We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 604 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $62 - $62
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We read about Gastro MK on trip advisor and was not disappointed. We had a table by the small pool, as our plan to have drinks on the roof beforehand were spoilt by rain. The staff made us very welcome. Service was excellent and the food fantastic. The presentation of the food was beautiful and portions just right. The chef clearly demonstrates a passion for great food and fresh, first rate ingredients. Would definitely recommend if you love great food - modern north African with a twist. Quite expensive for Marrakech but worth the money for the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    120
    50
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average review persuaded us to visit........!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Sometimes you learn more about a place from an "average" review than from high praise. In our case I was impressed with the owners response to a customer who was not fully satisfied with their experience and it demonstrated a passion and pride in their restaurant. This was very similar in culture to the owners of QC's Seafood restaurant in SW Ireland and if ever two places could be twinned it is these - so different and so alike in many ways

And our experience - wonderful and I fully endorse many of the comments within the high ratings. Sadly "English" weather ruled out the roof top cocktails though everything from first walking through the door oozed class and attention to detail. We arrived early to ensure we could find the place and for amyone who does that, there are some great shops to visit within short walk with a much nicer ambience than the hassle closer to the main square

My only comment was in relation to the food. Whilst excellent, I would like the option to add extra seasoning if I so wish. I sometimes think it is a form of "gastronomic arrogance" when the restaurant always knows best when it comes to seasoning and that those who ask for salt may not be worthy of appreciating such food. I would also like to see hot plates for the main course so one could enjoy the food without worrying about it getting cold on the plate - I guess not normally a problem in Marrakech .....!

We very much look forward to returning one day and sampling the rooms which also looked superb

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I have only complements to give this restaurant. Exciting and good food, fantastic service, beautiful place. Have never tried such a unique and small restaurant. Really the best experience on my vacation to Marrakech. Will definitely go back another time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“By far the best in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Based on reviews we opted to visit here on a Saturday night. The roof terrace served cocktails and offered great views of the Medina. The food itself was delicious and although not cheap, was worth every penny. Make sure if visiting Marrakech you include Gastro MK in your Itinerary.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner for 2 in november”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner at Gastro MK to finish our trip to Marrakech. The weather was not good enough to be on the roof but we were very comfortable beside the pool and could have chosen to be in the dining room also. The tasting menu was sophisticated and delicious, we had seen Omar the chef at work previously in our cookery lesson and were very impressed. The staff were attentive and polite and we had as good a dinner as you could expect in any top european restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.