We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely brilliant experience from start to finish. You can hardly believe it when you leave the street outside and step inside an absolute oasis. The food was beautiful, every single course and we loved drinking the mint tea in the smoking room afterwards. We didn't want to leave and will look to return and stay there next time.

Sitting on the roof terrace with a pre-dinner drink, hearing the call to prayer from the surrounding mosques will be something that stays with us for a long time.

I would highly recommend this place, particularly for a romantic meal for two.

The location isn't TOO bad to find, just follow the directions on MK's website. We decided not to go through the souks to get there and went the other way that the website suggests and that's by far the better way. When you get 'guides' coming up and asking if you want directions to MK, you know you must be close anyway.

Can't wait to return!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    140
    57
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience - one not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our cab driver left us outside the arch to the medina without clear instructions on where to go. 8 women in high heels trotting on cobbled stones looking for a resturant must have looked a sight and hence the reason for the crowds of people that suddenly surrounded us. Thoughts did run through our mind on what we had let ourselves into. Once we found the resturant and stepped through the door we were taken up to the terrace...a whole cloud just lifted. This was the best experience while in Marrakech, food was fabulous and the resturant and service was amazing. We were celebrating the special birthday of 2 friends and the night was perfect from the time we entered the restaurant to the time we left. Food was presented very well and exceptional for the price.
We were looked after very well and there was no pressure for us to leave straight after the meal so we sat on the roof terrace. I picked this restuarant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and I would thoroughly recommend that you visit this restuarant on your trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very romantic and gourmet meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

While staying at La Maison Arabe, we asked the concierge to book us for dinner at Gastro MK. He said to go at 8:30 but it was 8:00 so we booked for the next night. We were told we could come at 7:30ish for drinks on their rooftop. The concierge sent us with an " escort " to walk us to Maison MK!!
It was a 5-8 min. walk. The riad was so beautiful, traditional and contemporary at the same time. Beautiful rooftop bar! After drinks and starters, we were escorted down to the dining area which was very romantic around a tiny pool with a fireplace. Then we understood that they serve all the guests at 8:30, one seating for the night.
As was our experience in Morocco, the service was very friendly and attentive. We were really wowed with the food, did not expect such gastronomy here! Everything we had was delicious. Moroccan ingredients with a modern technique, like a "de-constructed" pastilla, and the tarte Tatin was incredible. Even though we're not much for desserts, we ate it all!!.
Chef Omar ( I hope I remembered his name correctly) came to do the rounds at the end of the meal and was very friendly to everyone. It was the highlite of our meals in Morocco. Unforgettable!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb - you must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Best restaurant in Marrakech without a doubt - wonderful Moroccan food, amazingly presented in a beautiful building.

Good value for the price you pay, very attentive staff who looked after us superbly. Vegetarian options were provided without any trouble, as was a fan to cool down Europeans not used to the heat! Pre- and post-dinner drinks on roof terrace were lovely as well.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marrekech is an experience that should be experienced by all mankind. MK is a small part of that exceptional, hedonistic journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stunning experience that could have been enhanced if dinner was served on the roof terrace. Exemplorary in every other way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.