We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hidden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Hidden to your Saves list
Riad Hidden
117, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

a wonderful place, just a few minutes walk from the main square in Medina, full of charm. friendly staff, good breakfast, beautiful rooms and character bathrooms. would stay again, just probably not in January as a bit cold- March or October is the time to go.
Marrakech is an incredible place, a must go. Also, if you have a spare day or two go to Essaura on the coast or take a road trip alongside the ocean- unforgettable views!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Lovely, homely and clean. The staff at Riad Hidden went above and beyond, especially after my Mum and Sister became ill. They were always happy help us, recommending restaurants and places to visit. The Riad rooms are so beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom flooded when showering, but that was just a gentle reminder we were still in Africa.

Marrakech itself, 3 nights is plenty. We stayed longer with the intention of going to the Atlas Mountains however after my Mum and Sister became ill, were unable to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The service is very welcoming and genuinely helpful. The staff alone would be enough for us to go back for a second visit. Location-wise this is indeed perfectly placed for easy access to the square within a couple of minutes walk, yet so peacefully quiet it's hard to believe.

I stayed here with my family and we had three rooms in total. Two on the ground floor and the room I shared with my sister on the first floor. The ground floor rooms were lovely and had nice bright lightbulbs which made the rooms feel more modern than mine which had very, very dim lighting and totally changed the feel of the room in comparison. Our shower room flooded too and after running the water for a good ten minutes never got hot so all of us just used one of the ground floor bathrooms - the one exactly opposite the reception desk, as this was perfect - it didn't flood and was nice and hot. We didn't mention this to the staff as we were fine running from room to room so to be fair to them they didn't have an opportunity to fix the problems.

We felt we had the riad to ourselves most nights as we stayed nearly a week and most guests stayed only a night or two, so we weren't bothered by any noise on the ground floor.

One incident which frightened the life out of me and my sister was at 4am when someone was trying to get into our room! You can't lock the doors so had they not been slightly jammed whoever it was would've walked straight in! I shouted 'hello' which stopped them trying to get in and we assume they were guests that just got the wrong room but it was very scary at the time particularly as it was heavily raining and a bit of a storm outside which all added to the tension. Again I had planned to mention it to the staff but by morning i had calmed down about it and there wouldn't have been anything they could do about it at that point.

As our rooms were so different we all had a different experience of the riad - if I'd stayed in one of the ground floor rooms would probably rate it 4 or 5 stars but given the points raised above, I think 3 stars is fair.

The price is good but its better to pay cash in dirhams (you can't use your card unless paying the price stated in Euros).

Ultimately, a nice little find, just get the right room!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better well-lit and provided there aren't partying guests staying, won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Beautiful and clean place to stay in the heart of the medina. It really is in the centre of it all, but considering how close it is to the centre, the riad is so quiet and very calm, just what you need after walking around the square all day. We booked the airport shuttle, and as a driver could drive through the square another man takes our luggage and leads us through the hustle and bustle of Jamaa el fna. As we arrived at night, it was very daunting as we were led down the back alleys, but having walked through there every night it is indeed safe. I would recommend booking the airport shuttle, especially arriving at night as we would never have found it on our own.
We initially stayed here from reading all of the reviews and the help that is on hand from Salma. However, we did miss Salma on a few occasions as she comes in for certain periods of each day now since she has moved out. This is a shame as she gives such detailed and useful advice on where, when and how to get to places in and around Marrakech , which only made us wish she was there to help us with our entire trip!
However, her staff Karim and Hassan made our stay more than excellent. They were so very helpful and went out of their way on multiple occasions to do and get things for us.
Each morning breakfast was served by Karim or Hassan on the terrace, delicious! It can be repetitive if you stay there for more than a couple of days but it was filling and served its' purpose.
The rooms are very clean, as are the bathrooms, but the shower on the ground floor did tend to flood the bathroom which was a bit of nuisance at times, particularly if you are sharing the room.
If you are on the ground floor, the rooms are not soundproof so if people are in the courtyard it can be annoying if you are trying to sleep at night.
Riad Hidden, is a beautiful and clean place to stay with an excellent location and the perfect staff and host. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level may be better in terms of noise. Shower on the ground floor tends to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This sweet place down a small street in the middle of it all was exactly as we had hoped and more. Lovely courtyard, peaceful and welcoming. Very nicely designed and cared for in a boho chicque kind of way. Our home made breakfast every morning on the roof terrace, the attention to our requests, felt so comforting after long days hassling in the souks! We loved it and would go back any time!

Room Tip: The bathrooms are really cool, but there is one where the shower does flood the floor a bit, didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great, clean place to stay. The host Salma is very pleasant and helpful, and fluent in English which was helpful when we wanted to book taxis and car rentals. This riad is very very central, it's so quick to get right into the centre, it's literally a couple of alley ways from the main Souk road, very easy to find. Don't let anyone try and show you the way - they will try and take your money.

Gorgeous place with beautiful rooms. Shower was great. The only thing to note is that the room on the ground floor is not exactly sound proofed so we were whispering a lot!
Not a lot of rooms are available here, which keeps it nice and private, it feels very much like a family home, from memory there is a room which you can watch TV/DVDs in. There is/was somewhere upstairs to relax in too.
Lovely views across the medina. Great breakfast foods, Salma serves a proper feast. I do recommend it for an authentic riad experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a gorgous Riad- with only 5 rooms and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of the city - if you want to be close to everything- 5 mins from the souks, 8 mins from the square. You've got the right place. Our room was wonderful- a double room with walk in closet following on to a single room and a good sized bathroom and kitchen. The breakfast is okay - mostly bread-based so can be quite stodgy. The hosts are fantastic - Abdul and Salma. Abdul is so friendly and welcoming, and Salma gives excellent advice and we went on a wonderful excursion she helped advise us (To the atlas mountains).
Beautiful place! Definitely would go back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hidden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hidden

Address: 117, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#179 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Hidden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hidden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hidden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.