We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled, laid-back, flexible and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia

Save Saved
You added Riad Bahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Bahia
66, jnan Ben Chegra | Quartier Mellah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Rheda-Wiedenbruck, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chilled, laid-back, flexible and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

In total I spent 4 nights in this Riad and I enjoyed every minute of it. It's a family-run hotel and everyone is lovely and welcoming. Especially the manager Issam who has always time for his guests. He will always find a solution for a problem if one occurred. He answers all questions and can give you a deeper impression about the Maroccain culture and tradtion. It was easier for me talking to him because he spoke English. Next to Berber and Arabic is French the more common language in this country. Anyway, Issam, his two sisters and the lovely night porter Mohammed made my stay wonderful. I highly recommend this Riad and I will stay there again when I return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at Riad Bahia. It's a small riad but the staff are very accomadating. They even patched up one of our travelers when he hit his head on a low doorway (which we were warned about) The rooms are uniquely decorated and very clean and the water pressure is amazing! (better than at home) The rooftop space is great with an amazing view. The only negatives would be that there is a fountain in the lobby which only seemed to be turned on when we arrived but was off the rest of our stay. It would have been much nicer to hear the sound of running water all the time. The walk from the main square is about 15 minutes and it's a dark walk back at night. We didn't mind since we like quiet areas with easy access to the excitement but if you have a hard time getting around this could be an issue. Overall we would definitley recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent a traumatic night in this riad - i was attacked by bedbugs - still covered in dozens of uncomfortable bites and my right eye swelled closed due to the severity of the attack. In defence of the manager, he was sympathetic and apologetic. After being contacted by Booking,com, i was given a full refund and the manager drove me to my new riad. The rooms are dark and dingy, the place is a bit grubby and run-down. I'd rather chew glass than return there! Have had to fumigate my suitcase and wash everything that was in it - a total pain. it also put a damper on my holiday as i felt unwell and upset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First time in Marrakech, never been staying in a riad, we didn't know what to expect. From the first time we arrived, the staffs have been very helpful despite the language barrier (Google's translator will come handy for this :-)) . Special mention to Issam,the one who has helped us a lot during our stay.

Overall, a good stay and has made our trip to Marrakech memorable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Despite the paper signs tacked to the wall asking people to be quiet, we had a sleepless night as the windows to the room are straight onto a small courtyard that is very echoey. The rooms are small but fine. We had no hot water in the morning and were woken up at 730am by someone knocking to clean our room! We asked to be moved for the second night of our stay in Marrakech.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We couldn't resist not writing a review before leaving the hotel so here we are in Sultan suite writing our comments :-) Our first impression from outside the hotel was not that pleasent however going inside made us change our mind at once. The staff were very welcoming, the very clean and spacious and the food at the terrace was exquisite. We had lamb tagine, beef couscous royal, chicken skewers & couscous with vegetables. At this point we would like to thank all the staff involved including Mahdi the Chef de cuisine, the servers Maraym, Rabid, Halim,Hassan, Hhadija, the receptionists & porters. Thank u all for a great short stay! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautifully decorated interior, air-conditioned rooms, attentive and reliable staff- a very nice place to stay. Superb location (15 minutes to Jemaa el-Fnaa) but removed enough from noise so that the Riad is practically silent most of the time! Breakfast isn't spectacular but provides the necessary energy to tackle the heat outside. There is also a hamam in the riad and lovely Moroccan tea served.
One word of advice: brush up on your French and bring a phrasebook. A couple of the staff do speak English so please don't let that put you off but a little bit of a French goes a long way, both in the riad and the city itself. We had a delightful time here, thank you very much Riad Bahia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia

Address: 66, jnan Ben Chegra | Quartier Mellah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value accommodation Riad Bahia is the best choice to spend a memorable vacation and delightful comfort.Its original style and decor that unites Morocco with the Far East takes you back to the warm of oriental nights. Ideally located in Marrakech, at the heart of the old Medina, just 10 minutes on foot from the magical palace of Jamaa el Fena and the Souks and very close to the Museum of Marrakech and near to the old jewish square Mellah, 50 meters from the Bahia Palace, 5 minutes walk far of Saadian tombs. Also just 5 minutes in car to reach golf royal palm ... Its seven spacious rooms are built around a luminous patio. Decorated in a highly Oriental atmosphere.The rooms are extremely proportioned and generously provide all the refinement and prestige that a visitor would expect . Savour the finest Moroccan cuisine experience, the restaurant is informal and excellent, with typical Moroccan dishes cooked and served to perfection. Our SPA is available for good treatments done by courteous and well-trained people. In all our treatments we use fresh natural products and always of excellent quality. Enjoy a moment of pure pleasure in traditionnal moroccan hammam with relaxing massage makes Riad Bahia a piece of paradise on earth. Available to traditional treatments. Finally a sunny terrace a marvellous environment for relaxation offers panoramic views of the Medina's roofs and the famous Atlas Mountains. It's a solarium during the day and a cool heaven at night where you can enjoy a romantic dinner by candles. Riad Bahia is situated in a calm quarter in the Medina, well suited for a stop and an ideal starting point for exploring the city on foot ( just 10 minutes on foot from Jamaa el fena square ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Venere so you can book your Riad Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.