We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The inhouse staff make this Riad special.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Crystal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Crystal to your Saves list
Dar Crystal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb El Fath no5 | Es Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Derby/ London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The inhouse staff make this Riad special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The location of the Riad is in the Mellah a bohemian (basic/shabby/locals) area.

Although we didn't encounter any problems I would be conscious of safety if I was a lone traveller. This is not the kind of area for austentatious displays (designer clothes, OTT jewellery etc). The locals are warm and say good morning or good evening. Inside our Riad it was quite the opposite to the outside alleyways.

The prices at the Riad are same if not more expensive as the costs in the UK. So do not expect that because this Marrakech Riad and it is not in the euro zone or the similarity it to an English guesthouse it will be reasonable or competitive to UK  prices. We didn't get a chance to eat at the Riad instead we ate at Jemma El Fna square. The Sq is a real dining experience and extremely entertaining.

The home once of a Jewish family the Riad and it's rooms have been renovated with a contemporary touch. The spaces are lovely with hints of moroccan design kept. There is a serene court yard at its heart and a roof terrace. Having air conditioning in the room was a nice extra however surprisingly you don't really need it as design of the Riad means it stays cool.

The staff are extremely helpful and respectful as in top hotels.

You do need to have a little French to get on in Marrakech if you stay at a non-English speaking hotel. We were fortunate that the owner and one member of staff spoke English. The others are making the effort to learn under the instruction of another team member. Still there were times when communication was misunderstood and things we're therefore not as we'd like.

If you want to be part of Marrekech, this Riad's location with its locals on your doorstep is a must. If you prefer large faceless hotels with a big swimming pool then staying outside the city walls is a better idea or Hiverage area.

Would I go again...yes but not until I've visited other destinations on my visit list.


Our top tip to share is to visit the Hamman nearest to Palace Bahia. It costs 270 dirham for a complete package (steam/shower/shampoo/salt scrub/massage/bikin bottoms/towel and robe). You can also break the package down and take individual items. Don't forget your hair conditioner as this is not supplied.

For 130 dirham if you want a day off and a chance to enjoy the scorching  heat go to the water park Oasiria. As you have to buy food and drink onsite use the seated area by the adult pool. It costs around 100 dirham for a small seating area for the day. The seats are white canvas and you chillax.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    53
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great city and what an excellent riad! From when we first met Brahim at the palace and he walked us to the riad I knew we were in good hands. The riad itself was comfortable, clean and relaxed. The service was excellent and Brahim's attention to detail was great. There were six of us in the riad, for a hens party . Brahim gave us excellent recommendations of where to go and what to do. He left us alone when he knew we wanted to relax by ourselves and he attended to our every need. The facilities in the riad were clean and very comfortable. I slept well, ate excellent breakfasts and really enjoyed the swims in the afternoon to cool off after a long day exploring the city. I would recommend Dar Crystal Riad to everyone!

Room Tip: Upstairs is best. Specify beforehand if you want double beds or twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wonderful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It is a wonderfully run hotel by a family who really care about the small things, ranging from the wonderful food, the welcome drinks to the fantastic pool, an absolute must on a 50 degree August day.

Great value for money. I would recommend getting them to arrange a pick up from the airport as it could be tricky for a first time visitor to find.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the roof - great view of Marrakech
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

After 3 days trekking in the High Atlas our group of family and friends (12 of us ) arrived in Marrakech in a minibus withour air-con in temperatures in the mid 40s. We were dropped off outside the gates of the Palais El Bahia and guided/taken by a baggage porter through narrow, smelly streets and alleyways that seemed to get progressively narrower into the mellah where we eventually came to the very low profile door of the Dar Crystal.We entered sweaty, tired andnot a little anxious.but we need not have worried for we were greeted with an oasis of calm, courtesy and total relaxation.Sadly we only spent one night there but the service was impeccable ,the rooms were full of a cool individual character and the dinner and breakfast were of a very high quality.Our younger members thought the pool was 'brilliant' and their rather noisy appreciation of it was greeted with a smile by the wonderful staff who brushed aside our apologies for the youthful exuberance and encouraged us all to consired the Dar Crystal our temporary home.Service of this kind is very rare and management and staff can take a well deserved bow!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Dear Bruno and all the staff of Dar Crystal,


We have enjoyed our stay in Marrakesh so much. And especially at the Dar Crystal! Thank you for that, because after the great rescue at inmigration where we entered without a visa for my Costa Rican husband, you also offered us a stay through which we felt totally welcome and at home. The beautiful small treasure you hold of peace and serenity in the buzzling city of Marrakesh and the friendly and warm service of the staff was a dream come true. Marrakesh is magical and will hold a special place in our hearts. Thank you for our stay at the riad and please remember to be very welcome in Costa Rica as well.


Special regards from our little son Paulo as well!


Hope to see each other again here or maybe at the Dar Crystal again. I have added some pictures from our experience.


Kind regards,


Noortje, Franklin & Paulo

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Where to start........ Bruno and Mathilde offer to arrange transport from the airport and I recommend you use it as we would never have found our way there otherwise. Once there Brahim gave us a map and explained a lot about Marrakech....where to go...what to see and often extras not mentioned in the guide book.....all recommendations were great and this crash course helped us to avoid getting lost.

The raid is very peaceful and tastefully decorated although a bit tired in places. The inner courtyard with a welcome cool plunge pool was a nice place to hang out. We stayed in the suite on the roof which was super....views from the rooftop terrace over the city were amazing. Our only negative remark would be that the pictures on the website made the rooftop terrace look much nicer than it actually was. In fact the photos on the hotel website gloss over the tired look of the furnishings. But please don't be put off this raid is certainly charming.

Breakfast was amazing with more than enough food to start your day. We especially liked the Morrocan pancakes and the sweet potato jam. Brahim and Youseff served us on the roof terrace and that was a real treat.

The location is perfect to have a first hand experience of the madness that is Marrakech. You are only a few minutes walk from all of the main sights.

I would definitely stay here again........

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

A riad inside the medina is not supposed to be easy to find, and Dar Crystal was no exception. However the welcoming was superb and we almost imediately forgot the caos of the past 30 minutes or so. We really felt in a little paradise!! As my husband is Moroccan and it was my 6th time in Marrakech I didn't expect many more surprises but it was a great experience altogether.
In spite of the pool be really small my children had great fun and were not told off for being splashing water outside it. The roof terrace was something and the full moon was an extra guest for our night. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Crystal

Address: Derb El Fath no5 | Es Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#127 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar crystal, luxury riad in marrakech dedicated to relaxation & sobriety.this prestigious house is an exclusive cocoon of 8 bedrooms with ensuite bethrooms, pool, hammam, massages room & a fantastic sun-bed terrace, linking contempory look & traditional materials.5 mn walk from souks & palaces (bahia, baldi), 10 mn from jemaa el fna square & 10 mn drive from three golf courts. gorgeous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Crystal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.