We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding customer service and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kheirredine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kheirredine to your Saves list
Riad Kheirredine
44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“outstanding customer service and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this riad after reading the good reviews on trip advisor and the reviews are absolutely correct, this is a fantastic place to stay. The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them. This is a relaxing and welcoming riad that I would highly recommend. When we arrived, we had booked dinner which was a four course meal of delicious morroccon food, the breakfast is very good too. Tea,coffee, water, fruit and fresh juices are available to guests at any time. Valentina and her colleague arranged for us to visit a hamman that they use themselves and it was relaxing and reasonably priced. We stayed for two nights in the amber room which was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The mobile phone that was provided to us was very useful as we did get lost a couple of times! The location of this riad is only 10-15 mins walk away from the main square so I would say that it is very central but far enough to be in a quiet place, so it is ideal. Also the Marrakech museum and palaces are within easy walking distance or you can get a cab 5 mins walk from the riad, We didn't use the small plunge pool as it is not heated but I am sure that it would be very refreshing in summer! The price paid to stay in this fantastic l riad was definitely worth every penny and my only regret is that I would have liked to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly to check availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
114
526
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the TA reviews. When traveling by myself security is very I important to me. They give you a local cell phone and this came in very handy as my first night I was coming back through the medina and was sent the wrong way by a local. In all my travels I had never met so many locals who deliberately try to get you lost (they do this so that one of their friends can "help" you and you pay them money. This was tried a few times with me but by the end I knew the right way to get home. So back to the story, I called the Riad on the phone they gave me and they sent one of their young men to come and get me - they have this service available 24/7 - so worth it.

The Riad arranged for a pick up (and drop off) at Casablanca airport.

They met me at the taxi stand and took me through the medina to the Riad. Greeted me with tea and cookies. I was given the Rose room for my stay. Overlooks e courtyard and great room, but if the Riad is full sometimes you can hear people going past the room on the stairs.

I went to take a shower pun my arrival and the shower did not work. They had someone there to fix it within 30 minutes - such things happen and the response to fix the problem was immediate. Separate soap and shampoo but no hair conditioner - fortunately I had brought my own. The shower has no curtain so tended to end up with a wet floor. Bed was very comfortable!

I had forgotten to bring an adapter so they lent me one.

Breakfast was great - variety of food, and a lot of food.

Location is a long way from the square - 15 minute walk. Not a huge issue as I love to walk, but could get a little crazy late at night. Dinner in the square each night at the open markets was great - but the drumming up for the business was quite offensive at times.

This was my first trip to Africa, so not sure how much this is localized to Marrakech and how much is North African, but the pushiness and deceit in trying to deliberately get tourists lost in the Medina is not something I have encountered in my previous travels. I tend to explore and end up in places where locals tend to be very hopeful in getting me back on track. I met up with some others in Marrakech who had been to Fez and they had the same experiences in Marrakech but not Fez. So the policy of the Riad in providing a local phone and guides for the Medina is much appreciated - the others were somewhat jealous, but then again they were paying much less for their Riads.

So why four stars and not five stars? The location is a long way from the square and the Palais and other historical sites. Others stayed in Riads closer to the square and for much less (but remember I had the security of the cell phone). And the e-mail they sent after my stay asking me to provide a five rating was quite off-putting. I rely on TA postings to help guide me in my choice of accommodations, and am disappointed to think that people would provide a five rating because a place they enjoyed staying asked them to. To be honest, I delayed posting my review as wanted to ensure I was fair and honest.

I greatly enjoyed my stay. The hospitality was great - comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, great guides, local cell phones. The location is not so good, and if I were to return to Marrakech I would probably stay closer to the square for less money.

Room Tip: Rose room was nice, but beware there is no shower curtain so the floor floods after you use the show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We highly recommend this Riad. We stayed 4 nights and were treated so well by the entire staff who are willing to help with any problem guests may have. As we arrived Valentina provided us with important information and asked about any dietary wishes or problems. The Kheirredine is simply a little gem. It was a relaxing place to come back to after a full day of being tourists. The roof-top terrace is something everyone should take time to enjoy; the light in the morning can be very good for taking photos and one evening when we returned to the Riad we had tea on the terrace, relaxed and took in the night view of Marrakech. Magical!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent one night here and liked every detail. A special thanks to Valentina for her sweet service. It should be said that the pool is more decorative than useful, but who cares when everything else is so perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room, which was nice and quiet - but all rooms sem super nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Riad is everything that everyone raved about. The entire staff, most especially Yajahaira, Ysmael, Ibrahim and Valentina were especially accommodating in every request we had. Food was awesome especially with us being vegetarians - they served great dinner and good Italian wine and breakfast was also sumptuous. The room AMBRE was very very clean. The bed sheets smelled so fresh and clean and soft (which is very important to me) and best of all .. They had warm water in the shower. Wifi was reasonably good. They gave us Mobile phones to make sure we could contact them when needed and the location is truly right in the heart of the medina. If you are looking for real Moroccan experience - this is an awesome choice

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The kindness shown by all the staff in this Riad is an example to any hotel or Maison d'hôte. We were constantly cared for and our every need looked after. The rooms were beautiful (we were a group of 5 and had the Amber and Jasmine rooms - exquisite), food was wonderful and the service exemplary. But over and above this they actually cared how much we enjoyed Marrakech. Even helped us shop and get the best prices. Thank you Madame Marina (you cooked us such wonderful meals!), Valentina, Abdul, Ibrahim and all the staff of the Riad. We will be back as soon as possible!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this Rhiad in November and we were impressed by the extra touches like the cell phone and guides to escort you to the square/taxi stand/etc. They were really incredibly welcoming and friendly and had great suggestions for anything guests desired. We took several of their recommendations for dinner, hammam, and other outings, and all were great. Marrakesh can be a little overwhelming and it was great to know that if we got lost or ran into any trouble, we could contact the riad staff at any time to help us out. Sitting in the sun on the beautiful rooftop terrace with beers in hand was the perfect way to relax after exploring the souks and cool chaos of the medina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kheirredine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kheirredine

Address: 44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad can defined like a boutique hotel as we have a personalized service. All ours Rooms are equiped with phone, minibar, safetybox, hairdryer, insuite bathroom, hitter and air condioning. We have a multilanguages staff service 24 to 24 hours. In the restaurant we have a international and Moroccon cucine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kheirredine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kheirredine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kheirredine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.