We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A green oasis with wonderful staff full of smiles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ourika Garden
Save
You added Ourika Garden to your Saves list
Agbalou | Ourika Valley, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A green oasis with wonderful staff full of smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Ourika Garden have a really wonderful garden with fresh herbs, flowers and a pool area. Lovely to hang out in during a warm spring day! The surroundings are also very nice - and conveniently near to Marrakech. The best thing about Ourika Garden is however its staff - always smiling and willing to make your stay the best possible. As another reviewer mentioned they are genuinly nice and very generous (our dinner had been discounted on our bill and we were given wine free of charge). Breakfast was great with pancakes, fresh goat cheese and local argane oil.
Our room was interesting, very large and the bathroom could have better cleaned.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

After Marrakech this was an absolute joy the complete opposite - quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The service was incredible even though their English is very limited. The Manager, who lives in Marrakech, was very kind and helpful and took us to see wonderful things in the area and arranged our visit to the waterfalls. We also were taken to a Berber village by one of the staff and to his home for tea. It was the highlight of our whole trip.

The room we had was enormous with a very grand dining room table which had chairs for 8, seating area and a lovely fire which was lit every night with two chairs in front of it plus the very comfortable bed. The bathroom was the weak point as the shower had to be held to wash as it did not seem to connect to the connector. Once that has been sorted then everything would be perfect. There was also air conditioning for the summer with heating for the winter and it was needed and was very effective. The menu forf dinner is not huge but everything was really nice and served with a huge smile! Breakfasts were great and particularly enjoyable eating it in the sunshine.

The gardens are lovely and sitting in the sun around the pool, which is not huge, is lovely. This is the place for quiet and solitude - take lots of books!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel is situated in the steeply riven Ourika valley, surrounded by Berber villages from which you can hear periodic calls to prayer. The dining is traditional, uncomplicated and yet generally excellent - the couscous was the best we tasted. The Moroccan salad platter was perfectly sufficient for lunch.

We took several short walks (2-3h), guided, at the recommendation of the manager, by Omar, a young man who lives across he road. He speaks very little English and intermediate French but his warm character communicated all that was needed. We visited him at his home which was fascinating - they seemed to be having a lot of fun! Lives are simple in terms of technology but rich in community and landscape. It was interesting to see the women in their domain. Generally your dealings are with men. You'll really miss out of if you don't visit the villages.

The hotel is quite rustic - not a luxury establishment but something more fitting to its mountain environment. We decided the furnishings were "Flintstonesque". The staff were incredibly friendly and concerned for our comfort but also gave plenty of "space". The patron said on our arrival "we are family here, not commercial like Marrakech" and frankly I was sceptical. But in fact it was true! Our bill at the end was exactly correct but they had not charged us for upwards of 20 mint teas, two loads of laundry and even a packed lunch for our trip to Siti Fatma.

The garden is very pleasant as is the pool. In our trips up and down the valley we noticed nowhere nicer. You can pop over the road to buy water and snacks so you don't have to buy everything at hotel prices. We were there in Ramadan and this didn't adversely effect our stay. The hotel is a little rough round the edges but for friendliness, traditional food and mountain location I would highly recommend Ourika Garden.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This place is just fabulous getaway hidden among the Ourika Valley. The staff went the extra mile to make our lives easy, the best part though is the food, in my entire life , I haven't had better , fresher vegetables than the ones they serve here. the food experience was just out of this world. The rooms are quite exquisite and exotic, while simple and clean. A small pool was handy for the little ones to jump in. the setting of the rooms is facing huge mountains, which is at the same time daring and relaxing. Now that I think of it, I actually want to go back, and now

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ourika Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourika Garden

Address: Agbalou | Ourika Valley, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the valley of Ourika, this intimate inn offers breath-taking views, native-styled guest suites which feature, mountain views, fireplaces, sunset setting, soothing sounds of nature. Looking for a romantic weekend or family adventure, this warm guesthouse combine a heavenly experience with modern amenities. Using vegetables grown in our own organic garden, our skilled chef will custom-make delightful meals, along with serenity and warm set up will ensure you can resource yourself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.