We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bug nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia

Save Saved
You added Riad Bahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Bahia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66, jnan Ben Chegra | Quartier Mellah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bed bug nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent a traumatic night in this riad - i was attacked by bedbugs - still covered in dozens of uncomfortable bites and my right eye swelled closed due to the severity of the attack. In defence of the manager, he was sympathetic and apologetic. After being contacted by Booking,com, i was given a full refund and the manager drove me to my new riad. The rooms are dark and dingy, the place is a bit grubby and run-down. I'd rather chew glass than return there! Have had to fumigate my suitcase and wash everything that was in it - a total pain. it also put a damper on my holiday as i felt unwell and upset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First time in Marrakech, never been staying in a riad, we didn't know what to expect. From the first time we arrived, the staffs have been very helpful despite the language barrier (Google's translator will come handy for this :-)) . Special mention to Issam,the one who has helped us a lot during our stay.

Overall, a good stay and has made our trip to Marrakech memorable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Despite the paper signs tacked to the wall asking people to be quiet, we had a sleepless night as the windows to the room are straight onto a small courtyard that is very echoey. The rooms are small but fine. We had no hot water in the morning and were woken up at 730am by someone knocking to clean our room! We asked to be moved for the second night of our stay in Marrakech.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We couldn't resist not writing a review before leaving the hotel so here we are in Sultan suite writing our comments :-) Our first impression from outside the hotel was not that pleasent however going inside made us change our mind at once. The staff were very welcoming, the very clean and spacious and the food at the terrace was exquisite. We had lamb tagine, beef couscous royal, chicken skewers & couscous with vegetables. At this point we would like to thank all the staff involved including Mahdi the Chef de cuisine, the servers Maraym, Rabid, Halim,Hassan, Hhadija, the receptionists & porters. Thank u all for a great short stay! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautifully decorated interior, air-conditioned rooms, attentive and reliable staff- a very nice place to stay. Superb location (15 minutes to Jemaa el-Fnaa) but removed enough from noise so that the Riad is practically silent most of the time! Breakfast isn't spectacular but provides the necessary energy to tackle the heat outside. There is also a hamam in the riad and lovely Moroccan tea served.
One word of advice: brush up on your French and bring a phrasebook. A couple of the staff do speak English so please don't let that put you off but a little bit of a French goes a long way, both in the riad and the city itself. We had a delightful time here, thank you very much Riad Bahia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stay 4 night in this riad and now we love Morocco and his beautiful person.
In the riad we stay like at home ... with a family, a good family. The room are clean and the service very very good and 24h of 24h.
The breakfast is excellent.
See you soon Morocco...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a riad before, I wasn't sure what to expect. The reviews were good , so my friend and I thought we'd give it a go!
Issam, is extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are perfectly functional, but feel a bit odd with no windows other than onto the central courtyard. Which I am reliably informed, is normal for a riad!
The breakfast includes lovely fresh orange juice, coffee and croissants.
There is a roof terrace with fabulous views, and a lovely space to relax and soak up the sunshine. All the staff are very friendly with Mohammed and the lovely housekeeper making us very welcome.
The riad is on the edge of the mellah, which means it's about a 15/20-minute walk from the djemma el fna, but we felt it was all the better for it.
Overall, lovely stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia

Address: 66, jnan Ben Chegra | Quartier Mellah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Bahia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value accommodation Riad Bahia is the best choice to spend a memorable vacation and delightful comfort.Its original style and decor that unites Morocco with the Far East takes you back to the warm of oriental nights. Ideally located in Marrakech, at the heart of the old Medina, just 10 minutes on foot from the magical palace of Jamaa el Fena and the Souks and very close to the Museum of Marrakech and near to the old jewish square Mellah, 50 meters from the Bahia Palace, 5 minutes walk far of Saadian tombs. Also just 5 minutes in car to reach golf royal palm ... Its seven spacious rooms are built around a luminous patio. Decorated in a highly Oriental atmosphere.The rooms are extremely proportioned and generously provide all the refinement and prestige that a visitor would expect . Savour the finest Moroccan cuisine experience, the restaurant is informal and excellent, with typical Moroccan dishes cooked and served to perfection. Our SPA is available for good treatments done by courteous and well-trained people. In all our treatments we use fresh natural products and always of excellent quality. Enjoy a moment of pure pleasure in traditionnal moroccan hammam with relaxing massage makes Riad Bahia a piece of paradise on earth. Available to traditional treatments. Finally a sunny terrace a marvellous environment for relaxation offers panoramic views of the Medina's roofs and the famous Atlas Mountains. It's a solarium during the day and a cool heaven at night where you can enjoy a romantic dinner by candles. Riad Bahia is situated in a calm quarter in the Medina, well suited for a stop and an ideal starting point for exploring the city on foot ( just 10 minutes on foot from Jamaa el fena square ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Budget Places and Venere so you can book your Riad Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;