We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Marrakech's best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ultimo Bacio - CLOSED

Ultimo Bacio
Angle rue Tarik Ibn Ziad & Moulay Ali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-58913
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $56 - $168
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pub, Pasta, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: L'Ultimo Bacio is an Italian restaurant, where the chef Salvatore introduces us to the delights of the country of the boot.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of Marrakech's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed a fine meal at this authentically Italian restaurant in the New City at Marrakech. As previous reviewers have said, most people will have to take a taxi to go there -- make sure you find a taxi driver who knows where it is! We had no trouble finding it as the driver knew of the restaurant and took us right to it! (There is no big outside signage -- look for a floor mat with "Ultimo Bacio" in front of the door.)

The service was attentive, professional and efficient -- like many places in Marrakech the place gets really full during peak season and I can imagine the service staff might have more difficulty coping, so a tip: arrive early, as we did (8 pm) and have a fine meal served at the proper pace.

The food is quite good -- close to authentically Italian flavors. Morocaan use of olive oil is a two-edged sword -- the oil in this place was excellent and full of flavor (dipping the bread in it was wonderful, as was drizzling it on the bresaola), but there is a tendency to have a bit of a heavy hand in some of the dishes (especially the pastas). Desserts were excllent -- the trio of cremes brulees offered some unique flavor comparisons and the molten chocolate cake was decadent enough to make this chocoholic happy for several hours.

Relatively good selection of wines available -of course the Moroccan wines are priced much more favorably and there are some quite respectable ones available, but the winelist also includes European choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    90
    23
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Have eaten here twice in the last week as it was a surprise to find such a great, modern Italian in Marrakech!

Firstly, I don't understand why some previous reviews claim it's difficult to find - we have a long history of getting lost and we had no problems (it's on Rue Moulay Ali at crossroads with Rue Tariq Ben Ziad).

The quality of the food was excellent. Particular highlights included the squid-ink linguine, fresh seafood spaghetti and a perfect Steak served with peppercorn sauce and mash. Also, the selection of crème brulees (rosemary, vanilla and cinnamon) and the Torta al Limone with meringue should not be missed. The only disappointing dish we ordered was the Pizzette with mozzarella starter and the only complaint there was the base was too thick - but this was long forgotten once the mains arrived!

Service was attentive and efficient with very friendly waiters and Management.

Despite visiting on a Monday and Wednesday evening in December, there were enough other diners for a little atmosphere.

A seriously good place to eat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Have to try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excellent and fast service, good food for very good price. The restaurant was ful but atmosphere was still good and staff were organised and attentive . Would recommend it to everybody.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never managed to find it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Despite asking the locals and phoning the restaurant which is just a mobile number never managed to find it. Went by taxi to ensure we found the place but he could not locate it either. Spoke to two locals who had never heard of it as well as two English people who live in the area but to no avail. We had booked a table, we phoned the restaurant for directions several times. It the phone was not answered. English couple recommended another italian restaurant that all the locals eat in. We went here and had a lovely meal. See our other reviews. Ultimo need to do something about their advertising and maps which are poorly defined.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, brilliant manager, food incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We found this restaurant on trip advisor and went twice during our holiday. It is frequented mainly by locals/ expats living in Marrakech, which is always a good sign. Always packed, didn't book either night but the Manager (Italian, sorry didn't get his name) but absolutely brilliant. Runs the show like it is his own business. Didn't turn anyone away, ushered us to the bar for a drink while he found us a table. Very welcoming and managing a clearly, very busy restaurant. Food was wonderful & ambience fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultimo Bacio also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultimo Bacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.