We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch bag let down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $74 - $74
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lunch bag let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Perhaps our expectations were too high...we tried to get into the cooking class, but they take reservations from the riad first up until 2 days before the class. However, the hostess made every effort to book us for dinner at the last minute when we called (I noted that the restaurant wasn't full that night). I believe they only seat 12 tables/night. The décor is elegant and beautiful. We sat on a bench molded out of the wall - very clever; however, my husband kept slipping down on his cushion and looked very uncomfortable throughout the meal. The service was professional. The food was creative, but small quantities and decidedly underwhelming - particularly for the cost. Extremely expensive! This one dinner cost more than our day long excursion for two including lunch and a camel ride! We had many more wonderful, flavourful meals at lesser known (and much cheaper) restaurants. I would not recommend the experience given the cost and the abundance of wonderfully prepared food in and around Marrakech.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Pshn4life – thanks for taking the time to review gastro mk – as I have said many times, we ask everybody for their feedback – it’s vital so that we can continue to learn & improve.

One quick point to make is that you are not quite correct about the timing of reservations for the cooking class. It is true that we offer priority to our in-house guests, as I would think everybody would agree is the correct way to do it, but we open up the cooking courses 2 weeks (not 2 days) ahead to external guests. There is tremendous demand for our private cooking courses so we do need to allocate them as fairly as we can.

For gastro mk, the evening restaurant, we do always try to balance spaces for our internal maison mk residents with external guests – but generally we will be taking bookings for external guests right up until the same afternoon (people change their plans a lot in Marrakech so places are often coming & going !)

I am sorry that your husband’s cushion was slipping – it is the first time that we have ever come across this (and the very next day we have rectified it from happening again by attaching a piece of non-slip fabric under the cushions so thank-you for that – unusual but hopefully it wont ever happen again).

Happily you found the food creative and service professional. Concerning the quantities, we have continually monitored what people think about the sizes of the various courses – some comment that they find it too much, but it might depend on the people and the timing for them too. Because there are 5 courses plus canapés, we have to careful that the quantities are balanced from course to course and that, by the end of the meal, clients feel full but not over-full. The same goes for the timings of the meal – we tweak it constantly to find a lovely balance so that it is neither too rushed nor too long. Almost all of the feedback suggests that we have a good balance of food quantities & of timing, but of course we understand that it will not suit absolutely everybody all of the time, sadly, & I am sorry that you feel there was not enough food for you. If we had known at the time I’m sure we would have done something about it! We are very aware that in Marrakech the Moroccan traditional restaurants offering 5 course Moroccan meals are providing huge quantities of food, but we have always been offering a much more creative, sophisticated, and high-quality meal to our clients & they usually prefer that approach.

The wonderful thing about Marrakech is that you have hotels from 5 euros to well over 1000 euros, meals from 5 euros to 1000 euros, and trips from 50 euros to 1000 euros. Generally you get what you pay for in Marrakech, and we have never set out to be cheap – we use the best ingredients, top chefs, a beautiful riad, and huge attention to detail & high levels of customer service. We take care & take the time to listen to all client comments. So we never wanted to be cheap, but we do want to be good value – a consistently luxury & sophisticated evening out in Marrakech at a fair price.

Regards
Paul (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    715
    100
    42
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“relaxing marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The best meal we had in Marrakech!
The food was faultless and the staff were lovely.
Our hotel had forgotten our booking request to eat at gastro mk, but the owner; Aoibheann, could not have been more helpful in making a booking at the restaurant for us even though we were not staying at their hotel, and had given very little notice!!
The roof terrace was lovely and we have happily recommended maison mk to our friends who will be visiting Marrakesh this month.

we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Four of us had dinner at GastroMK, we were really looking forward to it .... Drinks on the roof with canapés which were one small piece of goats cheese on toast, a puff pastry and an olive tart, unremarkable. The best of our five course meal was the last course an apple tarte tatin.... the waiters were pleasant but we were left disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Deborah – thanks for reviewing gastro mk but I am slightly confused about the comments & rating. You came to us on the 31st October and when we have a small feedback form at the end of the meal, your table rated us Food – Excellent, Service – Excellent, Recommend Us ? – Yes, Overall – Excellent. So perhaps the person filling in those comments and the person submitting the review to tripadvisor had a different take on the evening ?

You have not given me a lot of detail to go on, so responding in a detailed way is a little tricky ! I agree on the 3 canapes you mention, and action has been taken on that one. I am glad that you liked the waiters & the special tagine apple tatin. Hopefully the rest of the meal was exactly as we describe in advance to you (as you know we send out emails with the menu, the pricing, directions, payment methods, timings, queries about allergies, etc, etc, etc and the sample meal sent to you was actually the very one you got that night). So, I am very sorry that you say on Tripadvisor you were disappointed – but we aren’t sure when the disappointment began given your excellent feedback just before you left us that evening.

Regards,
Paul (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went here on our first night in Marrakech, had read the reviews and seen the website so expected a lot.

Unfortunately, due to the usual mayhem at the airport we were slightly late, missing the canapés on the roof, the owner of our riad called ahead for us and they were ready, expecting our slightly late arrival- we were quickly seated in an amazing private dining room, after being given a choice of tables, including by the pool. From then on, the service was fantastic, genuine and made us really feel relaxed.

The food was very good- not Michelin level and I think that possibly some earlier reviews got carried away by the setting! 6 days later I am struggling to remember the 5 courses (as is my Mrs) and usually after an incredible meal I can detail every component to anyone who asks for months!

Also, it is probably one of the most expensive places to dine in Marrakech, so make sure you are hungry!

In summary, definitely try and get to Maison MK, the service and setting were genuinely great, the food is worth visiting for, but just don't expect miracles on a plate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh what a night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Due a mix up with times (the pilot gave us the wrong time on landing in Marrakesh), we were 20 minutes late for our booking. However, this didn't ruin our Gastro MK experience.

Although it seemed a little rushed at first, as we caught up with canapes as part of our 5 course taster menu, this didn't distract from the delicious menu.

Beautiful, contemporary surroundings. A good selection of food, well prepared and presented. I'd read up on the restaurant beforehand and wasn't expecting traditional Moroccan cuisine or something to rival the UK's finest, but this was an excellent choice and we weren't disappointed.

The chef took the time to come and speak with us after the meal to hear our thoughts on the meal and we felt this was a very nice touch, even though he may do so with all guests.

Waiting staff were plentiful and very attentive, allowing us to venture up onto the roof terrace after our meal as we'd missed the opportunity beforehand. All our drinks etc. were brought up to us and we were allowed to relax and enjoy the space way past the time usually alloted to non-residents.

A fabulous evening was enjoyed which gave us a great insight into what it would be like to stay at this beautiful establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.