We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for everybody” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Balkisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Balkisse to your Saves list
Riad Balkisse
4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #791 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“Excellent for everybody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

The location is perfect, the riad is beautiful and the breakfast is delicious but the great thing about this place it's the magnificent staff. They will do everything to make you feel welcome. I would gladly return there.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Jus next to Jama El Fna Square, it's a nice cosy Riyad with very nice, friendly and helpful staff Thank you Foad and Driss for your kindness, information and help. The food is tasty and of quality, we stayed 4 nights, we had food in different places, the last night we had diner in the riyad: it was the best Tajine we had in Marrakesh ! well served and home made in the kitchen by Rita a nice lady preparing the breakfasts as well which were fresh pressed orange juice, msemen, mini breads, butter, jam and good morrocan tea...
The Location was perfect as it's 2 min from the main square Jama el Fna. The interior decoration is original and beautiful in moroccan riyad style. Our room had an Air-con remotely controled
Anything we needed we asked the members of staff who were very kind and friendly providing information, leaflets and useful tips about the places to visit, where to go and what to avoid ...
All in all it was perfect and unique!

Room Tip: Narjesse was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our stay in Riad Balkisse was a pleasant one.

Foad was really helpful and insightful. When we arrived, he gave us a map and shared with us places we should visit. He also helped to arrange for excursions and ensured our requirements were met.

The staff here is really hospitable, friendly and kind. They took time asking how our day went and spent time getting to know us.

Breakfast is served at the terrace daily and what a treat you will get! The breakfast menu changes every day and it was quite a spread too! The most memorable part of my stay has got to be the quiet and tranquil mornings having breakfast at the terrace with only the cheerful chirps of the birds interrupting your thoughts- definitely nothing to complain about!It is also a good time to meet and get to know fellow travellers from all over the world.

Wifi works pretty well too. The room is clean and the dim lighting only serve to enhance the ambient of the whole place, if not Marrakech itself. The interior of the riad is really fantastic. Be amazed by the decor, the stucco and plaster work and the open air terrace.

Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My review will be based on Riad Chalymar. I was supposed to stay in Riad Balkisse but upon arriving, Foad the manager told me that there was something wrong with the water pipe in the room. So they had me transferred to another Riad - Riad Chalymar - owned by the same owner who owns Riad Balkisse, at no additional cost.

Riad Chalymar was, in my opinion, as good as, or if not better, than Riad Balkisse. Breakfast were the same everyday, with very slight variations, but good to keep you going in the morning. Service staff, Mohamed the manager and his assistant Youseff were excellent!

Location was very good too. It was in a central location, just a 5 minutes walk away to Jemaa El Fna. Will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay of more than a week at Riad Balkisse. The location was excellent; a short walk to everything yet away from the noise. Our room was fairly small without much space for our bags, but besides the bed we had a chair, a small table and a wardrobe. There was little natural light available, as our colored-glass window faced the courtyard. The overhead lighting was quite dim. The bed was firm, which appeals to some but not to me. I found it painful. Wifi wasn't terribly fast but always worked in the room. Breakfast was served promptly upstairs on the pleasant rooftop terrace. It was mostly breads and pancakes, with one source of protein added daily - yoghurt, an egg or a small triangle of cheese. Orange juice was fresh squeezed and coffee and black tea were available in pots. The staff were always friendly. For the most part, it was quiet and we heard nothing from the outside and little from the staff or other guests. Excursions were offered as soon as we arrived but we checked outside prices before committing and found them to be much cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Foad was an excellent host and was so welcoming, as was everyone at the riad. He went out of his way to make us as comfortable as possible. The riad is in a great central location to explore the medina. All of the main sites were within an easy walking distance. There are a lot of restaurants nearby. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was a treat! We had dinner upon arrival, and it was quite nice. They had wine and beer available for purchase as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

If I had a Guesthouse/Riad, FOAD would be my manager. The Riad comes recommended and does not disappoint. The staff, Rita and Hafida are gracious and helpful. It is well positioned close to the Souq within walking distance as is the bus/taxi rank and many other areas. The Rooms are comfortable apart from a few minor defects which we mentioned to Foad as well as the owner who was visiting from France. We would most definited recommend Riad Balkisse to anyone looking for slightly above average accommodation and would not miss an opportunity to stay there again.
Ruth & Maureen

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #791 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Balkisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.