We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly and extremely comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
January Special Offer
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Helpful, friendly and extremely comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely riad, well-sized rooms and extremely clean. Manuella and Luca are very friendly and are happy to go out of their way to keep their guests happy.Unfortunately our booking had been messed up somehow on the first night, but Monriad had booked us to stay somewhere very close which was perfectly nice. Although it was a slight inconvenience, it didn't detract from our holiday at all.

It was lovely to have a bottle of wine on the roof terrace and watch the sun set(although there's not always a bottle in the fridge so maybe check an hour or so in advance!). We also got a bit sick on the last day, but we were given our room for an extra couple of hours and given a quiet spot to rest before our transfer. They also booked a Hammam for us and gave us tips on where to go in Marrakech, as well as booking us a transfer to quite an obscure place in the Atlas Mountains.

Brekfast was really tasty and more than big enough. We didn't get a chance to have dinner there, but it also looked pretty good.

Monriad is excellently located but very difficult to find! Tip for other travellers- if you get dropped off at the petit taxi rank, its down the alley on the right just before the pharmacy and the arch with the 'Earth Cafe' sign on. Go down there for about 200m and its on the second or third right. You can always ask a local to help you, but make sure you have some small change or else it will cost you 100Dirham!

Would definitely recommend this Riad- I can't think of much more they could have done to make our stay comfortable. I was surprised at how good it was, considering how reasonably it was priced.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your time, this review was helpful for us and also for our future guest.
I give a hint: in case you don't find MonRiad ask the people that are working in the shops or Tabacs, so you can avoid the young guys, they can be annoying sometimes.
We always do our best to provide our guest with all the information about city tour, hammam, night life, excursion.

Thank you again and hope to see you again here in this crazy and wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    117
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
250
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yep, everything the other reviewers say is true: this is a centally located, relaxing, beautiful, well-run riad. It has the added, significant bonus of serving a very nice dinner, and also stocking Moroccan beer and wines to go with your meal. One of the biggest surprises on our recent trip was how delicious Moroccan wine can be--and also how difficult it can be to procure a glass of it! Enjoy yours on Mon Riad's rooftop. You'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your super review! Here at Monriad everyone can enjoy the traditional maroccan dishes prepared by our moroccan chef Aicha. Who use to prepare 'Ksouk Ksouk' as maroccan call the Cous Cous, Tajine or Tanjia the traditional dish of Marrakech. Every taste correspond to the same tastes of the dishes prepared in a Moroccan house, wheras sometimes in the touristic restaurant you cannot get.
MonRiad is located in the middle of every important touristic site, the Bahia Palace is around the corner, not so far from the Kasbah and the Jewish quarter 'The Mellah' and Jamaa El Fna blows his mix of music and smoke over our heads!

Thank you again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at MonRiad for a total of 6 days over the course of a two week trip around Morocco, using the Riad as a base in Marrakech.

From the moment we arrived and were picked up from the airport to the minute we finally left, MonRiad was a perfect little oasis of calm in an otherwise crazy city! The welcome we received (complete with mint tea) from Manuela, Luca and the rest of the staff was so warm, and the service at the Riad from there did not disappoint. Nothing was every too much trouble and because of them we were able to make the most of our time in the city, exploring all the main sites and bartering our way through the souks.

We returned to MonRiad after a few trips elsewhere (trek up Toubkal and trip to the desert and Merzouga), and each time we came back the greeting did not change. Manuela even checked up on whether we were OK when she was worried we hadn't returned from our mountain climbing trek!

The Riad itself is really lovely, very peaceful and a nice calm place to return after a day exploring Marrakech. It is incredibly central to all the main sites, and the rooms are really generously sized, comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast is a traditional Moroccan affair (complete with home made yoghurt), and again they are always very accommodating, with the timings changed to suit your timetable.

In short - we couldn't recommend MonRiad highly enough for anyone that wants to explore Marrakech whilst experiencing a traditional Riad. Thanks Manuela and Luca for everything!

Room Tip: Throughout our full stay we saw three different rooms and all the rooms are really nicely done. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I will like to thank you so much because you spent some of your time giving us a wonderful review. We do all our best to satisfy the needs of our guests and sometimes more! This what we like to give as a Riad, not just a merely accomodation but a full service!

Thank you again

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A long weekend trip to Marrakech wife my wife, brother & sister in law. The hotel was in a small back road virtually in the middle of the old city, a short walk to the main square, Jamaa El Afna.
The hotel only had about 10 room around a central court yard with a roof terrace overlooking the city. The room were clean and decorated well. The staff were very helpful and the evening meal we had on arrival and breakfast were good and plentiful. We spent an early evening on the roof before going out drink a bottle of wine supplied by the hotel. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble for the owners and staff. would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the old city in an authentic Riad and not a large corporate faceless hotel.

Room Tip: top rooms hear footsteps from anyone on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review, we do our best to make our costumer feel like home. A Riad is a old house turned nowadays in Hotel, but still we keep to recreate this sense of being at home. With the food, the service and always ready to share many moments with our guest.

We always appreciate any suggestion and Ideas! Ready to improve!

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely clean Riad with very helpful staff. The breakfast is good with lots to choose from. We were disappointed as we thought there was a swimming pool but its actually more of a plunge pool. We took the opportunity to sit on the roof each evening. It's a fantastic location just a short stroll from the main square.
It's just the nature of the Riad that it can be a bit noisy as all the rooms face into the central courtyard.

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise a ground floor room as it would be noisy when breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the nice review, and I would like to take advantage of this review to remember that all what we served in the breakfast is homade. From the so called 'bot bot' the bread, the 'baghrir' the crepes and cake! All made by our fantastic maroccan ladies!
The pool is a nice refreshing corner for the really hot marrakshi summer, you cannot avoid to enter when here is 45 degrees.....
Thank you again

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I spent 6 nights at this Riad and it was a great experience. Kind staff, peaceful atmosphere, great location, and the best showers in Morocco! Ask for Room 2 if you're tired of climbing stairs. (My only suggestion is that they make the central courtyard a "no smoking" zone, given that the guest rooms open onto it.)

Room Tip: Room 2 - twin, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, hope you're enjoyed your staying.
The suggestions which permit to improve our work are always welcome.
We wish you a nice day and hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here, and we wish we stayed more. Great location, a 2 min. walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Comfortable bed. Free Wifi with strong signal. AC. Good breakfast. Professional & very helpful staff, out of the 8 hotels/riads i stayed at in Morocco, this had the best service. Great stay, definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello,

thank you for your comment and for recommending the Monriad!
We try to offer you the help you need to make you enjoy Marrakech and your stay here. We are glad you liked the Monriad and its mixed style, both Moroccan and Italian.

We hope to see you again here in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.