We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with good service, only minor drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Balkisse

Save Saved
You added Riad Balkisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Balkisse
4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #808 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location with good service, only minor drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed in Riad Balkisse for a week in January. When we arrived, we were greeted by Abdel, the manager who is very friendly. Our room is a triple room on the first floor. The room is good size but lacking of light presumably to really experience the Moroccan way of life. Location is very good, just a stone throw from Rue Bab Agnaou which is as lively as Djemaa El Fna itself. Breakfast is plenty but after a week of the same, you'll be craving for a bit of change. The girls serving breakfast are excellent but due to lack of space, sometime you have to take turns having breakfast. One drawbacks is that the internet signal is not as strong in the rooms and while we were there, the free wifi was locked a couple of times that we have to ask for password/unlock. Apart from that, I have no other complaints.Overall, services are excellent and the location is marvellous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Abdel Idel... is the best!!!!
riad BALKISSE.... is a stunning place to stay in!!!!
the Riad was beauitfully presented, it was so very private, and Abdel always made us feel special. it was my 30th birthday and i had family and friends with me. we arrived late and was welcomed regardless of the time, Abdel ordered us food and presented the food to us and made us feel like ROYALTY!!! loved it. i have never been to a hotel/riad and felt like royatly!!! a birthday cake, belly dancer, live music, everything was organised by him at the local restaurant, it was an amazing night to remember... i couldnt have asked for a better night. oh how can i forget that he also organised hammans for us, henna painting for us, gave us girfts, and was just an awesome friendly person, a very good assesst to the riad.
the stay at the Riad was excellent, nothing bad to say... a clean, spacious, place. its a HOME ABROAD!

i would seriously recommend this place to stay if you are going out there for a stort stay to a long stay!!! and we (my friends and i) are making plans to go out there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is nearby the famous square! It's a beautiful riad in maroc style. On the terace you have a nice vieuw of Marrakech.
Abdel is very helpful and a nice guy. He can also explain a lot of the maroc culture. :)
We enjoyed the stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

we spent a great weekend in this Riad!! its location is perfect since it is in the city center where you find all interesting sites to visit. the rooms were clean, air conditionning and good service. all in all, i recommand this riad for those who want to have a great moroccan housing experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Balkisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.