We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant riad in Jewish quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Crystal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Crystal to your Saves list
Dar Crystal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb El Fath no5 | Es Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant riad in Jewish quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Don't be fooled by exterior, Dar Crystal is a pleasant riad in the Jewish quarter. Friendly staff were attentive despite the late hour of arrival (nearly 1am) offering tea. Family of four, we had two spacious rooms, one with a tub. However, limited hotwater. Basic Moroccan breakfast of yummy breads and jam with fresh orange juice served in the morning. Easy walk to sites. Nice riad for an authentic visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    53
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a very comfortable quiet Ryad within walking distance to the Jemaa el Fna and palais el Bahia in the jewish quarters (Mellah). Very nice and helpful personnel and nice french owner. Perfect for a mid-week exploration of wonderful Marrakech

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just as imagined, a calm oasis away from the hustle and bustle. Zacharia there was very helpful with our needs, though our short stay didn't leave us much time for home cooked foods and hammam there. Staff keen to make sure stay enjoyable, even to getting breakfast early when a day trip was planned.
Make sure to book airport transfers in advance from the riad, as would not like to try to find it myself on the first night. Would definitely use again, if life takes me back to Marrakach...

Room Tip: Aim high! We found ourselves in a bottom courtyard room, but a room at the top caught our attention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

To begin with we didn't know where to go, or what to do, the friendly staff in the Riad went out of there way to make sure we were taken care of in every instance. They literally couldn't help out enough. The authentic Morrocan food was excellent. An ideal location for exploring the old town Medina and Souk markets. Top marks!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nothing wrong with place nice owner and good friendly staff. Priced correctly and not far from main square, location can be a off putting at first ( Jewish quarter ) but it's safe to walk around.
Rooms not bad but I'd come in summer if I came again!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A totally relaxing and peaceful place to stay with small comfortable rooms and ensuite facilities. Close to the Badii and Bahia palaces.

The staff where really helpful giving directions and even started breakfast early when we had to leave early. When our flight arrived late in the evening they arranged to pick us up from the airport and cooked us dinner.

We loved watching the sun set from the roof terrace and sitting in the courtyard 'snug' relaxing after a busy day in the maddness of marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Quiet with good rooms (& air conditioning !" Staff were so helpful even giving us their mobile numbers incase we got lost. Would recommend this Dar as great location with amazing staff. The markets and square are easy to find and taxis can get close even though its within the medina

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Crystal

Address: Derb El Fath no5 | Es Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar crystal, luxury riad in marrakech dedicated to relaxation & sobriety.this prestigious house is an exclusive cocoon of 8 bedrooms with ensuite bethrooms, pool, hammam, massages room & a fantastic sun-bed terrace, linking contempory look & traditional materials.5 mn walk from souks & palaces (bahia, baldi), 10 mn from jemaa el fna square & 10 mn drive from three golf courts. gorgeous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Crystal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.