We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic stay ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kheirredine

Save Saved
You added Riad Kheirredine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Kheirredine
44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most romantic stay ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a 4 night stay at this perfect and cosy riad in the Medina of Marrakech.
The riad itself is located about a 20 minute walk from Djemaa el Fna. At first you might think you will never find your way in this maze of narrow streets and big walls surrounding you, but no worries, the riad provides you with a phone. You can contact them whenever you need them or get lost.

Rooms are very tidy and romantic and with AC.

Staff is very friendly and helpful and will do whatever to make your stay pleasant.
Breakfast on the roof terrace is just lovely, and will forever be memorized. Food was wonderful and so were the views.
Soft drinks and tea and coffee are free and always served with a little snack.

I would recommend this riad to everyone, especially for young couples.

Room Tip: We had the room Verveine, very cosy and romantic, but also very cool in the mornings because the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    766
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
109
481
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We came to Marrakech for my wife's birthday on a long weekend break and we booked this Riad due to the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and were very glad we did. Yajaira, Elena, Ibrahim and Shoki (sorry if I've misspelt any names), all contributed in making our weekend fantastic. Our aim was to stay in somewhere "authentic" and what I mean by that is... not on the outside of the Medina in a 5* hotel such as a Sofitel or a Four Seasons (even though they are great chains), we wanted somewhere that would be really comfortable, clean, in the Medina and with a few lovely touches... well we found it.
I would say that it is by no stretch the most luxurious place we have stayed in around the world, but it is definitely one of the friendliest. A holiday for me is a bit about the place, a bit about the weather and a lot about the people, and the staff here are 5*
The Riad is located around 15-20 minutes’ walk from the main square. As is typical in Marrakech, it’s in a very small side street in a maze! Don’t worry; they give you a pre-programmed mobile that you can keep for the duration of your stay so that if you do get lost, just give them a call and someone (probably Shoki) will come and get you (I am proud to say their directions were so good I didn’t need to use it).
Our room was Eucalyptus and very nice it was too… 4 poster bed, walk in wardrobe and a sofa. We had a very pleasant meal on our first night, for a very reasonable €25 per head.. starters, main, dessert (too much in fact as portions were very generous). Breakfasts were also very good.
The rooftop terrace was lovely, it had full sun, shaded areas and a nice breeze that meant even at 30c you could lie out and relax and in the courtyard by the orange trees there was a plunge pool to cool off in.
Marrakech is a sensory overload, snake charmers, beggars, fortune tellers, and orange sellers… 4dh for a glass of freshly squeezed juice that reminds you as to how poor cartons of juice are at home (4dh is about 30p), salesmen at every door and some of the friendliest people…. You have to visit it!!!
The Riad is having an extension which will improve it even further. I never usually go back to the same place… I would here, say no more.

Room Tip: Our room was bigger than most (Eucalyptus)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a fabulous find, a beautiful Riad in the old city. We were made to feel so welcome from the time we arrived to the time we left. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Valentina, the hostess really ensured our stay was perfect. Breakfast on the roof terrace was fantastic and the additional supply of juice, coffee, pastries olives and nuts whenever needed made a huge difference after a long hot day out in the hectic medina. Loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review on our last of 3 days spent in Marrakech staying at the Riad Kheirredine. We (5 adults and 3 children) were met at the airport by two drivers organised by the Riad and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The arrival itself is an amazing experience as we were met from the taxis by a young lad pulling a trolley used to hold our luggage as we walked for 5 minutes round twisting tiny alleys and streets - this really added to the mystery. We were all amazed.

Once in the Riad we were speechless for the first 10-15 minutes. Greeted with beautiful mint tea for all of us as we sat and admired the beauty of the Riad. Yajaira spent a good amount of time with us going through the facilities, answering a few questions about Marrakech. The service is impeccable - nothing is too big or small. We ate at the Riad for the first night which I would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech for the first time. The food was lovely.

When we left the Riad for the first time we were taken part of the way to help us with directions and they gave us mobile telephones to enable us to call the Riad for any help (directions etc) or to enable us to ring each other in case the group got split up. We didn't overly use the phones but they did help on 1 or 2 occasions. The Riad made bookings for us for a Hammam and a restaurant during our stay, and when we used a taxi they walked us to the taxi stop and back again late at night.

Marrakech is a magical place but as with all new places there are things we were unsure about but the Riad do go out of the way to enable you to stay safe and have a great time and after a few hours of walking the hustling and bustling streets it is lovely to come back to the peace and quiet to relax.

If visiting Marrakech again I certainly would stay here and would recommend it to my friends etc.

Also the Riad organised a guide for us for the first day which I would fully recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I've just spent a few minutes sitting at the Riad trying to think of anything they could do to improve this lovely little place...but I can't.
When we booked 8 weeks ago the only room available for our three night stay was their smallest - Fleur D'Orange. Normally I would prefer a large room and had intended to book one of their bigger ones but the reviews and the pictures of the Riad looked so nice we thought we would take the cosy smaller room. I'm also quite antisocial on holiday so I was hesitant when I saw the room opened off the ground floor courtyard but I need not have worried. Each morning we walked out through (almost literally) two orange trees complete with oranges and privacy never felt like an issue at all. That room was small but it was beautifully decorated and really you should be spending your time out in Marrakech or in the calm of the courtyard or the different areas of the rooftop terrace which has views of the Mountains as well as the hotchpotch rooftop landscape of the Medina.
The unexpected but big big BIG plus of this hotel is the staff who are incredibly attentive and do absolutely everything can to help you enjoy your stay. Examples? 1-a Morrocan mobile phone to use during your stay with numbers for the Riad and various members of staff in case you get lost or need anything 2-a personal walk through the Medina and a guide to how to get back on day one but also a constant offer of someone to walk you to wherever you were going to take the stress out of it for you (we liked muddling around on our own but on one occasion hey told us it was best to "let Chouki show you" and they were right 3- restaurant tips and booking 4-hand squeezed orange juice amongst the drinks on offer, included in the room price, day or night. Everyone is friendly and helpful and goes out of their way to help you to enjoy your stay - we will be very sad to say goodbye to this place tomorrow.
A definite 5*/Excellent place.
An update: we left some clothes at the hotel and, as you would expect, the hotel dealt superbly with this, offering to deliver them to our next hotel (in a totally different part of town) and in the end one of the staff walking to a convenient point with he clothes to meet us. AND he refused to take a tip from us. This was almost two weeks after we checked out and the hotel was still looking after us.

Room Tip: The website is pretty accurate for the rooms but don't be out off this Riad if only a smaller ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A home away from home where the staff tend to your every need from great recommendations to reservations to sending an escort from the taxi point to/fro every outing. Valentina, the hostess really ensured the stay was highly personalised. Breakfast supplied on the roof terrace was also a highlight of our stay in addition to supply of juice, coffee and fruit -
Much needed after a day in the hectic medina. Great for couples and those who love to travel..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Riad Kheirredine is a lovely, romantic oasis within the frantic paced walls of the Medina. The building itself is getting a little 'tired' but the owners are extending and have managed to maintain an authentic and charming atmosphere while providing lovely furnishings/bedding etc to ensure guests are very comfortable. The food was delicious (favourite - lamb tagine and orange juice and soup etc etc). The absolutely outstanding level of care and attention that every member of staff gives you certainly makes this riad the number 1 place to stay as promised in all reviews we read before booking our room here. Delivered on our expectations and much more. Thank you for a lovely time. Martin and Karanne.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kheirredine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kheirredine

Address: 44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad can defined like a boutique hotel as we have a personalized service. All ours Rooms are equiped with phone, minibar, safetybox, hairdryer, insuite bathroom, hitter and air condioning. We have a multilanguages staff service 24 to 24 hours. In the restaurant we have a international and Moroccon cucine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Riad Kheirredine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kheirredine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kheirredine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.