We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of a Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Luksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-76173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $74 - $74
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine-dining restaurant at boutique hotel maison mk. Open to internal & external guests for dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Like so many places in Marrakech, this is a hidden gem which just has to be found. Located in one of the never ending streets of the souks, locating it takes a few minutes but, once inside, it's like entering another world - calm, comfortable and quiet. The Riad is decorated in modern Moroccan style with full use of colour and lighting. The staff are lovely and from the minute you arrive until you leave, the experience is just wonderful. Sipping drinks on the rooftop terraces (many) and listening to the sounds of the city below is a great way to start the evening. Small delicious canape are produced. After an hour on the roof we drifted down to the small dining area. The few tables are well spaced and the atmosphere is quiet and intimate. The service is not hurried. The food delicious with great Moroccan flavours. All food is sourced locally and tastes fresh. The chef came so speak with everyone at the end of the meal which was a nice touch. The whole experience was extremely enjoyable and we would definitely return on another visit to Marrakech. Highly recommended. Make time if you can for a visit.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    714
    99
    41
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the BEST restaurant in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We were lucky enough to be staying at Maison MK for 5 days and were really pleased that the restaurant was rated as the best in Marrakech. We ate there twice during our stay and on both occasions the whole experience was exceptional!

We started with canapes and drinks to start on the rooftop terrace, taking in the sights and the sunset of this amazing place. Guests from other riads and hotels within the city arrived for dinner and were obviously impressed with what they saw!

The restuarant is small and intimate (you MUST book in advance or you'll have no chance of a reservation!) which is perfect for the fantastic meal which lay ahead.

There is a 5 course tasting menu, develop by the head chef Omar, which was a fusion mix of french/moroccan brings together many different tastes and textures. All was cooked well and the service attentive but not overpowering. The wine selection is small but perfect for the meal and reasonably priced.

We were lucky enough to be seated at the table in the private area which was amazing!

The whole experience was exceptional and meeting Omar at the end of the meal showed jsut how passionate he is about the food that he serves.

An excellent evening and one that should not be missed!

Thanks,

M&M

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Extra special Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I recently dined at Maison MK on 1st April and had a fabulous meal. My mother and I were celebrating her birthday that evening and enjoyed the wonderful flavours of the canapes and the 5 course tasting menu. The food melted in my mouth. All washed down with a great rose wine.The staff were excellent and we wanted for nothing. Very attentive service without being overtly intrusive. After our coffee our waiter offered to give us a tour of the riad as we had missed having the canapes pre-dinner on the roof terrace. The building has been beautifully decorated merging the modern designs with traditional moroccan colours. From the roof terrace we had a great view of the Koutoubia mosque. I was so impressed by Maison MK that I have already recommended the restaurant to a friend visiting in June. My mother and I will be back when we next visit Marrakech.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weybridge
2 reviews
“Just simply exquisite food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Just simply exquisite food, perfectly presented and I'm sure worthy of a michelin-star! The food is of such a high standard and the staff very knowledgeable. The restaurant is quite small but in such a lovely setting. I would highly recommend that you visit - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Plave, Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Spent a long weekend in Marrakesh as a birthday treat for my wife. One of the absolute highlights was the amazing dinner experience at Gastro MK. The place was special, the staff and chef attentive and the food ranked up there with top restaurants I´ve had the privilege of dining at in Europe and the US. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastro MK at Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.