We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home-Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Oulhoum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Oulhoum
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Oulhoum to your Saves list
8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“A Home Away from Home-Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From our experience, there is no better place to stay in Morocco than at Riad Dar Oulhoum. My husband and I visited many cities in Morocco over the period of a month, and nothing could possibly compare with the experience we had at Dar Oulhoum. I do want to be sincere, however-by TripAdvisor's standards-and say that there was one other riad that was quite beautiful, where the hostess was very kind, and where I really adored the ladies who worked there, who cleaned and cooked and chatted and shared with us with tremendous warmth.

I write this review with a bit of a different perspective than most, and with pain, but with so much appreciation for all that our hosts, Bruno Drucolle and Guy Menet did for us to assure that this would be a visit above the magnificent. My husband was sick with ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease) and requested that I take him on a trip before he got to the point that he could no longer travel. I picked Morocco, and without a doubt, it turned out to be a superb choice. Our experience in Marrakech and in Dar Oulhoum was the highlight of the trip. I made a photobook for my husband of our entire trip, (my first photobook ever), with the largest, layflat pages, and with the maximum number of pages, so that the wonder of this trip would remain with both of us forever. Unfortunately, I have since lost my husband; thus I write a little late. Our trip was for the entire month of March 2013. It is only now that I am able to write of the wonder of our trip and, in particular, to Marrakech and the riad that we called home for 11 days.

I look through this photobook over and over and relive our days in Morocco, particularly including Dar Oulhoum and can just feel how glorious they really were. There is the beauty, the personal touch, the perfect hosts, the colors, the care, the caring-and an experience we could never have imagined. I fell in love with Marrakech and could have stayed there forever-and in Dar Oulhoum. There was an extraordinary beauty in the riad, managed and watched over with love and with great attention to every minor detail. Guy and Bruno, our hosts, could not have been more wonderful. They loved plants, close to my botanist heart. The maintenance of these plants, all over the riad, was magnificent, and everything at the dar was so obviously done with love. Even the fountain in the courtyard had golden rose petals floating in it, such a touch to make us feel that we were, indeed, in another world.

And more than anything else, we shared the same spirit. Who today still loves Edith Piaf and will play her music all over their riad for a guest-and even sing along with her-and then introduce other Parisian singers of the same period? We felt immediately at home and could have just stayed on their rooftop for hours in the morning enjoying the sun and the beautiful view. The bougainviliea alone was glorious, bursting out colors like a genuine aurora borealis. We thoroughly enjoyed the cozy moments and wonderful company up there. The workers were grand, the breakfasts and other meals delicious.

Our hosts knew their city extremely well and directed us to such marvelous places and restaurants. I am a worldwide traveler, and I rarely ask advice or help, and of course I had my book on what to see in Marrakech. But we were directed to places which we otherwise would never have seen. When we were going to go to a particular garden, Bruno told me that we must absolutely not miss the Jardin Majorelle. Bruno, thank you, merci, tusind tak, todah rabah, gracias, obrigada, shukran. I have a full two pages of my husband in the photo book, in the blue of the Jardin Majorelle, where he just happens to be dressed in blue himself. It is the most wonderful, gentle, marvelous picture of him that I have of our over 42 years of knowing each other. Just the peace and softness in that picture is striking, particularly in his face, blending so well with the background, and this is the way I will forever remember him. This was the hugest gift that was given to us-to direct us to this magical place.

The room at Dar Oulhoum in which we stayed was gorgeous, with, once again, every facet thoroughly thought out. If I began to describe the room and the riad in detail, there would be no end to this review. I simply could not say enough. There was also another family, who came from Spain, that was there during part of our stay, and they got every bit the attention that we did. An important point-the location of the dar was such that it was a peaceful haven in the midst of a chaotic but wondrous city. Bruno directed us to marvelous restaurants, my favorite being the one where we could be at the same level as storks, as they sat or stood on their nests, something I would never have found by myself. Guy was also kind enough to walk us through the souk, after we had been there a few times, to show us things we may have missed and to give us advice on things that we were contemplating purchasing.

Bruno and Guy also understood that we were observing Passover in Marrakech, unfortunately not an easy endeavor, and helped direct us to where we needed to go for the seder and took great interest in the special foods that we had brought with us from the United States.

At Riad Dar Oulhoum, we discovered a spot in Marrakech that reflected the warmth, the depth, the culture, and the hospitality of the marvelous country we were visiting. All I can say is please take me back to Marrakech and to Riad Dar Oulhoum. I would never stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

Reginette (Regina) Schafer- United States

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Every aspect of our stay in this Riad was excellent but the outstanding feature was the welcome and support from the friendly hosts. They were concerned for our safety and made arrangements to support us from the moment we stepped out of the airport. They accompanied us three times when we went to the Souk and around the Medina, taking us to places we had agreed would be interesting to visit and providing us with a phone whenever we said we wanted to explore on our own. They were also very good company as well as knowing when to respect our privacy.

Riad Dar Oulhoum is a beautifully restored and calm retreat from the noise of the Medina. The food was delicious and imaginative and prepared to suit our tastes and requirements. Like the proprietors, the staff could not have tried harder to help us enjoy our stay there.
I would certainly recommend it and would love to go back there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked this Riad on the strength of other visitors' (English and French) reviews, and were not disappointed. The house has been beautifully restored and furnished with a mix of authentic Moroccan and other interesting and unusual items collected from around the world. It's a lovely safe haven from the chaos of the nearby soukhs in the Medina! The rooftop terrace is a peaceful and relaxing place for breakfast and drinks, with only the sounds of birdsong and water fountains, and the occasional calls-to-prayer from nearby mosques. The luxurious breakfasts and dinners were beautifully served, varied and full of little surprises. We were extremely well looked-after by Bruno and Guy throughout our 5 days, we felt as though they could not do enough to help, from the warm welcome on our arrival and Guy's lively tour of the Medina on our first day, through to arranging all the details for a truly memorable day excursion to the Ouzoud Cascades: stunning 150m waterfalls in the Middle Atlas mountains.
As other reviewers mentioned, we were provided with an efficient taxi service to and from the airport, and equipped with a mobile phone in case we got lost while out and about, as well as a very clever set of photos to help us find our way back to the Riad from the Jeema El Fna. The location is great - 10-15 minutes' walk to the main square (when you know your way!), but peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle. Totally recommend it, and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNO D, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Oulhoum, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Google Translation
MERCI ... CHOUKRAN ... THANK ... TACK !!!!!!

Premier commentaire, venu de Suède.
Vous avez peint Dar Oulhoum, d'une façon magistrale.
Tout est dit ....... Et bien dit.
Vos éloges nous touchent, d'autant plus, que votre sens critique est pointu.
Nous resterons en contact.
TUSEN TACK
B.D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I and my business partner had landed in Marrakech on a business trip. Our company had goofed up big time in booking a hotel for our stay. They apologized and suggested us the Riad Dar Oulhoum. This was our first visit to Marrakech and hence we had absolutely no idea about the localities and cultures. The building looks absolutely delightful with the quaint Moroccan style of architecture, vibrant colors and typical African artifacts all around. And it was located at a very convenient distance from our office and the central market too. Just what we wanted. The breakfast at the roof top terrace was fantastic and so were the meals. Amazing Moroccan cuisine served to the best of abilities. The staffs were so gentle and understanding. They guided us on the tourist spots around the city, booked us a car and even gave us some currency change for our convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We book this hotel because we read lot's of good reviews ....all the reviews are true...the riad is fantastic...good food and nice rooms.

I would recommend this riad to everyone.


Thank you.

Regards
Hassan

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week of luxury at Dar Oulhoum with Guy and Bruno. What can we say? Every detail has been thought through from the varied, delicious and plentiful breakfasts, to the luxurious but traditional bathrooms. Guy is happy to act as tour guide and help you navigate the myriad of winding streets - you are then left to enjoy the day and furnished with a local mobile telephone to use if you get lost trying to find your way home (quite possible!) Knowing someone will come and rescue you if need be not only gives you peace of mind but is another example of the exceptional thoughtfulness of your hosts. The Dar itself is filled with exquisite furniture collected from their travels around the globe. Rooms are extremely comfortable as well as stylish and there are roaring fires to sit by on the chilly winter nights. There is little reason to have dinner anywhere else - they can accommodate anything and the three courses are always delicious. Despite all of these things, the highlight of the holiday still has to be the owners themselves. Never again will you be treated with such kindness (and humour!) Thank you for making our holiday so special and we hope we can return the hospitality in London one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNO D, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Oulhoum, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Google Translation
Merci... Thanks... Choukran.

Voilà un avis qui résume Dar Oulhoum. Votre satisfaction est la nôtre.

Vos cadeaux de Noël, et de remerciements, nous ont beaucoup émus..

2013 se termine... des avis se sont pas arrivés.... Néanmoins...Dar Oulhoum,
souhaite à tous ses hôtes une très bonne fête de fin d'année.

B.D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stumbled across this riad when looking for somewhere to book for a 4 night stay in Marrakech. The reviews that have gone before are 100% accurate and gave me a few smiles when looking at them again before posting this.

Both I and my wife had not been abroad (on our own) since our first child was born 12 years ago and so wanted to go somewhere different, but at the same time have some time to relax. Staying at this riad certainly gave us the tranquillity and relaxation during the night and morning, as wandering around the medina during the day is just ‘mad’, but very interesting.

Guy and Bruno had arranged a car to meet us at the airport and the cost is added to your bill at the end, which is great if you arrive with only a few coins in your pocket. They meet you at the drop-off point and take your bags through various alley ways into their riad, where we were presented with a choice of aperitifs.

We had ordered dinner for that night and all I can say is that the food is superb, locally sourced, fresh and perfectly cooked, especially when washed down with a cool bottle of local wine, all very reasonably priced. Although we always had lunch out, we ate at the riad for a further 2 nights and at a local restaurant on the last night, which was a Bruno recommendation and beyond excellent, although nothing too different from the excellent food from the riad.

Bruno and Guy seriously go out of their way to make your stay perfect and the riad cannot be faulted (we are very fussy when paying for accommodation), as it is clean, tidy and has been restored amazingly. Guy knows everyone, as he guided us through the souks on the first morning and delivered us to have a massage, which everyone should experience during their stay!

On the way back we got lost (every day), but if things did ever get really bad Bruno provides you with a mobile phone, although we never used it, instead we just paid the local children a few pence to help us finish the maze and get back to the riad (our sense of direction is hopeless).

In summary, we left after our stay with lots of great memories, as we were looked after by Guy and Bruno in such a professional and friendly way that we felt honoured to have stayed at their place. They do everything in their power to make you have a enjoyable stay, from start to finish, a good example being on the last day when our flight was in the evening, but there was no problem in us keeping the room, coming back at 4pm for a shower, change and final drinks on the roof terrace, before getting the car.

If we were every to go back to Marrakech, we would have no hesitation booking-up to stay with these special and genuine hosts, as they made a significant difference to our break and we cannot thank them enough…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Oulhoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Oulhoum

Address: 8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Oulhoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.