We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 534 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $73 - $73
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Knokke-Heist
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After having read the positive comments on tripadvisor, we made a reservation to go to this restaurant. Arriving at this riad (and restaurant) we were welcomed and taken up to the roof where they serve you some apetizers and drinks. It was a real nice place to sit in the evening as you can oversee the souks from there. The food was, allthough a bit expensive, of very good quality and sometimes presented in an inspiring way. You should also try some of the more 'local' restaurants where you can have a whole supper for no more than 100 dirham per person. We did and we enjoyed it, but Maison MK plays in another 'division' and definitively was the best restaurant we visited during our stay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    715
    100
    42
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a superb meal as good as any London restaurant but at 680 MAD a third of the price, service impeccable, menu a great combination of taste in really beautiful surroundings. Be sure to reserve a table well in advance and get there on time for canapés on the terrace at 7.30. Not a difficult Riad to find just a couple of minutes from the square.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A must go to in Marrakech - always outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We came here for the 2nd time in July 2013 - having enjoyed a superb experience last September. Everything from the setting, to the service, to the amazing food is first class. I booked MK for my wife's 30th birthday, and the restaurant took the time unprompted to look up our previous booking from last year to establish her name, and used this on the complimentary birthday cake at the end of the evening! All of the 6 courses were fantastic and perfectly balanced, while the restaurant setting itself is spectacular. At some point we need to stay in one of the rooms - they also look first class. A must go to if in Marrakech!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely brilliant experience from start to finish. You can hardly believe it when you leave the street outside and step inside an absolute oasis. The food was beautiful, every single course and we loved drinking the mint tea in the smoking room afterwards. We didn't want to leave and will look to return and stay there next time.

Sitting on the roof terrace with a pre-dinner drink, hearing the call to prayer from the surrounding mosques will be something that stays with us for a long time.

I would highly recommend this place, particularly for a romantic meal for two.

The location isn't TOO bad to find, just follow the directions on MK's website. We decided not to go through the souks to get there and went the other way that the website suggests and that's by far the better way. When you get 'guides' coming up and asking if you want directions to MK, you know you must be close anyway.

Can't wait to return!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience - one not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our cab driver left us outside the arch to the medina without clear instructions on where to go. 8 women in high heels trotting on cobbled stones looking for a resturant must have looked a sight and hence the reason for the crowds of people that suddenly surrounded us. Thoughts did run through our mind on what we had let ourselves into. Once we found the resturant and stepped through the door we were taken up to the terrace...a whole cloud just lifted. This was the best experience while in Marrakech, food was fabulous and the resturant and service was amazing. We were celebrating the special birthday of 2 friends and the night was perfect from the time we entered the restaurant to the time we left. Food was presented very well and exceptional for the price.
We were looked after very well and there was no pressure for us to leave straight after the meal so we sat on the roof terrace. I picked this restuarant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and I would thoroughly recommend that you visit this restuarant on your trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.