We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to the action yet far enough for some peace & quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Balkisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Balkisse to your Saves list
Riad Balkisse
4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #776 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Close enough to the action yet far enough for some peace & quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Like all Riads in Marrakech, Balkisse is situated in one of the tiniest ally ways about 5min walk from Jeema El Fna. So really, this makes it an ideal location if you want to stay out in the square till late at night. Surprisingly being so close to the square, the riad offers tranquillity in its maze like ally way.

The Riad has a very pleasent feel, very light, clean & comfortable. The owners is also very polite and lovely to speak to, both very adequate in English. The rooms itself was averaged size incomparison to other Riads i have stayed in. Very Nice traditional decorations but wouldn't say it has any wow factors. The room docoration isnt without its mini flaws...drills holes left uncovered, shower curtain not fitted in the correct place (so its useless), lights didnt work until 15mins of maintenence, aircon failure which led to a change of rooms. Despite all this, Balkisse will sort everything out without fuss, hesitation or extra cost...i.e when my aircon failed (when i first arrived and NOT during the night) they changed my room from a single to a triple.
Breakfast is nothing special, when you have stayed in Marrakech for a week, every Riad will pretty much give you the same deal, bread, bread and more bread.

As newly established owners, service is always with a smile! However, one thing I would suggest to the owner is to get an extra pair of hands. She is very good at what she does but when there are a few thing running simultaneously, service can be a bit slow.

All in all, the location of this Riad, the price you pay and the quality you get is nothing shy of a thumbs up from me.

How to get there:
From Jeema El Fna walk down Rue Prince Moulay Abdellah (or Rue Bab Agnaou), you should see Hotel Tazi on your left. Turn into this road (Riad Moukha) then it as simple as right, left, right...then straight through the ally way until you come across number 4 on your right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

stayed here with my sister-in-law and daughter 20 years, and can't wait to return.
Andrea, her husband Adil and staff were very attentive even when we had a problem with sink not emptying in our room it was repaired same day. Adil was very informative regarding places we wanted to visit and arranged a guide for a couple of hours. The room was very clean and breakfast substantial which could be taken in riad or on roof terrace which was lovely.
The riad was in an excellent location for everywhere we wanted to see and would definetely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I, as well as our college-age daughter studying in Morocco, loved this riad. Andrea Courtney, her husband, and staff made us feel right at home. Very clean room and common areas with plenty of space for us and all our luggage. The interior decor was classic Moroccan. Wonderful breakfast, even if we slept in. Had our choice of eating on the roof top terrace or inside. Can't miss on either choice. The riad is located within walking distance of everything we wanted to visit. Finally, we can't thank Andrea enough for contacting us after we returned to the U.S. about her finding a lost item. Our son picked it up a month later while also staying at Riad Balkisse.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed in Riad Balkisse for a week in January. When we arrived, we were greeted by Abdel, the manager who is very friendly. Our room is a triple room on the first floor. The room is good size but lacking of light presumably to really experience the Moroccan way of life. Location is very good, just a stone throw from Rue Bab Agnaou which is as lively as Djemaa El Fna itself. Breakfast is plenty but after a week of the same, you'll be craving for a bit of change. The girls serving breakfast are excellent but due to lack of space, sometime you have to take turns having breakfast. One drawbacks is that the internet signal is not as strong in the rooms and while we were there, the free wifi was locked a couple of times that we have to ask for password/unlock. Apart from that, I have no other complaints.Overall, services are excellent and the location is marvellous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Abdel Idel... is the best!!!!
riad BALKISSE.... is a stunning place to stay in!!!!
the Riad was beauitfully presented, it was so very private, and Abdel always made us feel special. it was my 30th birthday and i had family and friends with me. we arrived late and was welcomed regardless of the time, Abdel ordered us food and presented the food to us and made us feel like ROYALTY!!! loved it. i have never been to a hotel/riad and felt like royatly!!! a birthday cake, belly dancer, live music, everything was organised by him at the local restaurant, it was an amazing night to remember... i couldnt have asked for a better night. oh how can i forget that he also organised hammans for us, henna painting for us, gave us girfts, and was just an awesome friendly person, a very good assesst to the riad.
the stay at the Riad was excellent, nothing bad to say... a clean, spacious, place. its a HOME ABROAD!

i would seriously recommend this place to stay if you are going out there for a stort stay to a long stay!!! and we (my friends and i) are making plans to go out there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is nearby the famous square! It's a beautiful riad in maroc style. On the terace you have a nice vieuw of Marrakech.
Abdel is very helpful and a nice guy. He can also explain a lot of the maroc culture. :)
We enjoyed the stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

we spent a great weekend in this Riad!! its location is perfect since it is in the city center where you find all interesting sites to visit. the rooms were clean, air conditionning and good service. all in all, i recommand this riad for those who want to have a great moroccan housing experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #776 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Balkisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.