We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful riad, great for exploring the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights special offer!
Ranked #83 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful riad, great for exploring the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms cleaned daily and nicely decorated. Luca speaks good English and more than willing to give advice on things to see and prices to pay, very useful when bartering. Being five minutes or so from Djemaa El-Fna it makes a welcome oasis of calm from the hectic Marroccan daily life. Special thanks to Manuela who was able to quickly arrange a tour to the mountains when the one we had planned failed to run.

Tip: accept the transfer from the airport, MonRiad is not easy to find initially, you will be met at the airport by someone with a name card and you will be taken right to the riad’s door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    104
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
233
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 2 Riads in Marrakech and were impressed with the friendly and super-helpful staff here. ( we unwittingly messed them about but they were great about it) Lovely evening meal. We had a good large room with an enormous shower! We found it to be good value, and superbly positioned for all the sights of the medina. It is not far from the central square.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkkila, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Monriad might be hard to find in the beginning, but its an excellent riad in the heart of medina. Great location - 15 min walk to THE incredible market, 15 minutes to Bahia palace. Stuff is really friendly and they do what they can to help you. Building is beautifull and everything is done with good taste. My room was really good - I really have no even single reason for complaining. When returning some day to Marrakesh I will surely check if Monriad has space for me. Molto grazie!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not only is this riad wonderfully welcoming and genuinely hospitable, it is impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. The staff are exceptionally helpful and accommodating; absolutely no sleaze!
The breakfast is lovely, freshly prepared and tasty. There is good/free WiFi and the riad is ideally located down a quite alley, close to nearby sites. In many ways this riad is an anomaly to what you find/experience in much of Morocco. If going to Marrakech, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in early Feb for a short break in the sun. Great location, and really useful to have Luca on hand to give us tips on what to see and what to avoid. We also had mint tea and dinner on arrival, which was absolutely delicious and the perfect start to the holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days in MonRiad, with two kids. The riad is cosy and very close to all the main attractions of Marrakech. The room is well decorated and comfortable.
But the most important thing is the team that works at the riad they're lovely. The las night we had party time at the riad with a local music group and our kids loved it dancing with the music until bed time (at ten thirty the party ended).
We really recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Este Riad es menos de 5 minutis lejos de Jemaa el Fna y es muy bonito y tradicional. Estuve ahi por 4 noches y mi experencia estaba muy bien, La gente trabajando ahi son muy amables y el Riad es muy limpio. Por la noches el jefe hecho una fuego, en el salon hay una chimenea. El desayuno estabe bien tambien!
Seguro la proxima ves me voy a quedarme alli.

This riad is less than 5 minutes from the Jemaa el Fna and is really interesting and traditional. I was there for 4 nights and my experience was very good. The team working there are very helpful and the riad is very clean. During the evenings a fire was set in the lounge where there is a nice chimney. Breakfast was good too!
For sure the next time I will stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.