We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect staff, perfect room, perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kheirredine

Save Saved
You added Riad Kheirredine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Kheirredine
44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Tampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect staff, perfect room, perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Staying at this place was a true pleasure. The staff (hi Valentina and Ismael!) excels at making their guests very welcome and comfortable in a crazy, crazy city. Guests are met at the entrance to the "neighborhood," a small square where the taxis can go no further. I highly recommend you arrange transport from station/airport through the hotel; it is more than worth the price. One of the staff and a cart-boy will take your luggage from the transport and escort you through the maze of passages to the Riad. By this point you are so freaked out by the ride from the airport or train station (driving is chaos x10) that the cool towels and mint tea given to you when you arrive are a nice touch.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with fruits, pastries and drinks provided. The rooftop terrace is a very peaceful place to lounge and have tea and snacks. Trust me, you will need this after a day in Marrakech. The breakfasts are amazing and quite big: pastries, yogurt, cheese, eggs, moroccan breads, fruits. Everything was done perfectly.

The staff - we dealt with Valentina and Ismael primarily - were genuinely concerned about our enjoyment and comfort. The Riad provides you with a cell phone to use, and they encourage you to use it if you get lost in the medina. Ismael or one of his colleagues will meet you in a jiffy and escort you back to the Riad. Ismael will also give you a quick primer on how to get from Riad to the main square (Jemaa el Fnaa) upon your arrival...you won't remember all the twists and turns but his escort through this part of the medina will make you feel slightly more comfortable about going it alone.

I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough. If I ever return to Marrakech I would stay there without hesitation.

Room Tip: We loved the Ambre room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
477
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just returned from Marrakech and the riad Kheirredine is fabulous. All the staff are helpful and kind and the attention you receive from them is wonderful. I have only positive things to say. All the other reports are true about the food and the service. I would recommend this place to anyone who was going to Marrakech. I think that it is the staff that make the stay enjoyable and the owner has done well to employ such attentive and kind people. Without them, it would lack charm and character. Ismael is getting married this year. His fiance has a lovely future husband! Valentina and Wafa are excellent front of house staff and Khaleid is fab. There is also another gentleman who i think maybe called Abdou who was always lovely and ran to find us late one night when we were lost! You wont be disappointed if you stay here and i have travelled to many cities and stayed in many hotels but would happily return here. The Riad is a haven of calm in a city of hustle and bustle and you can spend a very enjoyable few hours on the terrace with a book and a beer listening to the world around you. The trips organised by the hotel were great, particularly the half day quad biking which is well worth doing if you get chance. Restaurant suggestions are useful and the food in the Riad is as good as you would get anywhere else if not better. You need to let them know in the morning if you want dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Verveine room which was a good size on the top floor so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our criteria for selecting a hotel in Marrakech were some kind of traditional –oriental- environment, a bit of luxury and cleanliness. Riad Kheirredine more than satisfies all these spots and fully deserves the 5-star rating.
The place is a bit difficult to find without guide, but the Riad staff has this worked out quite well. Every guest gets a cell phone with all key staff phone numbers – great to feel safe and confident, although we actually never needed it. Any time we wanted, the staff was more than willing to show us around, guide us to the Djemaa el Fna or bring us wherever we wanted. Every wish we had, even those we might have had, only didn’t know about, were answered in a perfect way.
One evening our kids (7 & 8 yrs) were hungry and tired and going out was not the best option. Although the Riad does generally only serves breakfast, their staff offered to prepare some pasta. And what pasta that was …. made by Italians (who else) and those pasta were some of the best I ever had!
Last but not least, the greatest treat of the Riad is that they take service attitude seriously. They really try to fulfill every wish the guests might have … and they succeed in that; all the time I might add; impressive!

Room Tip: Jasmine Suite - excellent for family with small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I arrived on a Friday morning for a long weekend in Marrakesh. We were welcomed at the airport by a taxi driver arranged by the riad holding a sign with our family name who spoke both English and French. The driver during our trip to the Riad offered suggestions for places to visit during our stay and when we arrived at end of the pedestrian street he introduced us to Isamel. We were led by foot to the riad by Isamel through the narrow streets while our luggage was brought by a small cart.
Upon arrival at the Riad we received a very warm welcome from Marina, Wafa, Valentina, and Hakim then we seated in the lovely dining room to enjoy mint tea, local crepes with honey and butter, fruits salad, and pastries. We arrived quite early so they stowed our luggage and showed us to the lovely terrace where we took a nap in the sounds of the surrounding city. Riad Kheirredine is located in the Medina so you can hear the city heartbeat : the calls to prayer, children playing in the street, and small birds. The first afternoon we hired an 'official' guide at the suggestion of the riad who picked us up and took us on a stroll through the city. He was informative and provided explanations of the city's layout, culture and architecture. Beware as he does not in fact for the riad but is a self employed individual and took as to a herbalist where the door closed and we received a 45 pressure minute sales pitch.
Our room was decorated in a Moroccan theme with cut metals details but had lovely Italian touches such as the cashmere coverlet on the bed. There was one day I thought the shower was clogged but it is merely a button that was pressed down at the drain when the cleaning staff tidied our room. There was always bottle water in the room which is just the right amenity if you are walking in the sun for much of the day. We had dinner a the Riad the first night which was a Moroccan Pre-Fixe Menu which was superb. Our last night there my husband and I had a very long day and requested (last minute) if the riad could fix us something in the kitchen. If you are open to the suggestions of the kitchen you may be lucky enough that they will prepare you a wonderful meal and they spoiled us that evening with a fantastic Italian supper. We will never forget the kindness of the staff and the care they took to make our stay as comfortable as possible and hope to return soon

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Without the attentive Wafa and Valentina, the ever-helpful Khaleid and Abdou and the tour-de-force that is Ismael this riad would loose almost all its charm. They are the engine that will make your stay in Riad Kheirredine run smoothly and so much more enjoyable. There were numerous occasions when they went beyond the call of duty to help us out. A big thank you to all of them.

The riad has a very good system of providing the guests with local mobile phones during their stay so that you can call the riad anytime/anywhere if you're lost or need anything when wondering through the dizzing souk alleyways of the 'old town'...trust me...it's extremely easy to get lost. Once you call them, they'll be there in a matter of minutes (either by foot or by moped) to help you...now that's what I call service

There are better and more beautiful hotels and riads in Marrakesh, but for their price range I believe they are the best town.

Like:
- Service
- Comfy bed
- Warm / hot shower (particularly nice when it's cold outside in the morning)

Room for improvement:
- The rooms are quite dark at night. While this is off course very romantic, this does pose a problem when you want find something at night, etc
- Beware that the riad (as are most riads) is in the old part of town. This is the most picturesque part of Marrakesh, but also the most touristy. And as mentioned before, it is very easy to get lost in the old part of town.
- Also beware that the pool is not really a pool for swimming.

Tips on Marrakesh:
- Do some research into the differences between the old part of town and the new part of town. The experience is completely different (see below) and it is important to know when booking a hotel / riad. My suggestion would be to book a few days in a hotel in the new part of town as well as a few days in a riad in the old part of town so that you get to experience both sides of Marrakesh
- In the old part of town (Medina), while walking through the souk alleyways, ignore teenage boys pointing in the direction you're going and telling you: "it's closed". All they're after is your money. If you respond and seem lost, they will ask you where you're going and offer to take you there. When arrived, they will ask you money for this 'great' service they've provided you with. Luckily, Riad Kheirridine provides you with a local mobile phone, so that you don't have to rely on these 'helpful' teenagers
- Understand that apart from the people in your riad, no-one in the old town will help you for free and they'll always have an angle (they are the ultimate hustlers and they're proud of it). If a stranger speaks to you, know that it is because they want money even though it might not be apparent at first. They will always have an angle..."sure I'll show you the way, by the way did I tell you I own a travel agency?...Here's my card" or "sure I'll take you there, by the way did you already arrange your transport to the airport?...Here's my card". Always have a few spare coins in your pockets. You might need them to get things done, get directions, etc.
- Be careful when taking pictures. Always ask permission first. If you don't you'll get screamed at by an irate shopkeeper. Once asked permission, you'll probably have to pay money for the privilege of photographing
- The dining scene is quite limited in Marrakesh and overpriced (see my other reviews on tripadvisor). Most Moroccan restaurants offer the same types of dishes. The best restaurants we've tried were Riad Kniza, Restaurant du Red House and Maison MK. However, as mentioned before, they are overpriced for what they are.

Old town vs new town:
- The old town (or Medina) is by far more picturesque than the new part of town, with many landmark buildings situated in the Medina. This is a blessing and a curse, because on the one hand this offers great scenery, but unfortunately this is also the part of town where you'll get hassled by shopkeepers, guys on the street, etc. Don't get me wrong, Marrakesh is very safe! However, be prepared to bite through the bluff and posturing of some of these guys.
- It is easy to get lost in the alleyways of the old town
- The best hammams (Moroccan spas) are found in the old town
- The best riads are found in the old town
- The large modern hotels (with golf resorts, big pools etc) are found in the new part of town
- Modern shops are in the new part of town
- Some of the best restaurants and cocktail bars are in the new part of town
- No one will bother you in the new part of town. You can wonder freely without people 'offering' their help to you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Riad Kheirredine is a little hard to find with my horrible sense of direction, but it didn't make any difference at all as we were given a mobile phone to call for someone to pick us up wherever we were. This was very useful as we did get lost on every single attempt to get back to the riad on our own, but one phone call, and Ismail (with the most striking eyes!) was there within minutes to save us. Dinner prepared at the riad was excellent, I much preferred it to the dinner we had at a famous restaurant nearby. As mentioned by the other guests below, the facilities and roof top terrace was amazing, more than enough space for the number of guests the riad can accomodate. We even got a complimentary room upgrade!

A huge thank you to Valentina, Wafa, Ismail, and Khalid (I think that's his name!) for making our stay such a pleasant one and for going out of your way to help us with everything we needed, and special thanks to Ismail for taking one of us to the train station to buy tickets for the next leg of our trip! We will definitely come back to stay if we visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Upon our arrival in Marrakech, we were met by the riad staff to ensure our smooth arrival at the riad. The transport dropped us a short romantic walk to the guest house which was a wonderful start to our first time in Morocco. Our group of four occupied the Eucalyptus Suite and the Verveine room. The breakfast is quite good and the staff is dedicated to the guest's needs including doing our laundry at no additional charge. The first evening we chose to dine at the riad and the quantity and quality of food was worth the expense.

When our trip took an unexpected turn for two of us and we found ourselves back in Marrakech, we called up the riad who were able to accomodate us in the Ambre room at a discounted price. All of the rooms are very nice although the bathrooms are smaller.

Note: We paid 135 Euro/night for each of the rooms the first time and then 90 Euro/night on the 2nd trip plus taxes and dinner on tip of which we tipped 10% of the total bill.

Room Tip: The rooms look out over the public courtyard, so be mindful that if you wish to sleep with your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kheirredine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kheirredine

Address: 44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad can defined like a boutique hotel as we have a personalized service. All ours Rooms are equiped with phone, minibar, safetybox, hairdryer, insuite bathroom, hitter and air condioning. We have a multilanguages staff service 24 to 24 hours. In the restaurant we have a international and Moroccon cucine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Riad Kheirredine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kheirredine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kheirredine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.