We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truely wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kheirredine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kheirredine to your Saves list
Riad Kheirredine
44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Wallingford, UK
1 review
“A truely wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

If you are looking for an authentic Marrakech experience with the luxury of a 5 star boutique hotel then this is the place for you. As has been said many times previously the staff are excellent, attentive, courteous, welcoming and more. The food, we had breakfast and a large dinner party for 9 was also excellent and very good value for money. For me, the location (which has been referred to before), which I will agree is not the most salubrious actually adds to the experience. The fact that this hidden oasis is located through narrow alleys in a distinctly residential part of town heightens the surprise and delight when greeted by the warm friendly staff, evocative smells and beautifully appointed riad. I also must say that although the area is as described we (my wife and I) felt perfectly safe throughout, very young school children (there is a primary school nearby) happily walked home on their own and we were never hassled. Compared with the main square and other areas the locals pretty much leave you alone to get on with your business. That said if you ever need it, the staff in the Riad will happily escort you to a taxi point or even further afield if needed. I should also point out that if this Riad was picked up and placed in a swankier part of town you would be paying way more than the excellent value for money rates, which include a great breakfast and return taxi from the airport for stays over a certain number of days. Thanks to Karim, Marina (fantastic homemade tiramisu, Khalid, Abdou and others you all made our stay magical and we very much look forward to one day having the pleasure to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
115
528
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I moved from another Riad to stay 3 nights at the Riad Kheirredine. From the time we came over to view the Riad to the day we left, we had a great time. Service is important to them and it shows! Hakim and all the guys there truly make a difference you will experience if you visit them. Taking you to show you the way personally, walking you to and from restaurants to dinner, and the wonderful dinner we had at the Riad all made our stay great and positively impacted our impression of Marrakech. If/when you go, be sure to watch the sunsets from the roof while drinking mint tea or a glass of wine! As someone else said, this is an oasis of calm amidst the busyness of the city. Thanks to everyone for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My partner and I spent 3 very happy nights at the Riad Kheirredine from tues to fri this week and had the most wonderful experience there. The Riad lived up to and exceeded all my hopes and expectations from the website and reviews.
We were met by Hakim at upon our arrival and were made to feel like royalty throughout our time there. I had been to marrakech before and so was happy to be left explore under my on steam but the hotel had an ingenious scheme of guiding guests to key places within the medina and each bedroom was issued with a mobile phone from which they could ring the hotel for help if they got lost (which is pretty easy done in the souks!)
We ate at the hotel on out first evening and were treated to a 5 course extravaganza of beautiful morrocan cuisine and the most attentive service from Khalid, our waiter. Service in morroco is sometimes a bit 'abrupt' and so I would thoroughly recommend a dinner at the riad as it is the very opposite.
The rooftop terrace with its sounds of the medina, the calls to prayer and the views of the atlas mountains were like part of a magical fairy tale. Every detail in the hotel has been attended to and nothing is too much trouble, from mint tea on tap to a lesson in how one should peel a pomegranate!
The only recommendation I would make to those planning to stay is to take euros to pay for the hotel in cash. It's a nightmare getting cash in marrakech- you can't use debit or credit cards at the currency exchange at the airport and the ATMs are a bit variable in whether they will be a) working or b) accept your debit card! The hotel prefers payment in euros in cash, which was impossible for us to do as we could get euros from the banks there. Credit card payments at the hotel are possible but less convenient for the hotel and their chip and pin machine only works intermittently.
Otherwise this was a perfect trip to explore the magic of marrakech and my only complaint is that we had to come home at the end of it all. Thank you to all the staff there from Laura and Nick

Room Tip: We stayed in Verveine. It was simpy beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I rarely review hotels or restaurants online, but I feel particularly moved to recommend the Riad Kheirredine in Marrakech. Our honeymoon there was exceptional from start to finish, and really showed Moroccan hospitality at its best. Hakim, Francesco, Khalid and all the staff took care of our every need with a genuine smile, offering us outstanding service in the stunning surroundings of this traditional Moroccan riad. We stayed in two different rooms during our four nights there, and while the second (Verveine) was a gorgeous room at a higher rate, even the more modest room (Sandal) was charming and very comfortable. The roof terrace is the perfect spot to unwind after a day at the souks, and our hammam and massage in the small hotel spa was just what we needed after a long day of travel. This riad has everything a traveller could want in terms of comfort, beautiful design, and hospitality, but at honest prices and with a sincere friendliness and individual attention that simply can't be found in a large luxury hotel. Don't be put off by what other reviewers have said about the location--we were a little concerned after reading that it's far away from the action and hard to navigate to, but it's really very safe, and the hotel staff accompany the guests and show them the way the first time they venture out to the Djemma el Fna. Plus, the riad provides guests with a charged mobile phone so they can call for assistance if they get lost in the Medina (highly likely--no matter where you stay!). In the end, we were perfectly happy with the location. It is a really interesting 15-20 minute walk to the main square, and frankly, it was quite a relief not to be located right next to such a busy and touristy part of town. The location also has the advantage of being a 5 minute walk from the best restaurant we ate at in Marrakech (and perhaps anywhere)--the Dar Zellij. Do take restaurant tips from the riad staff--they know what they are talking about!
Overall, I cannot praise this riad highly enough. I look forward to returning there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Verveine is a glorious and romantic room (more expensive) but even the smaller, less expensive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel is a real gem! The beauty of a small hotel is the very personal service you experience and this was no exception. My partner and I had 3 nights here and would definately go back. From being greeted at the airport, taken through the winding alleys to the hotel, being walked up to the main square and being reassured that we could ring at anytime if we got lost is something I have only experienced a couple of times previously, always at family run establishments. The last thing we expected was a full breakfast upon arrival, but gratefully received after an early flight that morning. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Bottled water, fruit etc all freely available. The staff constantly check if anything is needed and appear to work 24 hours a day!! The meal we had at the Riad was exceptional and far too plentiful. You will definately not be hungry during your stay. The terraces are relaxing with a variety of day beds and sun loungers and not to be missed, the huge day bed on the top terrace....delightful!Hakim and Khalid are wonderful and only enhance the whole experience. Can't recommend this enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms and Rose was our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have just arrived home and before I have even unpacked I would like to tell others about my wonderful experience at this amazing Riad. Every aspect is spectacular and my utmost thanks go particularly to Marianne, Hakim and Khalid who are simply lovely and, after travelling extensively across the world, made our stay in Morocco one of the most memorable trips ever .

On our first night we were greeted by the staff as if we were visiting dignatories and by a dinner table sprinkled with rose petals. The meal was amazing and could have fed the pair of us for a couple of days! As others have mentioned they give all guests a mobile phone and make you feel comfortable to ask for anything you need or need to know about this crazy city. We had always planned to go to Essaouria for 2 nights but when the time came we felt like we were leaving friends behind! When we returned for our final night in Morocco they welcomed us back like we were family.

Their attention to detail is second to none-this can be seen in the decoration of the Riad and the personable service from the staff but it is also felt through the calm environment they have lovingly created which even goes as far as how beautiful the whole Riad smells!

I was excited about going to Morocco but because of this Riad and it's wonderful staff it more than exceeded my expectations. I could not recommend a stay here highly enough. Whilst there is plenty more to say you must go and experience it for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I had 3 nights in October in that riad. We were very impressed when arriving first at this Riad from the medina with its small and chaotic paths. It appears as if you would enter a different world. Excellent service, pure luxury, combined with a tastful interior. The terraces are gorgeous.

Staff was very friendly and cared about us. The transfer from/to the airport is highly recommended as we never would have been able to find the location. Hotel staff also showed us first the way to the big place. Even then it was a challenge to find back later that day. Thus, it was good to have a mobile from the Riad, although we actually didn't use it.

If you enjoy luxury in a small hotel inmidst the medina, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kheirredine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kheirredine

Address: 44 Derb Chourafa | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad can defined like a boutique hotel as we have a personalized service. All ours Rooms are equiped with phone, minibar, safetybox, hairdryer, insuite bathroom, hitter and air condioning. We have a multilanguages staff service 24 to 24 hours. In the restaurant we have a international and Moroccon cucine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kheirredine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kheirredine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kheirredine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.