We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia

Save Saved
You added Riad Bahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Bahia
66, jnan Ben Chegra | Quartier Mellah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Riad was great. Like staying with family. Very laid back and helpful. The manager Issam took us around the local restaurants and gave us loads of advice. Very clean and breakfast was great. Can't believe it was so reasonably priced. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave the room an average was because the lighting was not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Typical Moroccan riad, with a nice courtyard surrounded by rooms. A little hard to find, especially if you search it with the suitcase, surrounded by street boys who want to 'help' you and then ask you exorbitant tips.
The riad is beautiful and well furnished and decorated, with elegant and comfortable rooms, even if a little cold in winter: I suggest you to switch the air conditioner on as soon as you arrive and keep open the bathroom's door, so as to heat it as well.
There is no window on the street: it is definitely an advantage for privacy and tranquility, but, in this way, the room is a little dark and it is difficult to change the air. Bring a tablet with you and take advantage of the free wi-fi, because there is only one satellite channel in English.
The door of the room is not insulated, so you'll hear the noise from the courtyard (one night we were woken up by some guests a bit noisy). The breakfast is good and the rooms are tidied up often and well, even though we would have liked some fresh towels more.
The staff is friendly and polite, but you get used to the Moroccan rhythms: then you should not be in a hurry! Also, expect that they try to sell you something, as every good Moroccan: eg. the hammam of the hotel, which we think is a bit expensive (we suggest the Koutoubia Spa, on the road from the riad to Jemaa El-Fna). However, any request by our side was always met with great kindness.
We made little use of the beautiful terrace because of the cold air, but the view over the city and surroundings is very very beautiful.
The riad is little away from the Jemaa El Fna square, but don't let that scare you: it's worth doing some nice walks in the alleys of the city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed in 2 other Riad's with similar prices in that same period, and in my opinion they were better value-for-money. The Riad was not always very clean, rooms are rather dark and damp, and especially if you have a room at ground level there is a lot of noice coming in from the patio. Service was very friendly and accomodating though, even if sometimes slow and seemingly unprepared for the size of our group (12 adults).

Room Tip: If you value a good night's rest, and there's other guests staying in the Riad, make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights. The staff here are wonderful and kind - always with a smile and always willing to help. The breakfast that they prepare is tasty and a nice way to start the day. The rooftop patio is great.

I stayed in two different rooms. Both were comfortable, but the first one was quite small and had a smell of cigarettes. After watching a fellow guest walk around the riad with a cigarette in her mouth, I think I understand why.

The location is pretty good - on the edge of, but not in, the souks. The walk home at night is definitely scarier than if you were staying right in the heart of town, and so I would recommend walking in a group or taking a taxi.

I would stay here again, except if it was in the warmer months, where a place with a pool would probably be worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Near Mellah, at 10 mins from jaama El fna square. Great experience about all. Just all things were perfect! Clean, great breakfast, great staff! Thanks!

And they bring us to take our rented car.

Great!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Entering the Riad Bahai our first impressions were the lovely atmosphere and the decoration was so nice and colourful which gave us an uplifting feeling and this impression stayed with us as we enter all the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean and tidy and fresh. We slept well heard little noise from the outside. The breakfast was bread, pastries and jam and juice, coffee - all fresh and enjoyable - we could eat as much as we wanted. The staff were very helpful telling us which places we could visit and what was local to us. There was many relaxing places to sit in the riad if you did not want to stay in the room. The roof terraced overlooked the city was such a relaxing place - we could also eat there. - The traditional Morrocan cuisine was very well presented and enjoyable to eat. There was 24 hour service which was used a few times in the early hours our requests were met with smiles. Free Wi-fi which was excellent. We had a real enjoyable time and would recommend this. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This riad has a very nice decoration, as the pictures show. Unfortunately the rooms don't have any window to the outside, therefore they're a bit smelly and humid. The breakfast was great (fresh OJ, pastries). The staff was very helpful, but they always have something to sell... shuttle to/from the airport, day trips, hammam, massage, tea, etc.
The doors to the room are poorly isolated, therefore not so much privacy, and you can hear noise when other guests are in the patio.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia

Address: 66, jnan Ben Chegra | Quartier Mellah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value accommodation Riad Bahia is the best choice to spend a memorable vacation and delightful comfort.Its original style and decor that unites Morocco with the Far East takes you back to the warm of oriental nights. Ideally located in Marrakech, at the heart of the old Medina, just 10 minutes on foot from the magical palace of Jamaa el Fena and the Souks and very close to the Museum of Marrakech and near to the old jewish square Mellah, 50 meters from the Bahia Palace, 5 minutes walk far of Saadian tombs. Also just 5 minutes in car to reach golf royal palm ... Its seven spacious rooms are built around a luminous patio. Decorated in a highly Oriental atmosphere.The rooms are extremely proportioned and generously provide all the refinement and prestige that a visitor would expect . Savour the finest Moroccan cuisine experience, the restaurant is informal and excellent, with typical Moroccan dishes cooked and served to perfection. Our SPA is available for good treatments done by courteous and well-trained people. In all our treatments we use fresh natural products and always of excellent quality. Enjoy a moment of pure pleasure in traditionnal moroccan hammam with relaxing massage makes Riad Bahia a piece of paradise on earth. Available to traditional treatments. Finally a sunny terrace a marvellous environment for relaxation offers panoramic views of the Medina's roofs and the famous Atlas Mountains. It's a solarium during the day and a cool heaven at night where you can enjoy a romantic dinner by candles. Riad Bahia is situated in a calm quarter in the Medina, well suited for a stop and an ideal starting point for exploring the city on foot ( just 10 minutes on foot from Jamaa el fena square ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.