We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant! Definitely Recommend!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
MonRiad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offer-Deal on Deal
Ranked #97 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant! Definitely Recommend!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I chose this Riad based upon the great ratings and reviews it has on here; I wasn't disappointed!

This was my first holiday without parents and I went with my girlfriend for a week, which I would say is a good length of time to stay for. We decided not to book through a company and directly e-mailed the Riad using the link on here. Manuela replied promptly and it was incredibly easy to book and place a deposit down. She also was quick to reply and very accommodating; even organising additional trips for us, such as a private 4x4 trip to the Atlas mountains and camel riding with an exclusive meal at a local house. Both trips I would fervently advise doing!

We arrived late in the evening (typical Ryan air) and were promptly picked up from the airport to the Riad. Unlike hotels, where you have to deal with booking in and collecting keys before you can relax, the Monriad immediately welcomed us and had already set the table and prepared dinner. After giving us time to relax and unwind after a stressful day of travelling, they then gave us information on Morocco and Marrakech itself. They showed us, on a map they provided, places of interest depending upon what interested us; for example I love history and so they showed us historical monuments and museums, but my girlfriend loves shopping and so they told us about the souks and showed us where the best markets were.

Manuela, Hossny and all of the other staff are incredibly friendly, easily approachable and genuinely nice people. The Riad, like a lot of reviews already say, really was like a sanctuary and provided a direct contrast to the manic hustle and bustle of the Jemaa el-Fnna, which was only a 3 minute walk away. We always felt safe and secure in the Riad, on the last day the cleaner, who always had a smile on her face, even ran after us with my phone which I'd accidently left behind! The terrace was beautiful, and due to the modest size of the Riad, we were often the only ones up there.

Breakfast was lovely, and included: freshly baked bread, Moroccan pancakes, freshly squeezed orange juice, roasted coffee, homemade yoghurt and jam. It was a wonderful start to every day and they served from 8ish to 10ish and so you could make your way down at any time. The dinner they also made was absolutely fantastic too! However, Manuela also showed us her favourite places to eat in the city, which were equally as nice. I would also advise eating at the stalls in the Jemaa el-Fnna because they were very quick, very cheap, and very nice .


All in all, I cannot praise and recommend the Monriad enough, its as beautiful as the pictures and really has a feeling of a traditional Moroccan home with each room decorated differently. If you're planning on visiting Marrakech, I would definitely advise avoiding hotels and always opting for a Riad. And I personally think that the best Riad is undoubtedly the Monriad!

I hope I have done it justice!

We will definitely be returning some day!


Ciaran and Francesca

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Grant ,
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at MonRiad. What a pleasure to be staying for leisure for a week, then you get the opportunity to experience the best of Marrakech, and all of the excellent amenities the hotel has to offer. The hotel is ideally located in the cultural heart of Marrakech near to many of the must-see sights, . We are delighted you enjoyed amazing customer service, as the team at MonRiad are very much looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    132
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
276
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Visited this Riad in person before choosing as it had a good rating and location. I liked the rooms and the common areas plus they were very accommodating to my requirements so I stayed. Was only meant to be a week, but was a very comfortable place to stay for a while so ended up being 3.5 weeks. Its good because:
- Italian owners and their staff are very hospitable and reasonable in the way they operate
- The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated in a Moroccan manner.
- The bathrooms/shower area are typically quite large and well appointed.
- Location is ideal. Quiet. Everything close from here.
- Overall a very comfortable place to stay where you get treated well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Theo,
Thanks for your commentary, we are very happy to see that you’ve appreciated our rooms and decorations. We are pleased that you’ve noticed the central position of our Riad and the kindness of our staff. Was a pleasur to have you like a guest. Hoping to see you soon in Marrakech
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My friend and I just returned from four nights at MonRiad. We had a wonderful experience. Manuela is very hospitable and willing to go above and beyond to provide a good service for her guests. All of the staff is extremely friendly and we especially enjoyed the hospitality from our new friend Hossny, who is very kind, professional, and great to have a conversation with in English, French, or Arabic about Moroccan life.
Overall, we found that MonRiad had everything we could have wanted for our stay in Marrakech, and we would recommend it to anyone and look forward to coming back!
Very clean, perfectly located, and homey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Julien

Thank you for the superb comments on our staff and location. We are very close to the Big Square. I am glad you like our breakfast and service. For our staff your opinion is very important . We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I spent 5 days in Monriad....the place is cozy and friendly, with an excelent breakfeast and a very confortable terrace. The location is very central, near the main atractions, buses stop, jemma el fna...summarizing, is one of the best locations in the medina. The italian familly was very friendly as also all the morocan staff. Thanks for everything, for sure I'll come back. Paula Bordelo

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Paula,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having had a colleague stay there and advised I stay there on my visit to Marrakech I figured I would give it a try. I contacted them by email and received an almost immediate response from Manuela. We agreed on a time and place to meet and was greated by Samia. Upon entering the Riad I was in heaven. It was a beautiful hidden gem. I absolutely loved the place. Its close enough to the markets and the square but just outside enough and very relaxing. It was great to come back from a day at the souks and just relax. The rooms were comfortable, the staff are the most kind and accommodating people I have ever met while travelling and were very friendly. I had the pleasure to stay at both of their riads which were amazing. And the rooftop terrace was a beautiful zen like touch. While there, the gentleman who assists at the second riad provided me the absolute best breakfast spread. Overall, I really cannot get over what an amazing place this is. Not only are the accommodations fantastic, the staff are absolutely amazing. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone who goes to Marrakech. Manuela, Barbara, Luca, Samia and everyone else. Thank you! You truly made my stay memorable!

-Matt from Canada

Room Tip: Any room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Matt,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great location, cosy environment. Spotless rooms. Breakfast absolutely stunning with Italian black coffee, perfect in order to face the lively Marrakech, homemade jams and yogurt, fruits and orange juice freshly squeezed. It was all perfect except for a tiny misunderstanding: as we were landing in Marrakech really late, we booked the hotel transfer from the airport to the city and we were expecting to be picked up from someone who unfortunately never showed up. We sorted it out differently and got to the hotel at 2 am. That may suggest them to pay more attention when choosing collaborators and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at MonRiad. Perfect in order to face the lively Marrakech
Please accept my apologies for the tiny misunderstanding about the transfert .
Thank you for your honest feedback, We appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the services we offer our guests.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A wonderful experience in the heart of the Medina. The Monriad is really well situated to explore the sights and sounds on your doorstep but the beauty of the Monriad is it is tucked away so you feel as though you are away from the hustle and bustle of the square and souks.
The Monriad was spotlessly clean and rooms comfortable and well designed with plenty of space. The icing on the cake was the fabulous staff who made my holiday ... thanks to Luca, Manuela, Samia and my beautiful smiley huggable NADIA !!!! :-D
Luca .. please tell Nadia i am missing her lots !!! :-D
I highly recommend if you plan to visit Marrakech that you stay at the Monriad .. superb !!
Sheila (Karen & Debbie)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
ear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your time at MonRiad.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at MonRiad and that you will definitely be joining us again. Thank you for your kind words regarding the fantastic service that you experienced from making your reservation with us. I will be sure to personally pass on your thanks to my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to MonRiad.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MonRiad 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.