We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kheirredine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kheirredine to your Saves list
Riad Kheirredine
44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As soon as you arrive by taxi you are collected by the welcoming staff from the riad and briskly taken through the many small streets around the medina to the riad’s front door where Valentina and Yajaira were ready to welcome you and wrap you in the leaf of the kheirredine as promised on the website!
We were escoted to the Eucalyptus room, the most beautiful room you can imagine full of eastern décor, comfy sofas and chairs, a good sized bathroom, a dressing room off the main room and a bed fit for a princess!
As we arrived mid evening we took valentinas advise and had our first meal of our holiday in the Riads restaurant, we were definitely not disappointed the meal was amazing from start to finish and the best tip was not to eat too much bread as the food came in abundance! After dinner we relaxed on the patio area with coffee and we were then presented with a cake as we were celebrating a birthday as well, a very nice touch!
Our first full day of shopping and site seeing was upon us so after a very filling breakfast of fruit, yogurt, pastries, pancakes, cheese and bread we were ready to head out with our complimentary mobile phone accompanied by Ismail the most friendliest gentleman you can imagine to meet, even after 4 days we were still known as ‘Madame’ Ismail would guide us to the centre of the Place Jemaa El Fna everyday sharing tips on the way and how to find the riad door on our returns, which I have to admit we only managed once in four days but there was always a smiling member of staff willing to collect us and show us the way!
We had many great experiences during our stay which included visiting a Hamam, the horse drawn carriage tour of the city which stopped at the Jardin Majorelle, a very relaxed place to visit, the every day hustle and bustle of the madina and suk, the spice shops in the Kasbah area, the tannery (not for the faint hearted as even with a bunch of mint the smell is very overwhelming) and the many tagines we tried the best being the lamb and apricot served at the cafe arabe roof terrace which also had lovely views of the sunset a fantastic atmosphere and great wine!
Overall a fantastic trip and experience mainly down to the most accommodating staff you are ever likely to meet, which makes the kheirredine riad in Marrakesh a must to visit! We will definitely return and look forward to seeing the people we would now call our friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
114
526
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. Yajaira and Valentina went out of their way to be helpful and offered lots of advice for our first stay in Marrakech. It was a very special place: in the Medina itself, but such a relaxing atmosphere once you entered the riad itself. Had breakfast served up on the roof terrace each morning and the staff were always around to offer us drinks as we arrived back after a day out and about. I would certainly recommend Riad Kheirredine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Perfect stay- location, cleanliness, price/value, and level of service. Book it now! (or read on for more details...)

Location- The Riad is close enough to the main souks and Jemaa el-Fnaa (the main square) to easily walk there and back during the day. However, it is far enough off the beaten path so you won't be bothered by street noise, mopeds, scooters and cars. Unbelievable how quiet it is here when the excitement of Marrakech is so close by.

Cleanliness- For us, this is always an important aspect when staying in a hotel, and the Riad Kheirredine had this well in hand. The room was beautifully done, clean bed, clean bathroom, clean common areas (the sitting area by the water feature on the ground floor, dining room, and rooftop terrace were all very clean and tidy throughout our stay).

Price/value- As you look at the top 10 or 20 lodging choices in Marrakech, you will see that the cost of the Riad Kheirredine is well below most of these. From the airport transfer (15 Euro each way) to the huge dinner at the Riad our first night (25 Euro per person) to the 135 Euro rate for the Ambre room- this total package was a phenomenal value. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace each morning was included and spectacular. Coffee, fruit, yogurt, juice, breads/pastries while looking out at the High Atlas mountains was fantastic. (You can opt to have breakfast anywhere in the Riad, if you like) Payment is also accepted in Euros/GB Pounds/US Dollars- which makes it a bit simpler for those of us coming from Europe or USA. But the real winner when talking about price/value is the level of service.

Level of Service- Riad Kheirredine really stood out in this department. The entire staff, but particularly Valentina and Ismael did a phenomenal job for us. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi and were met by Ismael, we knew we were in good hands. Once he escorted us to the Riad, Valentina sat down with us to get to know what we needed/wanted to do while in Marrakech and offered some suggestions. After we went to our room, Ismael escorted us from the Riad to Jemaa el-Fnaa, taking all the time we needed and pointing out key lanmdmarks to ensure that we would be able to find our way back. The Riad also provided a pre-programmed cell phone with key staff member phone numbers in case we got lost, needed restaurant suggestions, or anything else during our visit.

Additionally, the staff is very good at getting to know you and adjusting their service to what you require. My wife and I are pretty self-sufficient travellers, so we did not need a lot of help (although being shown the way to Jemaa el-Fnaa by Ismael was absolutely necessary!) and the staff stepped in only when required. Some of the other guests that we met required some extra services, help, guidance, etc, and the staff provided exactly what they needed.

Having travelled around the world, this was our best lodging experience ever. If we are fortunate enough to return to this great city, we will - without hesitation- book our stay at Riad Kheirredine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful riad, complimented by exceptional staff and service. The little things - like a complimentary mobile phone, walking escorts to the main square and the always attentive and polite staff make Riad Kheirredine stand out from the crowd. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

there are plenty of riads in Marrakech, inside the medina, with nice rooms and plenty of ambiance. but there is no other riad you need to consider if traveling to Marrakech. Riad Kheirredine is a gorgeous facility, from an architectural standpoint and a personality one as well. Firstly, Valentina and Yajaira, who help the owner, Martina, run the riad, are exceptional personalities. The two young ladies are full of life, charm, and a desire to ameliorate your stay to the max. Ismael, the friendly and strapping "man of the house", freely offers his time and consideration to guide you among the zig-zags of the medina. And he brings you wine and cheese at your behest should you desire. despite inviting him to join you, his professionalism forbids it.

have wine and cheese in your room, light a fire, and cozy up on a four-poster bed OR take the offerings on the riad's fantastic rooftop terrace, replete with sofas, chairs, tables, awnings, and a massive outdoor "bed" that is perfect for enjoying a late afternoon solar event.

and because the riad is somewhat off the beaten path from the souks, guests avoid the constant din of scooters and motorcycles that contaminates the pathways.

the Riad Kheirredine is THE riad in Marrakech. I enjoyed the city, but if my wife and i return, it will be because of this riad. stay no where else, or deep regret will ensue.

Room Tip: my wife and i stayed in the "Eucalyptus" room which over-exceeded my wife's expectatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A wonderful find, after struggling through passport control we were met by a taxi who took us to the meeting point for our Raid, they led us twisting and turning through the alleys we came to a door in the wall. We entered into a serene oasis. The staff are marvellous, so helpful, nothing is too much trouble, we discussed our plans with valentina who suggested some.brilliant alterations, so do tell her where you are thinking of eating etc as the local knowledge priceless. Rooms are fabulous, food delicious and service impeccable.

Room Tip: Three couples we had verviene,rose and eucalyptus all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful but it is the staff that make it so special. The staff go above and beyond to look after their guests. A special thanks to Abdul,Ismael and Ibrahim who accompanied us to the taxi rank / souks / hammam during day and night to avoid us getting lost in the labyrinth of tiny streets.Valentina and Yajira gave us great suggestions for dining and looked after all our reservations. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and were genuinely interested in how we got on each time we returned. The mobile phone they gave us during our stay was very useful and a great help. Breakfast on the roof each morning was a delight and also having a beer on the roof when we returned after our day was bliss in the month of February when it was miserable at home. Overall I would highly recommend this place, you will not be disappointed. You are staying in the medina in this riad so you need to pass through a labyrinth of tiny streets to get here. However this is all part of the experience and not to be feared. This is real Marrakesh and we loved it!

Room Tip: The euclyptus room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kheirredine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kheirredine

Address: 44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad can defined like a boutique hotel as we have a personalized service. All ours Rooms are equiped with phone, minibar, safetybox, hairdryer, insuite bathroom, hitter and air condioning. We have a multilanguages staff service 24 to 24 hours. In the restaurant we have a international and Moroccon cucine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kheirredine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kheirredine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kheirredine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.