We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks we came here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Oulhoum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Oulhoum
Save
You added Riad Dar Oulhoum to your Saves list
8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thanks we came here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I and my business partner had landed in Marrakech on a business trip. Our company had goofed up big time in booking a hotel for our stay. They apologized and suggested us the Riad Dar Oulhoum. This was our first visit to Marrakech and hence we had absolutely no idea about the localities and cultures. The building looks absolutely delightful with the quaint Moroccan style of architecture, vibrant colors and typical African artifacts all around. And it was located at a very convenient distance from our office and the central market too. Just what we wanted. The breakfast at the roof top terrace was fantastic and so were the meals. Amazing Moroccan cuisine served to the best of abilities. The staffs were so gentle and understanding. They guided us on the tourist spots around the city, booked us a car and even gave us some currency change for our convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
112
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We book this hotel because we read lot's of good reviews ....all the reviews are true...the riad is fantastic...good food and nice rooms.

I would recommend this riad to everyone.


Thank you.

Regards
Hassan

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week of luxury at Dar Oulhoum with Guy and Bruno. What can we say? Every detail has been thought through from the varied, delicious and plentiful breakfasts, to the luxurious but traditional bathrooms. Guy is happy to act as tour guide and help you navigate the myriad of winding streets - you are then left to enjoy the day and furnished with a local mobile telephone to use if you get lost trying to find your way home (quite possible!) Knowing someone will come and rescue you if need be not only gives you peace of mind but is another example of the exceptional thoughtfulness of your hosts. The Dar itself is filled with exquisite furniture collected from their travels around the globe. Rooms are extremely comfortable as well as stylish and there are roaring fires to sit by on the chilly winter nights. There is little reason to have dinner anywhere else - they can accommodate anything and the three courses are always delicious. Despite all of these things, the highlight of the holiday still has to be the owners themselves. Never again will you be treated with such kindness (and humour!) Thank you for making our holiday so special and we hope we can return the hospitality in London one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNO D, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Oulhoum, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Google Translation
Merci... Thanks... Choukran.

Voilà un avis qui résume Dar Oulhoum. Votre satisfaction est la nôtre.

Vos cadeaux de Noël, et de remerciements, nous ont beaucoup émus..

2013 se termine... des avis se sont pas arrivés.... Néanmoins...Dar Oulhoum,
souhaite à tous ses hôtes une très bonne fête de fin d'année.

B.D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stumbled across this riad when looking for somewhere to book for a 4 night stay in Marrakech. The reviews that have gone before are 100% accurate and gave me a few smiles when looking at them again before posting this.

Both I and my wife had not been abroad (on our own) since our first child was born 12 years ago and so wanted to go somewhere different, but at the same time have some time to relax. Staying at this riad certainly gave us the tranquillity and relaxation during the night and morning, as wandering around the medina during the day is just ‘mad’, but very interesting.

Guy and Bruno had arranged a car to meet us at the airport and the cost is added to your bill at the end, which is great if you arrive with only a few coins in your pocket. They meet you at the drop-off point and take your bags through various alley ways into their riad, where we were presented with a choice of aperitifs.

We had ordered dinner for that night and all I can say is that the food is superb, locally sourced, fresh and perfectly cooked, especially when washed down with a cool bottle of local wine, all very reasonably priced. Although we always had lunch out, we ate at the riad for a further 2 nights and at a local restaurant on the last night, which was a Bruno recommendation and beyond excellent, although nothing too different from the excellent food from the riad.

Bruno and Guy seriously go out of their way to make your stay perfect and the riad cannot be faulted (we are very fussy when paying for accommodation), as it is clean, tidy and has been restored amazingly. Guy knows everyone, as he guided us through the souks on the first morning and delivered us to have a massage, which everyone should experience during their stay!

On the way back we got lost (every day), but if things did ever get really bad Bruno provides you with a mobile phone, although we never used it, instead we just paid the local children a few pence to help us finish the maze and get back to the riad (our sense of direction is hopeless).

In summary, we left after our stay with lots of great memories, as we were looked after by Guy and Bruno in such a professional and friendly way that we felt honoured to have stayed at their place. They do everything in their power to make you have a enjoyable stay, from start to finish, a good example being on the last day when our flight was in the evening, but there was no problem in us keeping the room, coming back at 4pm for a shower, change and final drinks on the roof terrace, before getting the car.

If we were every to go back to Marrakech, we would have no hesitation booking-up to stay with these special and genuine hosts, as they made a significant difference to our break and we cannot thank them enough…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a brilliant time here. It was delightful and friendly. The house was beautiful and the hosts were so kind and enjoyable. I would return tomorrow if I could and I plan to in the future. Many thanks indeed and see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful house, decorated with exquisite taste in the Morrocan style with interesting African artifacts as well. It is a literal oasis in the bustling lanes of central old Marrakech. This city is daunting for the first time visitor and Guy and Bruno could not have been more hospitable and helpful. They even furnished us with a local mobile telephone and a series of laminated, numbered photos so we could find our way back through the souks! Having personally guided us there in the first place and pointed out some particularly good stalls.

We ate out once but soon worked out that the best Moroccan food was served right there on the roof terrace at Dar Oulhoum and cooked by the in-house chef and served with good local wines. We shall definitely be returning..... never have I stayed anywhere with 3 dozen fresh white roses in the BATHROOM!

Room Tip: Impossible to chose the best room! But I got the biggest with the only bath as opposed to shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a lovely riad, the courtyard and each of the rooms have been beautifully decorated. Guy and Bruno are perfect hosts and went out of their way to look after every part of our visit. We enjoyed the breakfasts on the rooftop terrace and the evening meal was great. This was simply the best place we stayed in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Oulhoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Oulhoum

Address: 8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Oulhoum tells me a story ... The mid-nineteenth century, under the reign of Sultan Hassan 1st (born Hassan ben Mohammed in 1836 in Fez and died on 7 June 1894 in Tadla), a vizier (high-ranking official, with an adviser or minister from Muslim leaders), chooses a prime location to build this beautiful Riad, near the mausoleum of Sidi Ben Slimane (one of the seven saints of Marrakech latter being the founder of Sufism in Morocco), a sign of power. The proximity of the holy mausoleum, gave him a high respect. In the late nineteenth century, before the French protectorate, this place was that of a Spanish bank and a British legation. During the restoration of the Riad, existing telephone line upon arrival in 2000 of the weapons found at the bottom of the well and an enamelled plaque written in Arabic and Spanish testament to the power of the family that gave its name to the Derb. Subsequently we will tell to the DAR Oulhoum ... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Oulhoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.