We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 543 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $71 - $71
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

One delicious vegeterian course followed another. Each delicious and beautifully presented.
Because everyone is served at the same time, it did feel a little drawn out but if you have plenty of time, gastro mk is an absolute must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    101
    43
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Western Style Haute Cuisine in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What is so fantastic about this restaurant is that it brings contemporary European fine dining at it's very best and marries it wonderfully with Morocco culinary traditions and atmosphere, so unlike many top restaurants that ape the the exclusive style of hip places in London or New York, you still feel like you are North Africa. The unique take on the traditional Moroccan pastilla was a perfect example of this nuanced approach. Just sublime.

The entire evening from start to finish was just wonderful and if you are in Marrakech and want a fine, fine meal then you must come here, no doubt at the end of your trip as a wonderful, classy, treat.

Oh and do try to sit in the courtyard on the comfy banquettes next to the pool and fire, they really are the best seats in the house.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, fantastic service with lots of nice touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked this restaurant hoping to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday in style during our trip to Marrakech, which was exactly what the setup at Maison MK allowed us to do. I should also mention here that booking the restuarant via email couldn't have been simpler and the directions given in the confirmation email were clear so we easily navigated the maze of streets to find Maison MK.

We arrived at 7 for canapes on the terrace and enjoyed the choice on the drinks list, after a week of rather 'dry' meals elsewhere in Marrakech. The view of the sun setting over the Katoubia minaret from the terrace was beautiful. This was obviously not a coincidence; as with the whole evening, it had obviously been well thought out by the managers.

Once all the dinner guests had arrived, we were passed the menu to peruse, but it was ony the main course (course 3 of 5) that we were able to choose. I personally really appreciated being cooked the chef's freshest ingredients, and it stopped there being any 'food envy' for all but one course.

Once all the guests had ordered food and drinks for the meal (the wine list included maroccan wines, we went for the sauvignon blanc at around €24), we were then showed to our table back downstairs in the dining area. We were given the lovely private area at the far end. Next began dinner: five courses of gorgeous food, each carefully and helpfully explained by the waiter so that we could be sure of what we were eating.

The ultimate 'nice touch' of the evening came after course 5, when the waiter brought out a chocolate mousse with 'Happy Birthday' written in chocolate sauce for my boyfriend. They must have remembered from when I initially emailed to book it. Apparently it was gorgeous - the chef hadn't lost concentration there then!

Finally, once all of the plates had been taken away, the chef came to each table to thank us for coming, and ask if we had any comments about the food, good or bad. I'm afraid we couldn't think of any construtive points to help improve it further, only that it was delicious.

In summary, this was probably the highlight of our week in Marrakech. It's not the cheapest meal you could eat in the city (head for the Jemaa El Fna food markets if that's what you're after - great at the opposite end of the scale), nor did we have any tagine or couscous during our meal, but what we did have was a truly enjoyable evening of great food, great wine and fantastic service. As it seats so few, I'd recommend booking in advance and then saving up ready to enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited here on our first night in Marrakech. Wish we had booked to stay here as fell in love with the whole place but sadly it was only to be dinner. Well I say dinner,it was a complete experience from the cocktails on the terrace,through a delicious 5 course meal to mint tea and shisha downstairs before we had to drag ourselves away. It was a nice surprise to find a choice for the main course as we'd expected to have to have whatever was on the menu,and our daughters were soon bombarded with photos of the beautifully presented dishes. The staff are amazing and from my initial reservation enquiry to the end of the night the experience was worthy of their top rating on trip advisor. Well done guys!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top drawer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this place! Get there early to enjoy a drink on the amazing roof terrace and the excellent views accross the rooftops - really atmospheric! Would love to have stayed here as well and enjoyed a visit to the spa - it will be on my list for the next time I visit. Very stylish inside and even though I don't smoke, we loved the smoking room with the smoking camel! Menu was great, 5 courses and amazing wine, bit on the pricey side but well worth it for a romantic treat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.