We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellen riad in the heart of medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
MonRiad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offer-Deal on Deal
Ranked #93 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Karkkila, Finland
1 review
“Excellen riad in the heart of medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Monriad might be hard to find in the beginning, but its an excellent riad in the heart of medina. Great location - 15 min walk to THE incredible market, 15 minutes to Bahia palace. Stuff is really friendly and they do what they can to help you. Building is beautifull and everything is done with good taste. My room was really good - I really have no even single reason for complaining. When returning some day to Marrakesh I will surely check if Monriad has space for me. Molto grazie!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Directeur général at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    129
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
267
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not only is this riad wonderfully welcoming and genuinely hospitable, it is impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. The staff are exceptionally helpful and accommodating; absolutely no sleaze!
The breakfast is lovely, freshly prepared and tasty. There is good/free WiFi and the riad is ideally located down a quite alley, close to nearby sites. In many ways this riad is an anomaly to what you find/experience in much of Morocco. If going to Marrakech, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in early Feb for a short break in the sun. Great location, and really useful to have Luca on hand to give us tips on what to see and what to avoid. We also had mint tea and dinner on arrival, which was absolutely delicious and the perfect start to the holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Simon,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days in MonRiad, with two kids. The riad is cosy and very close to all the main attractions of Marrakech. The room is well decorated and comfortable.
But the most important thing is the team that works at the riad they're lovely. The las night we had party time at the riad with a local music group and our kids loved it dancing with the music until bed time (at ten thirty the party ended).
We really recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Viktor,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Este Riad es menos de 5 minutis lejos de Jemaa el Fna y es muy bonito y tradicional. Estuve ahi por 4 noches y mi experencia estaba muy bien, La gente trabajando ahi son muy amables y el Riad es muy limpio. Por la noches el jefe hecho una fuego, en el salon hay una chimenea. El desayuno estabe bien tambien!
Seguro la proxima ves me voy a quedarme alli.

This riad is less than 5 minutes from the Jemaa el Fna and is really interesting and traditional. I was there for 4 nights and my experience was very good. The team working there are very helpful and the riad is very clean. During the evenings a fire was set in the lounge where there is a nice chimney. Breakfast was good too!
For sure the next time I will stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great Riad.

The location is excellent and the hospitality even more so. After I booked I was emailed and offered an airport transfer. I'm a seasoned traveller but in this case I made use of the transfer and was met at the airport with a name card. Marrakech is a complex city so I recommend the transfer you will be offered. Made to feel very welcome from the minute I arrived. I arrived late at night and Luka waited up for me and took the time to explain the map and directions for my morning plans.

It is only a few minutes walk to Jemma El Fna but you WILL get lost at some point. That is part of the fun of this amazing city. The view from the roof terrace is excellent.

Room (single) was excellent. A full size double bed for just me. Cleaned and turned over everyday. Not just cleaned but clothes organised and hung up whilst I was outs sightseeing. Thank you ladies x. All staff, including housekeeping, are friendly and will always great you with smile.

Breakfast is delicious. Coffee that you will love (I'm a coffee freak) and it will keep you going for a week. This lace has everything you need. Food, coffee, water, beer....

I felt welcome and safe and secure here. Front door is locked but the riad is manned 24hours. Somebody will always be there for you. Book it. You'll love it.

Tip- the door bell is a not a door bell. It's a light switch. I realised this after ringing it for several minutes. Blame the local beer from Kosybar for my confusion.

Room Tip: Single rooms are double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The riad is at the heart of the Medina, so location-wise it is fantastic (even if tricky to find, but this is almost inevitable). Service, as others have indicated here before, is also very good. Personal and accommodating. I would not have anything to complain in that regard, except for the inconvenience of being in the middle of the shower and realize there was no shampoo or soap available (I was given a small shampoo for the first night, not replaced for the second; no soap was ever provided). Although annoying, this is obviously something simple to fix.

What did not work well for me and would be harder to fix is the location of my bedroom, next to central area of the riad, where customers meet for breakfast and any other activities. Waking up at 7am with the preparation of the tables for breakfast was surely not an ideal experience. The feeling is that everything happened inside my room. As I had many other things to do, I didn't bother to ask for a different room, but this was quite annoying. Either something is done to that room to isolate the exterior noise, or it should be transformed into something else other than a room.

One last point. As we arrive, Lucca tells us we should not pay more than 20-30 dirham for a taxi. If it is to a far away location, not more than 50 dirham. This is quite useful information as we always have to bargain with the taxi drivers. But then the hotel itself charges customers 165 to arrange a taxi to the airport. It does not sound right, does it?

Room Tip: As high as possible, and not at all in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor community.

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that service did not meet your expectations. Taking into account every guest comments, you may rest assured that they have been read seriously.

Furthermore, concerning your remarks on the taxi you booked, please kindly note that there’s a big difference between a taxi and a private transfer. We offer private transfer to our guest so that they don’t need to negotiate the price. But if the guest choose a taxi so they need to negotiate themselves the price as we don’t interfere or organize anything. It’s the same like in Europe except that the price of the taxi is not fix in Marrakech.

Concerning your remarks for shampoo and soap that was missing in your room, kindly note that we put a new small shampoo and a new soap, in every new arrival room. Normally it last for three days or may be four but if on the second day as you mentioned the shampoo and the soap was already finished , please you should had informed us or any member of our staff. Of course we would have given you a new one. Like in any hotel we have standards but sometimes informing us on the same day may be the best solution so that we can react quickly.

And concerning your remarks for the room location, it was as a matter of taste, we totally understand that this traditional Moroccan Room with not well isolating noise may not suit to everyone.

Willing to always improve our quality of service, we have of course taken good note of your various comments.

Once again, please kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not having offered you a memorable visit but we do hope you will nevertheless give us another chance to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Looking forward to that pleasure, I remain,

with best regards,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MonRiad 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.