We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 554 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $70 - $70
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Cotswolds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Four of us had dinner at GastroMK, we were really looking forward to it .... Drinks on the roof with canapés which were one small piece of goats cheese on toast, a puff pastry and an olive tart, unremarkable. The best of our five course meal was the last course an apple tarte tatin.... the waiters were pleasant but we were left disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Deborah – thanks for reviewing gastro mk but I am slightly confused about the comments & rating. You came to us on the 31st October and when we have a small feedback form at the end of the meal, your table rated us Food – Excellent, Service – Excellent, Recommend Us ? – Yes, Overall – Excellent. So perhaps the person filling in those comments and the person submitting the review to tripadvisor had a different take on the evening ?

You have not given me a lot of detail to go on, so responding in a detailed way is a little tricky ! I agree on the 3 canapes you mention, and action has been taken on that one. I am glad that you liked the waiters & the special tagine apple tatin. Hopefully the rest of the meal was exactly as we describe in advance to you (as you know we send out emails with the menu, the pricing, directions, payment methods, timings, queries about allergies, etc, etc, etc and the sample meal sent to you was actually the very one you got that night). So, I am very sorry that you say on Tripadvisor you were disappointed – but we aren’t sure when the disappointment began given your excellent feedback just before you left us that evening.

Regards,
Paul (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    102
    45
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went here on our first night in Marrakech, had read the reviews and seen the website so expected a lot.

Unfortunately, due to the usual mayhem at the airport we were slightly late, missing the canapés on the roof, the owner of our riad called ahead for us and they were ready, expecting our slightly late arrival- we were quickly seated in an amazing private dining room, after being given a choice of tables, including by the pool. From then on, the service was fantastic, genuine and made us really feel relaxed.

The food was very good- not Michelin level and I think that possibly some earlier reviews got carried away by the setting! 6 days later I am struggling to remember the 5 courses (as is my Mrs) and usually after an incredible meal I can detail every component to anyone who asks for months!

Also, it is probably one of the most expensive places to dine in Marrakech, so make sure you are hungry!

In summary, definitely try and get to Maison MK, the service and setting were genuinely great, the food is worth visiting for, but just don't expect miracles on a plate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh what a night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Due a mix up with times (the pilot gave us the wrong time on landing in Marrakesh), we were 20 minutes late for our booking. However, this didn't ruin our Gastro MK experience.

Although it seemed a little rushed at first, as we caught up with canapes as part of our 5 course taster menu, this didn't distract from the delicious menu.

Beautiful, contemporary surroundings. A good selection of food, well prepared and presented. I'd read up on the restaurant beforehand and wasn't expecting traditional Moroccan cuisine or something to rival the UK's finest, but this was an excellent choice and we weren't disappointed.

The chef took the time to come and speak with us after the meal to hear our thoughts on the meal and we felt this was a very nice touch, even though he may do so with all guests.

Waiting staff were plentiful and very attentive, allowing us to venture up onto the roof terrace after our meal as we'd missed the opportunity beforehand. All our drinks etc. were brought up to us and we were allowed to relax and enjoy the space way past the time usually alloted to non-residents.

A fabulous evening was enjoyed which gave us a great insight into what it would be like to stay at this beautiful establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“felt like being on a conveyor belt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

we just spent 4 days in marrakech and we decided to have a meal at Gastro MK for our last night's meal to celebrate our anniversary.
i regret to say that i was a little disappointed.
The food was delicious but it was completely lacking in any atmosphere.
(the previous night we ate at stall No 14 in the main square and our whole meal including drinks came to 65 dirhams, £5! and the atmosphere was like nothing i had experienced. very memorable)
the problem with Gastro MK is that they are just trying that bit too hard.
Our meal was £75 per head including 5 courses, wine and pre-dinner drink.
All diners were shepherded downstairs from the roof terrace at 8pm and we were told that the meal would take exactly 2hr 15mins. not 2hrs 10mins and not 2hrs 20mins!
Everyone's food came out together, one table at a time. by the third course it was a source of much amusement as the waiters explained to each diner what they were eating, table after table.
I joked to my wife that we will probably be picked up by a metal grabbing device that descends from the ceiling at the end of the meal and get deposited out onto the street, exactly 2hrs 15mins after starting eating.
If money is no object then give this place a go but if you want value for money and a friendly buzz then there are plenty of better places in Marrakech

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Schmall1. Thanks for the review, which did make me smile (not the 3 stars part !). I am sorry that you didn’t feel that the evening was suitable for you. Many people come to gastro mk precisely for the atmosphere and for the quality of the meal. Your situation is very typical where clients are staying in bigger hotels (often outside of the ancient medina) and they come to us for a special meal – birthdays, proposals, anniversaries, etc - while they are in Marrakech. Usually they love the romantic, sophisticated atmosphere of the riad, so I am sorry that you were not ‘feeling’ it !

It is hard to comment on the price differential between the market stall in the square and the price of a 5 course sophisticated tasting menu at a top restaurant – totally different situations and we encourage our own very foodie guests to experience both and they love it. The riad next door to us is 5 euros per night, ours is 300 & 400 euros per night – but both can be good value, it just depends what you look for in a room, or in a meal.

You mention that you are ‘shepherded downstairs’ so I am guessing that you were already finding that you were not in the mood before the meal even started. As you know, when you arrive we give you a little tour of the riad (most people love to ‘nosey’ around other places so if all our rooms are not filled then people usually like to see one as its so different to even other riads in the medina) and then bring you up to the lovely candlelit roof terrace for canapés and drinks. Dinner service starts around 8pm so the waiters will bring each couple, individually, down to the dining room (carrying their drinks for them) and show them to their preferred table (however, if a few tables are already talking together then they might come together.) We couldn’t cope with everyone coming together nor do we want to do it that way. I am sorry that you felt shepherded – I am not sure how we could change the process to show you to your table (but please feel free to get in touch with any ideas that you have).

When the waiter says it takes 2 hours 15 minutes, its because we do know roughly how long the service takes. We have spent a lot of time over the past 3 years and 9000 meals to find a pace of meal that suits 95% of people. We know that all couples are different, but between 2 hours and 2 ½ hours tends to be about right. However, please remember that, while our staff speak great English, they are Moroccan & speak Arabic first, and French second, and English third. So, in England, a waiter would say ‘the meal typically takes about two, or two and a quarter hours, approximately, just so that you know’, perhaps a little is just lost in the sophisticated translation when the waiter said it would take ‘two and a quarter hours’. We also have various guests that are getting shuttle busses back to their hotels, or want to book taxis in advance, so we do find that guests generally like to know roughly what time they will be finished. Most people really appreciate that we can do that.

We do serve a set 5 course tasting menu, and we have a maximum of 14 guests for dinner so there is bound to be some repetition of what dishes are being presented. But each table is an individual setting and it is important that every table has each dish explained & it is a time that many guests use to ask more questions from the waiters about the food. It is also why Omar, the head chef comes out to every table every night to ask how the food was & to answer many questions – people generally like to have this individual service, even if it is repetitive, that he comes to every table.

I am a little sorry for the waiters that the guests were laughing at them - you have no idea how much our staff want to please so very much – I was pleased actually to see that it didn’t put them off! Sounds like an unusual night but I’m glad you could find some solace in it by amusing the other tables who were also so lovely to have fun with you too. We do hope to create a nicely informal atmosphere and we do like our guests to chat to each other.

We do want each and every guest to have a great time, so please accept my apologies that you found that the atmosphere was not good for you on that evening. But, on the bright side, I am glad that you found the food delicious, and I hope you had a lovely holiday in Marrakech overall.

Regards
Paul (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but not worth premium price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Food was ok but main course which was duck was very heavy and we expected much better quality for the money. Place is very small and we were sat next to four very loud people who talked about money and sex conquests all night which ruined our evening . Whilst we know the restaurant cannot control who frequents them we would expect them to intervene and ask people to respect all the other clients who were clearly uncomfortable with this party .There were plenty of tables empty so not sure why we were placed where we were . A lot of money for a romantic evening that unfortunately didn't happen . We wouldn't recommend . Go for mid range Moroccan and spend the same money for amazing cuisine once back in the uk .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Critical_TravellerUK (slightly worried about the name already !). Thanks for the review about gastro mk – it looks like you didn’t have a particularly enjoyable time in Marrakech giving your hotel only 2 stars & the only other review was us with 3 stars. (although your average review throughout the world is only 3 stars so perhaps we did ok !!)

I am glad however that you generally found us good & that you liked most of the food. Sorry that the duck was not to your taste, most clients like that main course a lot, so its unusual to see it described as heavy.

Yes we are a small restaurant – just 14 places each evening spread between a dining room, a private dining room, and 2 poolside tables. I am very sorry that the table of 4 (and their sex conquest discussion) spoiled your evening – if you had mentioned it to the waiter I am sure he would have had a word with them to keep the noise down a little. Otherwise he could have moved you , people do ask and we are happy to oblige if there is a table . Sadly tables are left free like that when we have a no-show or a last minute cancellation and whilst we take a waitlist it’s often too late to fill the table.

As you can imagine, just like in any restaurant, it is important to find a balance between letting people enjoy themselves but also having guests respect the other guests. This is why we tend to have a maximum group size of 4 or 5 people at gastro mk because tables of 6 can easily get noisy & take over the room. We take an inordinate amount of care at the booking stage, and also on the evening, to set the room accordingly but no-shows sometimes just throw another spanner in the works! It is unusual to have a noisy table of four & I am sorry that it ruined your evening. In future, and a note to all other readers, if there are any problems or requests or changes, please just mention it to the waiter & let him sort it out for you.

Regards,
Paul (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.