We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel...........& great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Renaissance

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Renaissance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Renaissance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Angle Bld Zerktouni et Mohamed V Gueliz | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sompting, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel...........& great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights in an executive room @ the Renaissance for my wife's birthday & would certainly recommend it as a great place to stay, & very central. the decor has a clean, cool retro feel (very 70's chic) with a cubed design & white leather in the rooms & dining areas. The drinks are a little expensive in the amazing Sky Bar, but it is a city so you probably would expect to pay these prices. Rooms are spacious, very well decorated & designed & the bathroom was really smart.The only negative was the fact we were staying mid-week & each night the basement techno disco was annoyingly loud & you could hear it from floor 4 downwards. We are not ones to complain as we have been on "clubbing holidays" but this really didn't fit in with the whole ambience, so i hope the Renaissance can do something about this as every night was like being in a techno nightclub! Apart from that staff were very friendly & helpful, breakfast was really good, especially the Omlette station, the restaurants were quite resonable & good quality & Hassan on the reception desk was excellent & very helpful.

Room Tip: Try a room on the top floors to avoid disco noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    80
    27
    27
    31
See reviews for
22
99
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We went to celebrate my 40 th Birthday and after a lot of research, we definitely picked the right hotel,excellent location,really nice staff very freindly if you try a little bit bit of French even if it's only hello,pleas and thank you.
The room was great,food great,pool and sky bar amazing,breakfast was simple but tasty and could not complain about anything.please ask me any questions about taxis,money,shops,food and drink,would love to answer them, and thanks again to la renaissance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We did not stay in this hotel, but went for drinks as it was my son's 21st birthday. The first time we went to the sky bar, {fabulous}. Fantastic views and a lovely breeze in this stifling city. the drinks were a bit expensive, but thats what you would expect for a top hotel. The service was good a bit slow, the waitress very polite.
We had a couple of flags a piece 50drms a bottle and a platter of finger food for 2 at 150drms, which consisted of hot spicy chicken, small sausages, various salads and fried prawns, lovely!!. I wanted more but it was a bit too expensive, but nice for a treat.
The day after we visited the ground floor bar, they serve meals as well. It has an outdoor seeting area as well, but can get a bit dusty and noisy. We sat at the bar inside, nice and cool. The same drinks were cheaper than the sky bar at 30drms for a bottle of flag. You pay for the scenery upstairs [worth it] Will be going back again next year. Anybody going to Marrakesh in near future, a must to visit even for only 1 drink. [Take your camera]

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've never felt compelled to write a review before but I relied upon them so much when looking into booking a hotel in Marrakech I thought I would return the favour to help others.

My wife and I just spent 3 nights in a junior suite at La Renaissance and would happily go back.

I booked with the hotel directly and got a great price, the staff were freindly and helpful.

The hotel arranged the pickup from the airport for us which I would highly recommend, it costs 20euro (200dhm) which is twice what you would pay for a petit taxi but when you land at night and are disorientated it was lovely to have the simplicity.

Check in was smooth and simple, and we sat drinking mint tea whilst forms were filled.

The room was fantastic - bigger, cleaner and better than expected. The bathroom was one of the best I have had and the air conditioning worked well and was silent (always an issue for my wife).

I have read a few reports about the breakfasts and agree that it was not as fresh or as hot as it could have been, that said, I have eaten much worse breakfasts at far more expensive hotels, the service was cheery and quick and the breakfast room and patio a delight.

We didn't eat in the restruant so can't comment on that but we used the rooftop bar which was great (why don't they make more of being the highest building in town?) although the service was bordering on the slow side of relaxed.

As for location we found lots to do and great restruants in the local area (highly recommend Azar) and we walked into town most of the time (one straight road) which was fantastic.

There is a lot more I could say but you get the gist, I was there to have fun, not to review the hotel and for me I couldn't have been happier with it.

The only negatives (and I'm stretching here) there was no clock in the room which is a pet hate of mine, and there were 2 TV's in the room and everytime you changed channel on one TV the other one turned on/off/up/over - we ended up unplugging one.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but judging from the room plan junior suites are well worth the upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start ! No room service as after what ever time they want to say even thought it say 24 hour room service on the email they sent me ! I had to move rooms as the first room had not been cleaned at all , the balcony is filthy dirty u can't sit down without getting dirty ! The bar is a rip off it's cheaper in central London ! If u ask the guy at reception anything you can't get a straight answer they just say they don't know or say ask tommrow or just fob you off ! This place is a joke! Iv never ever made a review but really felt a had to about this place I'm even writing this from the hotel room be warned do not stay here under any circumstances ,its very very bad !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Great location of hotel,noise not a distraction from outside or club. Lot of choice of places to eat around and taxi rank outside if needed. Swimming pool small but does the trick. Complimentary juice on arrival and shown around room and luggage late brought up. Guide service was provided paid 400 D. Rather expensive for what we saw, but would not recommend going to souks without guide. Airport transfer
On return, driver dropped in taxi area and we had to take our own luggage in. Seems like he did not want to park and pay a charge but considering we were paying 200 D expected more. P.s housekeeping were really good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from Marrakesh. Spent a week out there. With regards to the hotel it was mostly very good, the room was fine, the rooftop pool and bar was a real gem, the staff on the desk were very helpful with reasonably good English (French is widely spoken all over Marrakesh) The tv in the rooms only had 3 english channels (BBC world news and 2 movie channels) The downside is that the whole breakfast is really sub-standard (this has also been reflected in a number of reviews already here, take not of a recent one from some friends we met regarding the breakfast) The range of food available is generally down to fruit options, some cereal and either scrambled or a boiled egg. The staff in the restaurant were not very attentive to us and the language barrier here was at its worst, service was exceptionally slow and the overall breakfast experience wasn't a good one. But overall this is quite a good hotel and we would stay again. There is a nice cafe opposite Mcdonalds called Cafe Du La Poste! This is about 10-12 mins walk from the hotel and worth visiting for a decent breakfast, we had 2 decent coffee's, OJ and Bacon & Eggs! It came to £20 but you are on holiday.

Room Tip: Higher up the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Renaissance

Address: 89 Angle Bld Zerktouni et Mohamed V Gueliz | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Renaissance 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Renaissance is situated in central Marrakesh. It has a rooftop bar and swimming pool overlooking the fashionable Gueliz district and with views of the Atlas mountains.Each guest room at the Hotel La Renaissance has air conditioning, a private balcony, TV and free Wi-Fi.Guests of the Renaissance can sunbathe on the terrace and relax in the Hammam, which also offers massage treatment.The hotel’s Dahab bar serves a variety of cocktails and offers a live DJ in the evenings.The hotel’s Aqua Pazza restaurant serves fresh Italian cuisine and offers top-floor views over Marrakech. La Renaissance Bresserie offers gourmet, Parisien style cuisine.Hotel Rooms: 45. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.