We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $67 - $67
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Truly Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the moment we stepped in the door we could tell this would be an evening to remember. We were first given a guided tour of the hotel which was an eye opener. We were staying in a riad which we were very happy with, but when we saw the facilities at Maison MK we wished we were booked in there! We had cocktails and canapes on the delightful roof terrace, followed by a truly sensational dinner with one of the finest bottles of wine. We were lucky enough to have a table by the side of the pool in the main courtyard, with it's simple clean cut Morrocan elegance. Nothing was too much trouble. I would (and already have) recommended MK Maison to anybody that is visiting Marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    111
    46
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice evening, but with room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on it's position on Tripadvisor (being no. 1). And just to start with the conclusion: we did have a great night out.

But I doubt it's Marrakesh best restaurant. We were warmly welcomed and given a tour of the riad when we came, Beautifully restored old house! With a lot of personal touches and nice details. After a drink on the fantastic roof terrace, we were all shown to our tables at 8 o'oclock.
All having the same set menu, we'd kind of expected the service to be flawless. After all the kitchen had an 'easy' job, serving the same dishes to all tables, and at the same time!
Still, the service was rather average. And so were a couple of the dishes. At this price I have to admit I expected the quality to be a bit higher.

All in all... good food, medium service and a fabulous setting!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Maison MK. Beautiful riad with excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From our welcome at the door through drinks on the terrace and a wonderful 5 course dinner this was an absolute treat!
After dinner relaxing and sharing experiences with other travellers rounded out a great evening.
Don't miss the cooking courses. We chose the full cooking course and came away content and happy after eating the food we prepared.
All in all, if you are a foodie don't miss it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Deserving of its amazing reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Honestly cannot praise this place highly enough. We found out about it through a newspaper review and didn't think we'd be able to get a reservation at short notice - we picked up a cancellation and I am grateful we did.

The roof terrace for drinks and canapes beforehand is really very special and the staff really put you at ease.
The food itself is absolutely amazing - beautiful combinations, expertly prepared and just the right amount. I loved every course but the cucumber sorbet followed by the fig tirimisu deserve a special mention.
The wine was reasonably priced and the service was excellent.
Nice touch for the chef to come out afterwards to meet the diners.

Thoroughly recommend and only sorry we weren't also staying in the riad which looked beautiful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Came across this place by chance while walking round the medina in search of a restaurant. We were shown to the terrace for a drink and some nibbles, which offers an impressive view over the rooftops and the koutaba. We were then shown down to the restaurant which is off the main pool area. Meal was a set menu, with five courses, at 55euros. Service was impeccable, attentive but not over the top. Food was divine and portions were just right. Definitely worth a visit, and it does live up to its number 1 spot. Absolutely loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.