We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique piece of paradise in the old Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kheirredine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kheirredine to your Saves list
Riad Kheirredine
44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique piece of paradise in the old Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

It would be too easy to warmly advise this piece of paradise in the heart of the old medina to couples of all ages traveling to marrakech or to a small group of friends. What makes the difference between a quality boutique hotels and a unique place is the treatment for a woman traveling on her own in a country. Every detail counts in the rooms, common spaces and above all in the service. Your beauty case can be reduced to your day & night cream, toothpaste, toothbrush and hairbrush. Nothing else as you will get addicted to the fabulous organic beauty products that you will find in the bathroom; to the point that you will ask where to buy the same products in Marrakech to bring them back home. The rooms are precious and you will feel as a princess. Especially if you indulge on the terrace laying in the sun, reading a book while enjoying a mint tea. Or if you decide to finish your day by a traditional hammam followed by a massage by experienced hands. As a foodie, I tend to be critical but this riad is also unique for the quality of the food served : do you find very often jam where the jelly part is very reduced in comparison to the quantity of  exquisite parts of real fruits ? Or where breakfast is tailored according to your specific tastes at your arrival ? If a dinner is organized during your stay, do not miss the opportunity to stay there even if you are a lonely traveller. I spent five days in this riad on my own and I am a frequent traveller. I recommend it with no reserves, especially to women. My future trip there will be planned with my mother but it could be also perfect with your partner or with some friends. In my opinion, the old medina is the best place to stay for discovering Marrakech. It is safe and enchanting. The area of the hotel chains has no soul and it is identical to a lot of places around the world.

If you The excursions are organized in a very personal way with competent guides. I had the opportunity to discover Marrakech with a history professor from Marrakech but speaking fluently French, English and my mother tongue Italian. Another positive note about the staff working there who is extremely attentive and reserved at the same time. I had the chance to discover is place thanks to trip advisor and that's why I want to leave my personal thank to all those travelers having left a message beforehand. I read a couple of negative messages but they are responding at all to the reality of the riad, I would then neglect them if I was you.
This place is unique and, as I had the occasion to discover in my travels, there is often a special woman behind a special place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
139
640
31
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We booked directly with the Raid and we stayed for 5 nights in the Rose room which was lovely and spacious. All the staff at the hotel where extremely helpful with everything from giving us directions to bringing us mint tea every time we returned from our daily travels. The hotel gives you a mobile phone in case you get lost and need help and they also offer to come and meet you to escort you back to the Raid if you require which is a excellent touch. ALL staff at the Raid are fantastic we would personally like to thank you Khalid who always welcomed us back with a friendly face every time and supplied us with endless cups of mint tea outstanding service.

I will be recommending you to any of my friends that are looking to visit Marrakech.

Danielle & Tom - UK

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Small, beautiful riad with friendly atmosphere and extremely helpful staff. The roof terrace is great, so are the rooms and the food. We loved staying here!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are pretty, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had booked this hotel based on the reviews here.
We were let down from the start as there was no driver to meet us at the airport as we had arranged and booked with the Riad.
We tried to telephone them using our mobiles but there was no answer, we then had to find a taxi to take us to Riad Keheirredine, we had no dirhams and the taxi said it was no problem to take us there for 30 euros.
We had no clue and paid him cash, only to find out we were overcharged.
The taxi driver obviously had no clue where to go, and after driving and asking people he dropped us which seemed in the middleof nowhere and pointed down a dark alley.
We took out our suitcases and were obvioulsy at a loss what to do.
We wondered around when some children approached us and offered to show us the way, bearing in mind we had a lot of luggage we had no choice, after being led down dark alleys, we eventually go to the riad.
The kids demanded money, again we had no dirhams and the man at the hotel suggested we gave them a euro hich we did, and then we were subject to a hail of abuse from the kids wanting more.
The hotel made no attempt to appologise for the non showing of the taxi and said we must have arrived late.
We were shown to our room, Sandal room Our first impressions were it was fine. A little dark to read, but overall fine.
We were glad we were given the mobile phone as an option the area is not nice, and it is difficult to navigate the souks and alleys.
Breakfast was good and filling but a little boring after the 3rd day.
Dinner we did not have there as it seemed very expensive compared to what we found ourselves in restaurants and the famous El Fnaa square.
we did not enjoy our stay there and I personally am surprised about all the rave reviews it gets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadkheirredine, Proprietario at Riad Kheirredine, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
This is a false notice from a person who has never been our customer: the Sandal room has not been occupied in October from an English guest.

We are sure that in that month we had no customers left alone at the airport. We have an employee instructed to call and call the shuttle service until that the customer knocks the door of the riad. There is a receptionist who answers the phone 24 hours 24: it is a lie that we did not answered the phone.

The place where the taxies stop is a large square well illuminated in front of a mosque and a school: it is a lie that the client has been downloaded in a dark alley. Every road surrounding the riad is illuminated.

We always take care about the problems and inconveniences of our guests during the stay, especially on the arrival because we understand that sometimes the impact with a different reality is not easy.

Our dinners cost 25 euros and provide five different Moroccan salads, briuates or chicken pastille, vegetarian couscous or harira soup, chicken- tajine with olives and lemon or lamb-tajine of with dry fruits, dessert. All homemade and prepared with the best fresh produits.

It is a very vague advise written by a person who has ever met us. Customer care and cleaning are our priorities: we have eleven workers who deal seven rooms to offer the best. The riad is led by an italian management that respects the best european standards in terms of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in Oct, just my daughter and I in the gorgeous Amber Room! What I found pleasant was service. The staff and management took great care and made sure you were taken care off.....even outside the Riad. Yes, we were given the mobile phone in case we got lost. Food was good, we were tired and had a superb, huge meal the first evening. A wonderful change from the typical hotels - Riad Kheirredine is intimate, cosy, very hands on with amazing staff. I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

If you are looking for an authentic Marrakech experience with the luxury of a 5 star boutique hotel then this is the place for you. As has been said many times previously the staff are excellent, attentive, courteous, welcoming and more. The food, we had breakfast and a large dinner party for 9 was also excellent and very good value for money. For me, the location (which has been referred to before), which I will agree is not the most salubrious actually adds to the experience. The fact that this hidden oasis is located through narrow alleys in a distinctly residential part of town heightens the surprise and delight when greeted by the warm friendly staff, evocative smells and beautifully appointed riad. I also must say that although the area is as described we (my wife and I) felt perfectly safe throughout, very young school children (there is a primary school nearby) happily walked home on their own and we were never hassled. Compared with the main square and other areas the locals pretty much leave you alone to get on with your business. That said if you ever need it, the staff in the Riad will happily escort you to a taxi point or even further afield if needed. I should also point out that if this Riad was picked up and placed in a swankier part of town you would be paying way more than the excellent value for money rates, which include a great breakfast and return taxi from the airport for stays over a certain number of days. Thanks to Karim, Marina (fantastic homemade tiramisu, Khalid, Abdou and others you all made our stay magical and we very much look forward to one day having the pleasure to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I moved from another Riad to stay 3 nights at the Riad Kheirredine. From the time we came over to view the Riad to the day we left, we had a great time. Service is important to them and it shows! Hakim and all the guys there truly make a difference you will experience if you visit them. Taking you to show you the way personally, walking you to and from restaurants to dinner, and the wonderful dinner we had at the Riad all made our stay great and positively impacted our impression of Marrakech. If/when you go, be sure to watch the sunsets from the roof while drinking mint tea or a glass of wine! As someone else said, this is an oasis of calm amidst the busyness of the city. Thanks to everyone for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kheirredine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kheirredine

Address: 44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad can defined like a boutique hotel as we have a personalized service. All ours Rooms are equiped with phone, minibar, safetybox, hairdryer, insuite bathroom, hitter and air condioning. We have a multilanguages staff service 24 to 24 hours. In the restaurant we have a international and Moroccon cucine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Kheirredine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kheirredine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kheirredine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.