We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic and gourmet meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $68 - $68
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very romantic and gourmet meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

While staying at La Maison Arabe, we asked the concierge to book us for dinner at Gastro MK. He said to go at 8:30 but it was 8:00 so we booked for the next night. We were told we could come at 7:30ish for drinks on their rooftop. The concierge sent us with an " escort " to walk us to Maison MK!!
It was a 5-8 min. walk. The riad was so beautiful, traditional and contemporary at the same time. Beautiful rooftop bar! After drinks and starters, we were escorted down to the dining area which was very romantic around a tiny pool with a fireplace. Then we understood that they serve all the guests at 8:30, one seating for the night.
As was our experience in Morocco, the service was very friendly and attentive. We were really wowed with the food, did not expect such gastronomy here! Everything we had was delicious. Moroccan ingredients with a modern technique, like a "de-constructed" pastilla, and the tarte Tatin was incredible. Even though we're not much for desserts, we ate it all!!.
Chef Omar ( I hope I remembered his name correctly) came to do the rounds at the end of the meal and was very friendly to everyone. It was the highlite of our meals in Morocco. Unforgettable!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    110
    45
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb - you must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Best restaurant in Marrakech without a doubt - wonderful Moroccan food, amazingly presented in a beautiful building.

Good value for the price you pay, very attentive staff who looked after us superbly. Vegetarian options were provided without any trouble, as was a fan to cool down Europeans not used to the heat! Pre- and post-dinner drinks on roof terrace were lovely as well.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Marrekech is an experience that should be experienced by all mankind. MK is a small part of that exceptional, hedonistic journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stunning experience that could have been enhanced if dinner was served on the roof terrace. Exemplorary in every other way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had dinner but the hotel itself was beautiful! I would have liked the opportunity to stay there as it was lovely. The food was very good, per dinner drinks on the roof terrace was a great touch. The service was excellent, the courses well set out and the staff very attentive but still allowed for plenty of privacy. I would definitely recommend Gastro MK to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, great service - a must in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a weekend in Marrakech a couple of weeks ago and ate here on one of the nights. We were staying just outside of the city (at Les Cinq Djebellas - a fantastic hotel) and decided to venture into the Medina for a nice meal. We booked the night before, but i think we were quite lucky to get a table at such short notice.

It wasnt easy to find but a local showed us (for a small fee!) and it was a relief to get up to the calm roof terrace and have out pre dinner drinks as the sun started to set. The canapes were delicious. After drinks and canapes we were taken back downstairs (after being shown one of the hotels bedrooms, which looked lovely) to our table. We chose to sit near the small pool in the centre of the riad as it was beautifully lit with Moroccan lamps. The only downside was that this area was not airconditioned so was quite hot, but there is an airconditioned part to the restaurant which might be more comfortable on hot evenings.

The food was brilliant, by far the best i have had in Marrakech. We also thought that it was good value - canapes and 5 courses for around £60.

After dinner we had drinks with some of the other diners on the roof terrace again and everyone else seemed to have enjoyed their meal.

I would definitely go back here next time i am in Marrakech.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.