We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Morocco Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights special offer!
Ranked #74 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Morocco Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went to Marrakesh and stayed at Monriad for 3 nights and 4 days. We really had a great time. The rooms are big and clean. The riad itself is located in the heart of Medina that will give you very good access to most of the interesting places to visit especially the Main Square. Breakfast is superb and will keep you asking for more. Brilliant homemade yogurt! Booking with them is very easy. Manuela was very helpful and informative from start till the end of our stay. She was even very kind to book an excursion (quad-biking/camel ride) for us even given a very late notice. The complimentary dinner was great and perfect touch to end our Moroccan experience.
At first, we were a bit hesitant and doubtful about going to Morocco, but the hotel/riad experience changed our perception and definitely made our holiday memorable. We would definitely recommend to everybody with a big fat five stars!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Harold,
thank you very much for appreciating my property and I am very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. MonRiad is located in the heart of Medina near the Main Square.
Breakfast and dinner is homemade !
I hope to see you soon in Marrakech :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    103
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
226
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Staying in a riad in the medina in Marrakesch is the only way to go for the discerning traveler. This particular riad close to the main square with all the action is brilliant value. Manuela and other staff could not be more helpful in all ways. Rooms were clean, breakfast fine and dinner will be served in traditional Moroccan style with fresh produce that day if requested in reasonable time beforehand. They also arranged a brilliant driver for an overnight trip to the mouth of the Sahara. Relaxing on the roof top with a superb view of the City surroundings and skyline and the Atlas mountains was a further bonus.
A word of caution to all travelers staying in riads in the Medina. Mostly vehicular access to the front door is not possible. However prior pickup at airport or other location can be arranged by the riad at low cost. Guests will be met at a drop off location and escorted by foot (minimal distances) to the riad. DONT LET THIS DETER YOU FROM STAYING IN THIS LOCATION as the experience is superb
Owen and Joan (Brother and sister)

Room Tip: Lower floor better for more aged travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Owen,

Marrakech Medina Monriad: It was a pleasure to know you and Joan! I and all the staff are very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. Monriad is located in the heart of Medina near the Main square.
Breakfast and dinner are homemade!
If you arrive in Marrakech for the first time MonRiad can arrange the pickup at the airport.
It is the easiest way to go to the Medina.
Waiting for your next trip to Marrakech to enjoy our wonderful terrace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystradgynlais, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A short return to Marrakech and delighted to find Mon Riad as superb as previous reviewers had said. In the heart of the Medina, but easy to find from the nearby guarded parking. Super rooms, relaxed atmosphere and great roof top terrace to escape to. My 4th trip to Marrakech and would whole heartedly recommend Mon Riad to any-one looking for the Riad / Medina experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Many thanks for your very kind words. I was so glad to read your feedback following your stay with us at MonRiad. Please do come and visit us again soon.
My best regards,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms cleaned daily and nicely decorated. Luca speaks good English and more than willing to give advice on things to see and prices to pay, very useful when bartering. Being five minutes or so from Djemaa El-Fna it makes a welcome oasis of calm from the hectic Marroccan daily life. Special thanks to Manuela who was able to quickly arrange a tour to the mountains when the one we had planned failed to run.

Tip: accept the transfer from the airport, MonRiad is not easy to find initially, you will be met at the airport by someone with a name card and you will be taken right to the riad’s door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 2 Riads in Marrakech and were impressed with the friendly and super-helpful staff here. ( we unwittingly messed them about but they were great about it) Lovely evening meal. We had a good large room with an enormous shower! We found it to be good value, and superbly positioned for all the sights of the medina. It is not far from the central square.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkkila, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Monriad might be hard to find in the beginning, but its an excellent riad in the heart of medina. Great location - 15 min walk to THE incredible market, 15 minutes to Bahia palace. Stuff is really friendly and they do what they can to help you. Building is beautifull and everything is done with good taste. My room was really good - I really have no even single reason for complaining. When returning some day to Marrakesh I will surely check if Monriad has space for me. Molto grazie!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not only is this riad wonderfully welcoming and genuinely hospitable, it is impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. The staff are exceptionally helpful and accommodating; absolutely no sleaze!
The breakfast is lovely, freshly prepared and tasty. There is good/free WiFi and the riad is ideally located down a quite alley, close to nearby sites. In many ways this riad is an anomaly to what you find/experience in much of Morocco. If going to Marrakech, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.