We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $74 - $74
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited here on our first night in Marrakech. Wish we had booked to stay here as fell in love with the whole place but sadly it was only to be dinner. Well I say dinner,it was a complete experience from the cocktails on the terrace,through a delicious 5 course meal to mint tea and shisha downstairs before we had to drag ourselves away. It was a nice surprise to find a choice for the main course as we'd expected to have to have whatever was on the menu,and our daughters were soon bombarded with photos of the beautifully presented dishes. The staff are amazing and from my initial reservation enquiry to the end of the night the experience was worthy of their top rating on trip advisor. Well done guys!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    714
    99
    41
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top drawer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this place! Get there early to enjoy a drink on the amazing roof terrace and the excellent views accross the rooftops - really atmospheric! Would love to have stayed here as well and enjoyed a visit to the spa - it will be on my list for the next time I visit. Very stylish inside and even though I don't smoke, we loved the smoking room with the smoking camel! Menu was great, 5 courses and amazing wine, bit on the pricey side but well worth it for a romantic treat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very chilled out luxury...bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I bookef this as a special treat for our first wedding anniversary and a treat it was indeed!

Our table was booked for 8pm but we were advised to arrive at 7 to enjoy drinks on the roof terrace. The terrace is very stylish and give you stunning views of the whole city. We sipped our bubbly as the sun set and the call to prayer rang out over the city; a pretty magical start to the evening! We also enjoyed nuts and olives and some lovely little canapes out in the fresh air before heading down to our poolside table for the main event!

The poolside tables are gorgeous, very swanky surroundings...we felt a bit like we were in a james bond film!! The waiting staff were attentive but discrete and presented the food really well describing each dish for us.

Our pre-starter was a tiny cup of brocolli and blue cheese soup which was delish! Even my blue cheese sceptic husband loved it which is always a compliment. The starter was a chicken salad made with the juiciest shreds of roast chicken and a delicious butternut squash puree and spiced apricot sauce. Light and very tasty. Main course was seabass, two big fillets perfectly cooked and not a bone in sight. It was served with a rich and creamy risotto and celeriac (I think!) puree. There was a pre-dessert which included a lovely pear and cinnamon lassi and pud was a fantastic tart tatin with butterscotch, yum! All washed down with a very tasty rose wine.

A really faultless evening and worth every penny (£55 a head for 5 courses) - you would pay a LOT more for food of this quality in the UK...an excuse to book that flight without a doubt! Thank you for such a lovely evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gastro MK saved our holiday - superb yet again, don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Gastro MK the first being a couple of yrs ago. We booked the restaurant for a meal on the last night of our holiday as had been so impressed on our first visit and wanted to end the holiday on a special note.
Unfortunately our useless hotel "Les Jardins de Koutoubia" had messed up yet again (separate hotel review to follow). We had booked through them to dine at Gastro MK and received an email confirmation of the booking before we left the UK for Marrakech. However on arriving at the restaurant there was no booking and even worse than that, the booking at the time we'd had confirmed (9pm) would never have been taken as there is only one sitting at the restaurant which is at 7.30 for 8pm for all diners.
After such a string of errors on our hotels part, which had completely ruined our 4 day break, this was just the end for me and I couldn't help but burst into tears. We had been so looking forward to this special night to try to leave Marrakech on a good note.
Well thank goodness for the wonderful chef and staff at Gastro MK. They saved the evening and made a special effort to accommodate us even though we were so late. Unfortunately we'd missed out on the special ambience of canapés and aperitifs on the rooftop with the other diners at the start of the meal, however my tears were soon wiped away with the wonderful food and attention to detail and kindness of the staff.
We were seated in a lovely romantic corner area and had simply sublime food. The creamiest broccoli soup with a touch of blue cheese, followed by the chefs French/Maroc twist on chicken pastilla with quails eggs on a beetroot jus. My OH chose sea bass for his main course which was beautifully presented as were all the courses, in fact I photographed them all lol! It was served with a creamy wild mushroom risotto - delicious. I chose confit duck with a foie gras jus - fabulous! Next the pre dessert, a tiny little pastry type cake slice with a little glass of some heavely tasting yoghurty type liquid and a tiny spoon of a type of fruity compote. Sorry but the wine had been flowing well by now and I can't recall the exact details of this course ha ha. I'd wanted to photograph the menu but forgot to so hopefully the restaurant can let me know please! Then the dessert finale: amazing tarte tatin with a brandy snap and ice cream. Wow wow wow. You never fail to disappoint Gastro. Thank you so much for saving our night.
We took our mint tea, espresso and liqueurs up to the roof top to finish the night and then were very kindly walked back to our hotel through the maze of the medina by one of our hosts, who had words with our hotel reception re the false restaurant booking!
You can't fail to enjoy your evening here but please make sure that not all of you go so that we can still manage to get a place next time we visit!! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our fourth time at Maison MK. It just gets better and better. Maroc/European fusion food. Beautifully presented and served. It's a treat to come to this restaurant. We also did a cookery course with Omar - brilliant and terrific fun. Can't recommend this venue highly enough - well done and thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.