We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal - amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 556 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $70 - $70
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal - amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Fantastic meal and service. Started with canapé and drinks on the candle-lit rooftop terrace, under the stars and overlooking the labyrinthine alleyways of Marrakech old town. Then we were taken down to the restaurant for dinner - we chose a table by the hotel's dip-pool (together with the resident giant rubber duck in the pool) and lovely fireplace. The decoration of the hotel is definitely eclectic and somewhat surreal (there is a giant camel head with cigarette in its mouth in the smoking room), but we loved it.

The food was delicious - we had the five course taster menu (big fan of taster menus) - and the service relaxed, but attentive. In fact, the whole meal and ambience was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    107
    45
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was a lovely tranquil oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of marrakech. The canapes were served on the roof in a beautiful setting before we sat down to an amazing 5 course meal. The service was just right and the food was incredible. Would definately recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and location - divine is the descriptor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We managed to make a late reservation with their staff in London after finding this restaurant on TripAdvisor. All of our contact with the staff was fantastic and very professional.

The location of this restaurant is tucked away in a small alleyway off of the Jemma el Fnaa. Once inside you are transported to an area of luxury. The outdoor seating area is comfortable and magical with a view over the Medina.

The service was excellent from all of the staff that we encountered during the evening. With only seating for a limited number of people, you really do feel as if you are special.

The food was excellently displayed and tasted as good as it looked. The chef was able to cater for a vegetarian without problems. The five course menu with canapes kept getting better and better with each course. It was a very nice touch to have the chef come out and talk to the diners at the end of the meal. He was genuinely interested in our comments.

A great dining experience in any city, not just in Marrakech. A fantastic meal, atmosphere and location...a must visit if you enjoy good dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellence on every level.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Visited Marrakesh in October and had seen good reviews for this place, we were not disappointed.
From the moment you eventually walk through the door (easy to find once you know where it is!), you appreciate the owner and staff alike are proud of what they have created.
It is this pride and attention to detail which defines an excellent restaurant from the rest.
It was said about La Gavroche "It is not just food, it is theatre!", the same applies to MK.
Sitting on the roof terrace with an ice cold drink as the sun goes down, you could be a million miles away from the hustle of the town, only the calls to prayer remind you that you are in fact in the middle of it all.
The food couldn't be faulted and the service was always attentive.
As it was our wedding anniversary, we were sat in the corner booth which was very pleasent (even if one of the pictures on the wall was reminiscient of a horror movie poster!)
All in all a very enjoyable experience,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was a bit hesitant to experience a "tasting menu" in Marrakesh, but wasn't disappointed. Each of the 5 courses were a sublime mix of traditional Moroccan with western cooking techniques and presentation. The staff were very friendly, great for a romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.