pity, because this could be a brilliant Riad with a bit more attention to detail. There are other, better raids in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

You could not imagine, passing by the narrow street of the Medina, full of small, attractive shops, that behind the portal of the Moulay Said, you would find a very big place, with several floors, numerous rooms, swimming pool, spa, restaurant...and with a very nice and colourful layout, typical archs and doors and personnel available to answer to your requests. The wonderful Jemima el-Fna square is at just 5 minutes' walk and you can enjoy the lively town without any noice to disturb your sleep. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom OK, the breakfast quite rich. I would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this Riad for 4 nights during our tour of Morocco in dec 2011. The rooms were big, lack of furnishing, extremely cold and really need in modernising and updating. The Riad is big with many rooms. very good capacity but it hasnt been touched for years and it does need urgent TLC. After we stayed in various Kasbahs a long the way including a berber camp in the desert we learnt to appreciate how far behind Moulay Said is and how much the owner has to catch up in order to enable his guests to enjoy basic conditions like warmth and hot shower and food that hasnt been recycled and reused. The breakfast we had in the camp in the desert with minimum facilities was far better than at Moulay Said when he has everything literally on his door step. If you are NOT a backpacker or you are expecting to have a shower with water preferably warm and you are expecting to have some level of hygiene then I would strongly suggest to look for smaller riads when the owners are less commercially minded and still have some respect to their guests and rooms. Moulay Said is not cheap - you can get so much better for the same money if not cheaper. We had 3 people in our group that refused to stay the 4 nights in this place and they found so much better for half price so dont be fool - you can get more for your money!!!

Room Tip: Chose small riads with 6-10 rooms that is when you will be treated like a human being with some resp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The best thing about this riad is the location - in the Media, right near the main square. However, the riad itself could be better. It wasn't completely clean, and seemed a little run down (e.g. bare bulbs on the ceilings, power sockets loose from the walls.) Some of the rooms (I stayed in three all together) didn't have hot water either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This large Riad has some marvellous advantages.
1 The position is superb, being only a few minutes walk from the Square, with rooms pretty much totally insulated from any street noise.
2The internal architecture is magnificent and the pool seems to be well maintained
3 The staff, who seem to be a family, are extremely friendly in a quiet way. As an example, they organised a taxi for us for 4.00 am and, to our surprise came to our room at 3.50 to make sure we were awake, carried our bags downstairs and helped us on our way.
4The cleaning is done with care
The trouble is the downsides are numerous. Firstly there is only hot water in the mornings - during the rest of the day it is tepid. Secondly the much vaunted air conditioning does not work (there are no remote controls left - it seems that this is a common problem in Moroccan run hotels). Thirdly, although it seems usually to be fairly quiet, it can be a bit noisy when there is a tour group here (ok -it's not all night noise as the tour groups have to get ready for morning departures.
In summary you don't get the quality that this price level can buy in some other riads. However we developed an odd affection for the family running it since they so obviously were nice people who perhaps just needed a bit of business advice

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed a total of 6 nights in 4 different rooms so I got to see lots of different rooms. For a three star facility paying about £35 per person per night you have to be realistic and not expect 5 stars. We were always treated very nicely and it is a great location.

My only gripe is that the hot water didn't work. Even when we asked specifically for it to be checked. Marrakech in the winter can be surpisingly cool, combine that with an upset stomach and a cold shower feels like a slap in the face. I was lucky enough to have a hot shower one evening and it was absolutely fabulous.

Great things about this Riad
Great location less than 5 mins walk from Jeema el Fna (the main square and the heart of the action)
Large rooms
Beds are pretty alright. Ok there is no fancy 300 count bed linen but it was OK.
It was run down but the cleaning still seemed ok.
Can take LARGE groups on tour.
Always felt safe and cared for.

Room Tip: Rooms on main corridors are noisy. Because everyone has to pass by them to get to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Moulay Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moulay Said

Address: 60 Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #855 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Riad Moulay Said Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moulay Said, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.