We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Oulhoum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Oulhoum
Save
You added Riad Dar Oulhoum to your Saves list
8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #13 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“A beautiful oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely riad, the courtyard and each of the rooms have been beautifully decorated. Guy and Bruno are perfect hosts and went out of their way to look after every part of our visit. We enjoyed the breakfasts on the rooftop terrace and the evening meal was great. This was simply the best place we stayed in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
75
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 3-night trip to Marrakech - in planning our trip we looked through endless lists of all very attractive looking Riads, many with very good reviews. We settled on Riad Dar Oulhoum and I can honestly say that if I was returning to Marrakech I would book it again without hesitation - I wouldn't even consider an alternative! Everything about our stay at this Riad was perfect - Guy had arranged to meet us on our way from the airport, and on our arrival at the Riad we had drinks with our hosts on the beautiful rooftop terrace. On our first night at the Riad we dined in a cosy living room by an open fire, and the tagine was just divine! After dinner Guy and Bruno took us on a walk through the medina and the souks of Marrakech, introducing us to various points of interest. These hosts sure pay attention to every detail, and this Riad which they have renovated is well and truly a work of art. Our room was just beautiful and so comfortable, and everywhere in the house are interesting artefacts. Breakfast was a highlight - every morning we were spoilt with a variety of homemade yoghurts, pancakes, and freshly squeezed juices. In fact if you do book to stay at Riad Dar Oulhoum I strongly recommend that you dine here - you will find it hard to beat the cuisine they offer (we ate here on our third evening also - couldn't resist!). Everything about our stay here was truly perfect, and very reasonably priced considering the exceptionally high standards - I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you Bruno, Guy & Driss for a most memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We wanted a luxurious getaway in a traditional Riad and we hit the jackpot with Dar OulHoum. Hosts Guy and Bruno have perfected their service. Attention to detail is evident in everything that they have created.
Before we arrived our hosts made sure that we had directions to our meeting point. Guy met us on arrival and guided us to our very convenient car park space. For just a few euros per day we could park the car within the medina and just a short 2 minute walk to the Riad. The car park was easy to find with gps when we returned from trips outside the medina.
The main square is approx 10 minutes walk from the Riad - near enough for a stroll in the evening but far enough away from the noise and hustle.
My wife particularly looked forward to breakfast on the roof terrace. Blue skys, view to the mountains, birds singing - freshly brewed coffee, pancakes, spreads, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, pastries etc. The standard of food at the Riad is top class - way better than you can get in the medina restaurants and excellently served by the Riad staff. We really enjoyed the delicate flavours of the tajines, fresh breads and colourful salads.

This is really a top notch place to stay. For a traditional luxury Riad in the medina don't look any further. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the"India" room. Highly recommended. This is a really spacious airy room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

true luxury is in the quality of service and attention to detail.

having worked in a hotel myself, my attention is naturally drawn to two main things: one is the quality of service and the other is comfort. as a tourist, what i consider foremost are location and above all, value-for-money.

dar oulhoum excelled in all the above aspects.

from our arrival, owners guy and bruno not only offered everything expected of a reputable hotel but they even surpassed our expectations by anticipating our needs ! they seemed to be always one step ahead of us, always available and flexible to facilitate our requests. this gave us a real feeling of security and rest. actually we didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel, we felt like private guests in a beautiful private home. such hospitality is rare indeed.

dar oulhoum is tucked away from the noise, but only 15 minutes of a leisurely walk to the main square. the rooms are tastefully decorated, very cozy, clean and comfortable. in order to preserve a quiet atmosphere, a separate room with a fireplace is available to all guests for televiewing. wifi is available.

i recommend arranging to have your meals at dar oulhoum according to your schedule & activities... try it and you'll see why :-)

we did have our apprehensions coming to marrakech for the first time but our stay in dar oulhoum with guy and bruno made our holiday a very memorable one.

we highly recommend this hotel !!!

ariel silva
bern, switzerland
length of stay: 7 nights in suite marrakchi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

... then you MUST stay at Riad Dar Oulhoum!

Bruno and Guy have created a beautiful Riad which is a real gem and we can't recommend it highly enough.

They arranged a Tagine for us on our first night there, which was the best we had on our entire 10 day stay in Morocco! The breakfasts, which changed daily, were served on the roof terrace and the yogurt and pomegranate was inspired and that was just the first course!

Although it is hidden away in the backs streets of the Medina, it is well worth the effort to find this 'secret' riad, as it is still within easy reach of the Souks and the Main Square.

The boys could not have done more for us and we have found the only place we're ever going to stay at, when we're in Marrakech.

We arrived as guests and but left as friends.... and have promised Guy we'll improve our French by the time we return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Oulhoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Oulhoum

Address: 8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Oulhoum tells me a story ... The mid-nineteenth century, under the reign of Sultan Hassan 1st (born Hassan ben Mohammed in 1836 in Fez and died on 7 June 1894 in Tadla), a vizier (high-ranking official, with an adviser or minister from Muslim leaders), chooses a prime location to build this beautiful Riad, near the mausoleum of Sidi Ben Slimane (one of the seven saints of Marrakech latter being the founder of Sufism in Morocco), a sign of power. The proximity of the holy mausoleum, gave him a high respect. In the late nineteenth century, before the French protectorate, this place was that of a Spanish bank and a British legation. During the restoration of the Riad, existing telephone line upon arrival in 2000 of the weapons found at the bottom of the well and an enamelled plaque written in Arabic and Spanish testament to the power of the family that gave its name to the Derb. Subsequently we will tell to the DAR Oulhoum ... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Oulhoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.