We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Renaissance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Renaissance to your Saves list
Hotel La Renaissance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Angle Bld Zerktouni et Mohamed V Gueliz | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

wr didn't stay in the hotel. We visited the sky bar. If you in Marrakech then the sky bar is one place to visit. The cocktails are spot on and the other drinks are good value for money not skimpy little things. We arrived just before sunset and the views are amazing. As the sun sets the city lights up. I'm not over keen on heights however felt really safe while looking at the views.would definitely recommend this venue.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    90
    30
    27
    33
See reviews for
25
105
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were in this hotel for 2 nihgt only and we had enough!!! Loud music, dirty rooms with massive cockroaches, non working air condition, terrible food in the bar, cheating waiters (two girls especially), rude staff in the bar and restaurants!!! Cancel your booking in this hotel if you can!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are dirty with cockroaches!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

You can do much better than Hotel La Renaissance in Marrakech. Our room had no curtains, no towels, and no glasses and the floor had not been swept we we arrived. It took two requests to have towels delivered to our room. We were unapologetically told no glasses were available but that we could ask at the restaurant next door. We have since learned that there are many good mid-priced restaurants in the area and we made a bad pick.

Room Tip: There are lots of good mid-priced rooms in the area. Be a better shopper than we were :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Clean room, efficient breakfast, helpful (but not fluent in English) staff, nice view from Skybar. Easy to find from airport.

You would need to be able to ignore the occasional sewer smell in the rooms, music from the bars at night (3rd floor), paying €4-6 for a beer, network coming and going, insane traffic noise on balcony - and staff serving a chicken salad as their only vegetarian option. However, I suspect this is not much different in any other hotel inside the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My partner and I have just finished a weeks stay at La Renaissance in Marrakech, On arrival we were shown to a room which was dirty and not up to standard, we complained and were quickly moved to a far better, but smaller room. The hotel in general is quite tired but has some lovely features like the rooftop bar and panoramic resturant.

The breakfasts were excellent throughout the week and the staff in all bars/restaurants were very attentive and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the sky bar although cocktails are very expensive and there is a very limited selection of wine.

The pool is within the Aqua Restaurant on the 6th floor which means it is not particularly useable. during the day sun loungers are placed by the pool so you can sunbathe and go for a dip during the day but it is not really useable in the evenings. The pool is very small and shallow so this was disappointing.

The location is great, it is much better if you want to have a few drinks to be located in the old town as it is possible to have a drink here, be careful of taxi drivers wanting to charge you 50-100DHS to get into the Medina - it should cost around 300DHS!

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to superior room - we paid for a superior room but swapped into a standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

You may be thinking, why it’s taken a couple of months after the visit to write this, but I really had to think hard of all the issues that occurred to make sure a true reflection was given of my experience.

We arrived at the hotel on-time at approx. 2.15. We were greeted by the receptionist he began to take our details, we were asked to take a seat as our room was not quite ready. We waited patiently in the lobby area. The receptionist never asked if we wanted a drink such as Green tea a common customary welcome drink served everywhere in Morocco!

We had a mix of currency, Euros and Morrocan currency, we were told that they will only accept local currency and required payment immediately, my partner was directed to the exchange bureau and requested to change our Euros to Dirhams, which he did happily. Note: Our room was booked directly on their website and the reservation was in Euros. We didn’t want to cause any negative relationships, so we happily agreed to change it to the currency that he asked for.

Half an hour later we were taken to our room. We were given a small room, with a worn out balcony, a table with 1 chair that was also worn out. When I asked for additional chair for the balcony we were told to use the chair from the room!

Breakfast at the following day was fine, although we were greeted with a swamp of flies that kept getting in the way, the food choice was satisfactory. 2nd day breakfast was abysmal, they ran out of bread, yogurt and eggs! When we asked for more we were told they were unable to. We noted that we still had 30 minutes for breakfast time to, again another shocking service. Inattentive staff and quite withdrawn and far from providing a good service.

Our booking included a Hammam, we checked in on a Saturday we had Sunday and Monday available and we were flying back on Tuesday, on Sunday my partner called reception to book the Hammam, we were told it is closed on a Monday and we can’t use it. He was upset, as something like this should have been mentioned at the time of check-in but it was missed out, we were not informed of the opening times. As one can expect, my partner requested to speak to someone senior, we waited the whole evening and non-one got in touch. We called the reception on 3 occasions and each time we were told that the message has been passed on.

On Monday, I had a feeling that the room we were given is not a superior but a standard. I went onto the Renaissance website, my suspicions were correct we had been allocated the wrong room, so we went down to reception and requested to speak to the manager.

We waited an hour and the sales manager showed up, I went through the entire ordeal with her, the manager at first denied the room mix-up, she rang and confirmed with the cleaners and another member of staff and was sure that I had made a mistake, so I questioned her and asked; well.. where is my bath tub? – I asked the manager what does she feel the difference is between a standard and superior room? They got out the room plans, and realised that ALL the hotel staff, the cleaners, porter, receptionist and manager made a mistake, we were in fact staying in a standard room – a room that we did not book it was a cheaper room.

We were given an apology and we were told that we will be moved to a deluxe suit to show how sorry they were of their pitfalls. In addition to this the manager arranged for the Hammam to be opened early on Tuesday morning at 7.30 so that we can use the facility 1st thing before our flight. We happily took the apology and upgraded our room.

On the morning of Tuesday, promptly my partner and I met up with the porter who took us to the Hammam. It was still shut, no-one had prepared for us, it was dark and had a funny smell. The porter took 20 minutes to open the doors whilst we waited in the dark. Once the lights were on, we had the biggest shock of our lives… there were cockroaches EVERYWHERE!!!! Every step we took we came across gigantic cockroaches, my partner and I had enough and we walked out. The porter who came with us, was also nodding his head in despair. We went straight to our rooms, changed, packed our bags and left, knowing we waited a day and a half for the last manager to show her face, we knew we had no hope of seeing anyone and we didn’t want to risk missing our flight, we simply had enough and left.

Unfortunately, this entire section of our trip caused a lot of anxiety, upset and put a damper on our holiday, really wished I’d never booked this hotel.

This was our personal experience, now for a general review of the hotel.

No introduction of the hotel or its facilities
Grand modern clean hotel lobby entrance
The hotel pictures do not reflect the truth
Club downstairs in tiny
Swimming pool on the roof top is a bird bath for Pigeons and bird excrement
Décor in the Standard room needs modernising, broken tiles, broken shower and dirty Curtains
Deluxe Room was lovely, clean and spacious
Bar over priced and over rated
Sewage smell in rooms
No facility such as Hair dryer or Iron
4 Sun Loungers on roof top terrace
Badly Run and Managed


Over all I had a bad experience and will not be going to the hotel again and certainly will not recommend it either.

Room Tip: Dont book here, unless your paying next to nothing for it. Not worth the price tag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was in the same group that checked in on Good Friday and I can't reiterate enough what a terrible hotel this is. From the fact that it took 4 hours to get our rooms ready to the fact that the one room they then gave us (we had booked 2) stank of sewage, there were absolutely no redeeming features about this hotel.
I have stayed in some very budget hotels around the world and have never experienced service as terrible as this. After being given the most disgusting room the concierge was the least helpful person I have ever come across. It took us two hours or arguing for him to even attempt to contact the manager (who wouldn't answer the phone even in an emergency during her "break" from 12pm to 3pm).
I don't want to repeat what has been said below, but as someone who never writes reviews and rarely believes the negative ones I just had to say that if you have any intention of having an enjoyable stay in Marrakech, please please do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: No tips - do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Renaissance

Address: 89 Angle Bld Zerktouni et Mohamed V Gueliz | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Renaissance is situated in central Marrakesh. It has a rooftop bar and swimming pool overlooking the fashionable Gueliz district and with views of the Atlas mountains.Each guest room at the Hotel La Renaissance has air conditioning, a private balcony, TV and free Wi-Fi.Guests of the Renaissance can sunbathe on the terrace and relax in the Hammam, which also offers massage treatment.The hotel’s Dahab bar serves a variety of cocktails and offers a live DJ in the evenings.The hotel’s Aqua Pazza restaurant serves fresh Italian cuisine and offers top-floor views over Marrakech. La Renaissance Bresserie offers gourmet, Parisien style cuisine.Hotel Rooms: 45. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.