We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and Welcoming...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
January Special Offer
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Welcoming...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I just been In Morocco couple of weeks ago...
MonRiad was the best choice for us to stay...
Once you get there you know you will feel like at home, since the welcoming...
The staff , with manuela in charge, will defenetly take care of all your needs...
Food Dinner was at his best with resonable price.... Nice and clean terrace on top!!! Sun never miss in Kech, so just get your recliner and enjoy it!!!
Hope to be back soon...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you, the best way to enjoy the sun here in Marrakech as you said, is on the terrace. There is a second Marrakech made by terrace, satellite, muezzin and stark. While you are sunbathing with your eyes closed, here comes up this second city, and here on our terrace the show is guaranteed!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    117
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
250
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The riad itself it's quite hidden but once you spend some time in Marrakech you will realise that all of them are. Staff is extremely helpful, they recommended us great restaurants, told us what prices we should expect to pay which was a massive help, I knew what price I should bargain towards. Our room was small but clean and all we needed, loved the top terrace, great place to enjoy an evening drink. Breakfast was tasty. I would recommend this place for sure and would come back without hesitating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much to have dedicated some of your time to talk about us. I'd like to underline that is not only that we care about our custumer but we also know that Marrakech could be a hard city for a tourist, specifically tricky I would say. We provide all of this type of hints and suggestions in order to let our host aware of the "marrakech's atmosphere".

Thank you again and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. Lovely little hideaway right in the Medina and around 10 minutes walk to the main square. Staff very welcoming and make you feel at home. Breakfasts were great but didn't eat any other meals in the Riad. Rooms small but lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. Next time you should try some Moroccan food prepared by our chef, or our international menu just in case someone would like to take a break from the spicy moroccan cuisine.

Thank you again for choosing Monriad and spread your voice!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournenmouth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Found this Riad as it was in the TA top 20 best value. Stayed there for 4 nights in October with partner and 15 year old son. Very clean tidy centrally located riad. The owners and staff were always very charming and helpful with all questions and queries. We would highly recommend. Room traditonally decorated pleasant and clean, not large but more than adequate. Great views from the roof terrace. Breakfast fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, local sweet pancakes and cake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I will like to thank you so much because you spent some of your time giving us a wonderful review. We do all our best to satisfy the needs of our guests and sometimes more! This what we like to give as a Riad, not just a merely accomodation but a full service!

Hope to see you again in this 'snakecharming' city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at 7 other riads within Morroco and this was unfortunately at the bottom of the list. The location is good and the staff was very nice, even upgrading our tiny room to a less tiny room on our last night of three. But the rooms are tiny and without charm. There is about 1 foot on each side of the bed and very little space from the end of the bed to the bathroom, perhaps 5 feet. Had to step into the shower in order to close the bathroom door. The place was quite noisy. Any sound from the main area travels to the other rooms. Perhaps the guests were not well mannerred, but all talking in the main areas and on the stairs is heard all through the place. Breakfast was spartan, although the home made yoghurt was a nice touch. The advertised piscine is little more than a foot bath. If budget is an overwhelming concern, this is perhaps a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your quotation, and thank you for being here at Monriad.

Unfortunately this building was not meant to be an Hotel when it was built, and none of the Riad here in Marrakech either was. The structure was a family house and if you go in other type of Riad you will find the same situation. This is part of Marrakech and the culture.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely riad, well-sized rooms and extremely clean. Manuella and Luca are very friendly and are happy to go out of their way to keep their guests happy.Unfortunately our booking had been messed up somehow on the first night, but Monriad had booked us to stay somewhere very close which was perfectly nice. Although it was a slight inconvenience, it didn't detract from our holiday at all.

It was lovely to have a bottle of wine on the roof terrace and watch the sun set(although there's not always a bottle in the fridge so maybe check an hour or so in advance!). We also got a bit sick on the last day, but we were given our room for an extra couple of hours and given a quiet spot to rest before our transfer. They also booked a Hammam for us and gave us tips on where to go in Marrakech, as well as booking us a transfer to quite an obscure place in the Atlas Mountains.

Brekfast was really tasty and more than big enough. We didn't get a chance to have dinner there, but it also looked pretty good.

Monriad is excellently located but very difficult to find! Tip for other travellers- if you get dropped off at the petit taxi rank, its down the alley on the right just before the pharmacy and the arch with the 'Earth Cafe' sign on. Go down there for about 200m and its on the second or third right. You can always ask a local to help you, but make sure you have some small change or else it will cost you 100Dirham!

Would definitely recommend this Riad- I can't think of much more they could have done to make our stay comfortable. I was surprised at how good it was, considering how reasonably it was priced.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your time, this review was helpful for us and also for our future guest.
I give a hint: in case you don't find MonRiad ask the people that are working in the shops or Tabacs, so you can avoid the young guys, they can be annoying sometimes.
We always do our best to provide our guest with all the information about city tour, hammam, night life, excursion.

Thank you again and hope to see you again here in this crazy and wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yep, everything the other reviewers say is true: this is a centally located, relaxing, beautiful, well-run riad. It has the added, significant bonus of serving a very nice dinner, and also stocking Moroccan beer and wines to go with your meal. One of the biggest surprises on our recent trip was how delicious Moroccan wine can be--and also how difficult it can be to procure a glass of it! Enjoy yours on Mon Riad's rooftop. You'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your super review! Here at Monriad everyone can enjoy the traditional maroccan dishes prepared by our moroccan chef Aicha. Who use to prepare 'Ksouk Ksouk' as maroccan call the Cous Cous, Tajine or Tanjia the traditional dish of Marrakech. Every taste correspond to the same tastes of the dishes prepared in a Moroccan house, wheras sometimes in the touristic restaurant you cannot get.
MonRiad is located in the middle of every important touristic site, the Bahia Palace is around the corner, not so far from the Kasbah and the Jewish quarter 'The Mellah' and Jamaa El Fna blows his mix of music and smoke over our heads!

Thank you again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.