We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening with private dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 593 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with private dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

From the cocktails and canapés on the roof terrace to the superb dinner in the private room adjacent to the restaurant - we had a super evening.
The staff were as attentive as ever and the chef joined us in the sunken lounge to chat after dinner. So glad we managed to book dinner during our stay at Maison MK. Combining the spa made for an afternoon of bliss followed by a delightful evening

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    139
    55
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the quality of food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Given the rather price menu (?55,- pp excl drinks), the European cuisine of Gastro MK does not meet European standards when it comes to taste, finesse and portions. The same quality of food can be found at Pepe Nero at almost half the price and the option to choose from individual dishes and courses (Gastro serves a fixed 5 course menu). We paid approximately MAD 1,700.- for 2 persons incl drinks.

We do note, however, that the atmosphere is lovely (partly makes up for the slightly overpriced menu).

As regards service, the staff is very kind and attentive, but again, do not expect European finesse as you may well be disappointed.






Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Add this to your Marrakech itinerary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I cannot speak more highly of this experience and feel very fortunate we found this restaurant during our visit to Marrakech in December 2012. The food is very good but this isn't the top reason to go. The environment is lovely - you start the evening with drinks of the Riad's terrace which has heat lamps and a nice view and good cocktails. You then move downstairs to the experience the tasting, which is wonderful. Moroccan food with international influences. My date and I had a private room, which was very intimate (I highly suggest asking for this room). With my allergies to dairy, the chef was went above and beyond to make sure my food was safe for me to eat and that I enjoyed it. The restaurant called me the day before to confirm my allergies and with every dish they were careful to point out what had dairy (in my date's food) and what they had made for me. At the end, the chef came out to greet everyone to make sure we all enjoyed ourselves. a lovely, intimate experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
169 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Vastly (?) over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening at Gastro MK yesterday. We went as it was listed 1st in Trip Advisor's chart of Marrakech restaurants. It's conveniently placed in the medina and easy to find. Once inside, the renovations are fabulous, with lots of style and colour; it must be a wonderful place to stay. Reserving by phone with Hanane was a charming and friendly experience.

Aperififs and canapes were served on the beautiful roof terrace but it was just too cold so we were shown to our table downstairs in one of several warm, discreet and intimate dining rooms. The food on the obligatory 5 course tasting menu was for the most part delicious, although somewhat fussy and over-refined. Nouvelle cuisine making a belated comeback! Presentation of the lamb, for example, was odd: scrapings shaped on the plate; one of our group commenting that if he'd seen a photo of the dish he wouldn't have chosen it!

Service was friendly and professional, nothing like as pompous as Casa Lalla used to be, but the bill was simply twice as much as you would expect to pay for a similar gastronomic experience in Marrakech. Nothing about the food, service or ambiance should discourage you from trying it; just the cost!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A very special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Delicious food, beautifully designed environment, very romantic, charming service- a very special evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.