We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and friendly in heart of Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights special offer!
Ranked #76 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Liverpool
1 review
“Traditional and friendly in heart of Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were quite apprehensive about visiting Marrakech but needn't have
worried. Luca, Manuela and their helpful and friendly team were always happy to give advice.
A special hello to Samia who can speak Arabic/French and English and Nadia who had a lovely smile and a hug for us every morning :-D The rooms are traditional,clean and tidied with fresh towels daily. The food is freshly prepared including fruit, home-made yoghurt, home-baked pancakes, cakes and breads for breakfast and tasty tagines for evening meals (which can be ordered). The rooftop terrace is nice for relaxing after a day bartering at the souks. We found the locals to be friendly and welcoming; yes, they like the best price for their goods, but are open to bartering and friendly banter; we didn't encounter any hostility. However, when visiting the Medina be warned of anyone saying they work at your hotel and offering to take you to better
shops. This happened to us and not wanting to appear rude we followed him for about 50 yards before realising we didn't recognise him and turned away quickly.
Make sure you take a trip to the Atlas Mountains (take comfortable footwear) .. absolutely beautiful
and a chance to visit the Berber villages and the local people.
All in all a great experience and we would highly recommend the MonRiad for anyone wishing to stay in the heart of the Medina. Thank you Luca, Manuela and ALL your lovely staff - Karen, Debbie and Sheila

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor open onto the reception area - to be avoided if you are early to bed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear ,

I am so thrilled that you think the MonRiad is traditional,clean and tidied with fresh towels daily and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very centrally located on a quiet street in the hearth of the Medina. The rooftop terrace is nice for relaxing after a day bartering at the souks.

I have passed your king words to all the team who appreciate it and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    103
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
226
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were very happy to find MonRiad after we spent our first night in Marrakesh in some ugly place.
MonRiad is nice and clean, designed with taste and a mix between traditional riad and european style. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, nicely furnitured and pleasant to stay. Bathroom was clean and towels changed every day. The only thing that could be improved in room nr 3 is some more opaque window cover in the bathroom as the window goes out on the street and neighbours have their windows open in the evenings.
And the breakfasts are great. We will really miss fruit salad and arabic yogurth.
Thanks to Mon Riad for making our stay at Marrakesh so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We very much value feedback about the toilets as we can improve our services.

I am pleased you enjoyed your room and appreciated out location. Our Riad is ideal for exploring Marrakech .

I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

So glad we decided chose to stay at Monriad! The beginnings of our Moroccan trip was exhausting between planes, layovers, trains, and waiting for trains in the rain! Needless to say we showed up at Monriad late on our first night to be greeted by impeccable service!
Our hotel manager sat us down in the dining room and reopened the kitchen to make us dinner while the staff brought all out bags to our room.
The service was fantastic for the duration of our stay, the room was clean and comfortable, and the manager gave us great tips for exploring and eating while in Marrakech.
The only downside was the placement of our shower in the bedroom and it having only one wall enclosure, but that is minor compared to the overall gem of a place!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Juju32,

Thank you very much for taking he time to review your stay with us. I was very pleased to read that our staff were able to look after you so well during your stay


I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Marrakech.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Fantastically tranquil Riad close to the Jemaa el-Fnaa and souks. Excellent staff and good food make it a welcome retreat at the end of a day in the chaos of Marrakech. Cool, too, when you need to get out of the heat.

Room Tip: WiFi doesn't seem to make it to every room. If WiFi in room is important, avoid rooms on top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much your review and for choosing MonRiad
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our ideal location close to Palais Bahia and the Square.
Our staff is always there to anticipate guest needs and make sure guest has enjoyable experience.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days here in April. It was everything we hoped for. Marrakech is so hectic and MonRiad provided the calm space we needed at the heart of the crazy storm. All the staff were so nice and helpful. They kept an eye on our daughter who was feeling ill while we went for a wander for a couple of hours. The location is ideal, half way between the big square and Mellah market. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and great score 5/5!!!
Our staffs are always there to anticipate guests' needs and make their stay comfortable. Was a pleasure to take care about your daughter
We will pass the complement to our staff, especially Samia for great service and looking after you very well. We hope to see you soon back in Marrakech

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and helpful and I like their breakfast so much. Me and my friend were so happy to stay there! We'd like to thank all of the staff there.
スタッフの方たちがとても親切で立地条件も良くコストパフォーマンスも最高でした。朝食もとても美味しかったです。

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Nana,

Thank you very much for choosing MonRiad your final destination in Marrakech. We are glad that you have a great experience with us and our staff made your staff even more comfortable and enjoyable.
Our Riad is located in heart of Medina area near the square with many museums, local restaurants , local shops and very easy access .
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our Riad.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wohlen, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

MonRiad is a good choice if you need some time-out from the intense and vibrating Marrakesh!

You will find a nice, quiet and relaxed atmosphere to revitalize yourself after spending hours and hours around the souks.

The team, and especially Luca, is very friendly and helpful. He helped me in various issues with always good recommendations…

I also always enjoyed the conversations we had.

The MonRiad Team is doing a good job! Go for it…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks you so much for your very kind words following you stay with us at MonRiad. I was really touched by them and have already shared them with my team. To run a successful hotel you need a team that are hard working and take pride in what they do and I am so proud of each and every one of them. As always we look forward to your next visit to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.